We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Bayswater Sydney

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Bayswater Sydney to your Saves list
The Bayswater Sydney
4.0 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   17 Bayswater Road | Kings Cross, Sydney, New South Wales 2011, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #56 of 184 Hotels in Sydney
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2012

We stayed for 4 nights in feb/march 2012 and had a great time. We had a king room, great decor, it had everything we needed. Very close to the train station for transport and has the best sushi across the street and coffee right next door.
Will stay here again next time we are in sydney. My only complaint was the poor optus phone reception in our ground floor apartment, not the hotels fault, perhaps a higher room would fix this next time.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

435 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    242
    69
    6
    10
See reviews for
23
205
68
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
White Bear Lake, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2012

Private bath, good location. Great hotel in this price range, yes the room was small but hundreds of dollars less than many. Others we found in this price range in Sydney had shared baths and worse locations. We were on the top floor, solid construction so very quiet. This was our first night in Australia so we were very pleased to find it was much closer to all the sights than we expected. Lots of restaurants nearby, short walking distance to everything we wanted to see. Kings cross station is just down the street for easy access to transport if needed.Just remodeled with new seamless glass shower enclosure and white bedding so you could easily see that everything was spotless. Small fridge in the room with a full set of dinnerware, and a separate room off the lobby with free wi-fi as well as a small separate kitchen.

Room Tip: The 5th floor appears to be an add-on, only 5 rooms, configured so no bedroom walls are adjoining. R...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2012

I booked a 2 night stay in an Executive King Suite. Considering the price I paid ($165pn) I thought it was very good value for such a centrally located hotel.

Ok it didn't have a swimming pool or room service but given I was there on a quick business trip I couldn't have used these anyway.

Room a decent size & comfortable bed with good sheets. Whilst it was clean the carpet was very stained. The bathroom lighting was appalling - No good for putting on make-up. Not good quality bathroom soaps/shampoos. No vanity set.

Had a small fridge for snacks/breakfast I bought from the local supermarket. Could've done with a microwave.

Room Tip: Definately go for the Executive King Suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2012

we were so excited about the area. the room was really clean. we also could easily find many kind of food around the hotel. When the night life begun we weren't hear anything from the room so my baby did not distracted. Please send my regards for one of your housekeeping team. She is Indonesian. thanks to her for a nice chat.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2012

The bays water is fantastically located within a minute or so of kings cross station. We have stayed a couple of times now and find the reception staff very helpful and pleasant; the rooms clean and modern; and the proximity to both darlinghurst and Potts point excellent for the restaurant and cafe scene. The rooms are described as small- we would say adequate. They have all the amenities, and provided you are not travelling with miles of luggage, there is a comfortable fit. We will stay there again! If you intend to go back, don't forget to ask for the loyalty card as it gives you discounts on future accommodation and parking and allows you free Internet use.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
895 reviews 895 reviews
126 hotel reviews
Reviews in 196 cities Reviews in 196 cities
632 helpful votes 632 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2012

This hotel is not the very best but for the price you could not worse.

This is a top of the line mid range hotel. The rooms are small but comfortable. The elevator is slow but the staff is extremely kind and helpful. The beds as stated are very comfortable. The bathrooms are small and there is only a shower.

The location is in the Kings Cross district. It is a short walk from the Kings Cross station.

This is an ideal hotel for singles, adventurers, young couples, and couples without children. You must understand that Kings Cross is not the neighborhood for kids. Although this hotel and its immediate neighbors are upscale, the general neighborhood is the red light district of Sydney.

The hotel has a small lobby and a cafe attached to the front for a quick bite to eat in the morning. There is a computer for general use in the lobby. The internet in the room is subscription only unless you booked by the hotel website. If you book by the website then the internet is free. There is a guest laundry room. Shuttle service to the airport is available for 12 AUD per person.

There are many bars, lounges, and eateries around the hotel.

Stop at the lounge Awkward for an always great time and drinks with fresh juice.

Room Tip: Do not get a room facing the street. There are lots of bars on this street and the music/people wil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2012 via mobile

One night stay on the 5th floor. Rooms are very compact but very clean and practical. Ensuite was very small. Bed very comfy, quiet nights sleep.
Would stay again if only for 1 night, any more might be too much for such a small room.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Bayswater Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bayswater Sydney

Address: 17 Bayswater Road | Kings Cross, Sydney, New South Wales 2011, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Best Value Hotel in Sydney
#24 Business Hotel in Sydney
#44 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#50 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bayswater Sydney 4*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Bayswater Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bayswater Sydney Hotel Sydney

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Bayswater Sydney, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.