We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thoroughly enjoyed” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Bayswater Sydney

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Bayswater Sydney to your Saves list
The Bayswater Sydney
4.0 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   17 Bayswater Road | Kings Cross, Sydney, New South Wales 2011, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #70 of 185 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Thoroughly enjoyed”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2011

Had a king suite so was roomy and comfy... Can understand some people saying its a bit noisy, but it didn't really phase me (umm, hello it is in the middle of kings cross). Loved the short walk to Potts Point and Oxford street... One thing I would say though is the lack of lighting for the mirror in the bathroom.

Room Tip: If you want the additional space definitely go the king suite... If you are just lookin at putting y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

466 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    256
    80
    9
    11
See reviews for
24
223
69
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rapid City, South Dakota
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2011

The Bayswater is a great place to stay if you are a person that is looking for a classic and trendy place right in the heart of the action near Kings Cross in Sydney. My room was clean, huge, and very nice for the price. It does get loud at night due to the bars and clubs located just a block away, so if you are a night-lifer, this is the perfect place. It was very close to the bus stop to get around in Sydney and there is a great little cafe next to the hotel that serves the most amazing food. I loved my stay here!

Room Tip: I asked for the "King's Deluxe" which was $20 more a night than the regular rooms and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Labrador, Australia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2011

Was very pleasantly surprised while staying here for three nights. Located just far enough off the main street, this hotel is small but very amply provides the basics.

Don't expect to find a mini-bar full of overpriced food/drink, but does have coffee/tea making facilities. Failing that, there are plenty of close-by convenience stores/supermarkets & restaurants/cafes to choose from.

The king bed was firm but found it very comfortable (where can I buy another mattress like it!). Very good air-con & decent sized television too. Great hotel to base your Sydney-based activites from & as a retreat to rest, dress, etc.

Kings Cross railway station is a 5 minute walk away which provides easy access to the rest of Sydney. Buses & taxis are close by too.

Room Tip: There are four levels, go as high up as you can & ask for a rear room (i.e. one that dosen't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tassie
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

We had the king size deluxe room. Plusses, comfy large bed, location good - its round the corner from K Cross station, friendly and helpful staff, lounge area for free coffee and tea and internet access, we asked for quiet room and was given a room on fourth floor at the back, which was fine, windows open for fresh air, minuses, bathroom small but modern, room faces brick wall no outllook. Depends what you want but for us suited us fine as it made a good base for walking to Oxford Street and Darlinghurst Road with one train ride to Martin Place.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room at the back, could get noisy if at the front. You wouldnt want to get a much sm...
See more room tips
Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

I couldnt believe how perfectly located this hotel was! We parked at the wilson secured parking as the hotel offered a 50% discount. We stayed on the top level in a twin deluxe and the room was massive! Bathroom was tiny and only one mirror other than the bathroom, which is hard when theres 4 girls getting ready. Security was very strict when entering and leaving, so trying to bring friends up for drinks after 11pm doesnt happen. But id rather know im staying in a safe place!

World bar, candys and hugo's are 10 steps away. so great. The city is only 2 stops away on the train. Absolutely fab.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2011

We had a night out planned in Kings Cross and stayed at The Bayswater for one night.

The price was fairly reasonable and it was located in the perfect spot in Kings Cross. It is very central and close to the train station and night life.

As others have mentioned, the rooms are really small, but when staying for just one night like we did it's not too much of a problem.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bali, Indonesia
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2011

The rooms are really small. We were in a King Deluxe and there was not really enough room for a suitcase on the floor. In fact, I enquired if it was actually a compact double room since the bedhead was a good foot narrower than the king size bed. Talk about a haughty response from the staff... You'd think I'd asked them if their Westin Hotel was 5 star haha. And this place is no Westin, which is ok considering how cheap it really is.

It's really clean, still smelled new actually, and the location is really handy. We were out late ourselves so had no complaints about any noise at night... in fact, you'd expect noise at night in the heart of Kings Cross right?

If I had some constructive criticism it would be that the blind in the bedroom was not really blocking the light, which would have been good given the aforementioned late night. And conversely, the room lights were all so dim you could not get decent light in the room when you wanted it. I'm hard to please aren't I haha.

Considering it's a pretty budget mini-chain hotel, it has a little bit of character due to the old building it's inside. The decor is very muted and fashionable.

As long as they keep it nice and clean I'd definitely consider staying here again if I need the location.

Room Tip: They're upfront about how small their rooms are... go elsewhere if you need anything more than a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Bayswater Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bayswater Sydney

Address: 17 Bayswater Road | Kings Cross, Sydney, New South Wales 2011, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Sydney
#24 Business Hotel in Sydney
#44 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#61 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bayswater Sydney 4*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Bayswater Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bayswater Sydney Hotel Sydney

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Bayswater Sydney, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.