We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Blue Mountains Tour, Entertaining Tour Guid” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sydney Great Escapes - Blue Mountains Day Tours

Sydney Great Escapes - Blue Mountains Day Tours
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
+61 2 9624 6217
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #34 of 415 Activities in Sydney
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Owner description: Sydney Great Escapes is a family owned and run business. We pride ourselves on being able to provide you with a unique insight and memorable experience. We specialise in smaller, more personalised, boutique tours. Our late model Mercedes sprinters carry a maximum of 14 passengers, they have been uniquely designed with extra leg room, extra height and reclining coach seats, for that more comfortable ride. Our team of tour guides has been handpicked for their vast experience of local knowledge and represent our company with pride. We have guides who are specialised in the Blue Mountains, Hunter Valley, Port Stephens, and Sydney areas. You can be guaranteed that your guide will have a wealth of knowledge on whichever tour you take.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
USA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic Blue Mountains Tour, Entertaining Tour Guid”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

I booked with Great Escapes for a Blue Mountains tour in February 2013. I was the only person who had pre-booked the tour, but the company honored my reservation and gave me what amounted to a private tour. Rob is hilarious, shares lots of his knowledge and doesn't rush you at the sites. Sites are well-picked and the pics with the koala in the AM were priceless. I would highly recommend!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    117
    14
    3
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
32 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“A great way to experience the wonders of the Blue Mountains”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Rob's tour of Blue Mountains was a wonderful day out and a must for anyone who prefers a more personal tour than the big bus operators.

The Wildlife Park visits was a great way to start; the Three Sisters was a perfect middle and a ferry back to Circular Quay under the Harbour Bridge to end. A great way to spend time in the real Australia.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston, ma
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Fantastic Tour, Great Guide, Very Personal Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

We took the tour and it ended up just being 2 of us, which made it a private tour. Rob picked us up right on time at hour hotel and we started the tour. He kept us entertained the whole time with stories, endless facts and pointed out the scenery. Given that it is such a small tour he was able to do things that big tours can't, like slow down for photo opportunities, pull off the side of the road for an interesting picture or to view wildlife and to really tailor the tour for us.

The wildlife park was great. You have plenty of time and since you are there early there is no crowds, we had the place to ourselves and spent most of our time feeding kangaroos and an Emu. The park had a nice variety of animals, we saw some things we hadn't seen in other wildlife parks and could get up close and personal with the animals.

Rob's route across the mountains is unique and we were able to see some really amazing scenery and not just highway. Again due to the small tour size he was able to tailor it and we were able to see some really neat things, including "interacting" up close and personal with some local wildlife that took a strong liking to one of us. We had previously been on a large bus tour in another part of the country and while we "saw" Emu's and Kangaroos in the wild, we didn't have time or the ability to pull over and really check them out and interact with them like we did on this tour. That was probably one of the most memorable parts of the tour for us.

Lunch was good. We enjoyed the food and it's in a historic building, which we found interesting. There were plenty of choices for lunch and we had the dining room to ourselves, which was really cool.

The weather wasn't great on our tour, we had some rain and were poorly dressed for it. Rob came to the rescue again and was able to provide us with sweaters and an umbrella (now that's service!). It was completely unexpected, but really helped us to enjoy the day without being freezing.

The mountains were great. There were several options for activities and plenty of time, we opted to ride the 2 trams, do a hike in the bottom of the valley and take the train back. We did a long loop on the bottom and really enjoyed the scenery. We had the valley mostly to ourselves and though it was raining some of the time the scenery was fantastic and we had some wildlife sightings while on our walk. The train and trams were also good and we had great views from both. There was plenty of time in the mountains and we didn't feel rushed at all. We messed up our return time by a few minutes (even though Rob wrote it down for us!), but he was polite and accommodating and made sure we still made it back in time for the ferry back to the city.

Overall this is one of the best day tours of this type we've been on (We've done many around the world). After having done this I don't think we could go back to one of the big bus tours. Rob really went above and beyond to make this a special tour for us and if we're back in Sydney we'll definitely go again with him!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Blue Mountains tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

Thoroughly enjoyed our Sydney Great Escapes outing with Rob as our perfect guide to Blue Mountains, with interesting and informative commentary all the way. Enjoyed it all, including extra drive in 'Kangaroo Valley' before our stop for lunch! Even my 18 year old son was happy! Return via ferry at sunset was just perfect end to a beautiful and memorable day. Thank you Rob.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salvador, BA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“Take a hike, camp”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

Great place to take a hike or just relax with anyone you want, great for families too. Also there are some places were you can camp, at least seems good to do it.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sydney Great Escapes - Blue Mountains Day Tours also viewed

 

Been to Sydney Great Escapes - Blue Mountains Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sydney Great Escapes - Blue Mountains Day Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.