We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to Shangri-La, Great Food and Wine List” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Felix Bar & Bistro

Felix Bar & Bistro
Ash Street, Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #112 of 5,109 Restaurants in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Close to Shangri-La, Great Food and Wine List”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

Nothing I did not like. Great ambience, service and wine list. Typical French bistro flare. Very close to the Shangri-La

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    144
    132
    37
    3
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Walton-On-Thames, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Great restaurant, advise to book in advance”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We tried Felix on the recommendation of a friend from Sydney. We visited on an evening early in the week and without a reservations. Luckily there was a table free so we were seated immediately. I can imagine this place being packed out later in the week and at the weekends.The food was delicious, wine list good and service very friendly.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Authentic French bistro food and unexpected people watching op”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

Great restaurant. It's very well done, you really do feel as if you could be in Paris, particularly with a French waiter who was superb. The Aussie sommelier was a good contrast and he knew his wines and made fab recommendations.
Beef Bourgignon was melt in the mouth.
We had a table overlooking the front lane way, which happens to be the entrance to the Ivy nightclub. Being a Saturday night, we had a front row view of the patrons lining up to get in. Startlingly eye opening what passes as acceptable dress for a nightclub these days, but it added to the other worldliness of this great restaurant. Pretty good value for a memorable dinner

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
“Great experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

Wonderful experience with a friend while visiting Sydney. They have a 5:30 - 6:30pm early fixed price menu that we enjoyed. Gruyere souffle and duck confit cassolette were really amazing.

Since we were there early it was plenty quiet but by the time we left it was louder. Still not too bad but on a Friday night I bet it could be really loud.

Service was excellent in all respects.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noosa, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Ambience was good, restaurant full (Friday night), food was sublime and service a real winner. Oyster, Fizz, selection of entrees with amazing flavours and Profiteroles to die for. I can recommend the food and staff highly enough.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Felix Bar & Bistro also viewed

Sydney, New South Wales
 
Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to Felix Bar & Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Felix Bar & Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.