We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very good and reliable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Felix Bar & Bistro

Felix Bar & Bistro
Ash Street, Sydney, New South Wales, Australia (City Centre)
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #84 of 5,194 restaurants in Sydney
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: City Centre
Auckland
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“very good and reliable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

Returned to Felix recently for an early dinner
Once again very good service although why ( a small minority) of the staff have to be so arrogant puzzles me - perhaps they think it is required if working at a"French " restaurant
The restaurant is large and its size rather destroys the bistro feel but it is comfortable and well laid out
Menu is varied and food as was the case with our last visit was delicious and beautifully presented
Wine list is huge and expensive
No complaints and would return again

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

85% Recommend
    91
    89
    25
    1
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Faux pas!!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

My wife and I went to Felix last night after seeing the 2 hour line-up for Mr. Wong. Although it looked very busy, we were seated right away after requesting an outside table. Very noisy inside. Our server was excellent. Very personable. We ordered the rib-eye for two. Came out after about 25 to 30 minutes. It was swimming in its own juices which is a major faux pas for beef. It clearly had not been resting properly before being cut and served. Meat was tough and not very flavourful. The accompanying potatoes (pomme de Neuf) were lukewarm. Although atmosphere and our server were great, not coming back.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Magnifique but not quite French”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013 via mobile

- melt in the mouth Lamb with cauliflower and goats cheese Ratatouille. $68 for two with glass of wine, mineral water and dessert $125

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Very enjoyable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

Yes, it is pricey, but that's Sydney all over. You need a second mortgage to buy Fish and Chips nowadays, God knows how people afford to live there or eat out more than once a month. (I have a theory that 50 million people must live in Sydney as it is always so busy!)

The facts are it has great decor, excellent and innovative food (they even made cauliflower interesting and taste superb), great wines, exceptional yet friendly service that only top class establishments seem to get right .... and I enjoyed myself so much that I didn't mind paying the bill.

What's not to like?

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Sort of like a French bistro - but not quite...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

When I first walked in I thought 'Wow' this is authentic but after sitting for a few minutes I changed my mind a bit. It's much larger than any bistro I've been to in France and doesn't have that warm, relaxed but efficient atmosphere. I found being served by 6 different people a bit disconcerting - it took away the relationship that you build up with a server during a meal. I may have detected a slight 'arrogance' with one or two of the servers as well. Thee was just something missing and I feel it was warmth - it was all just a bit too frantic, noisy and busy. The French are more confident and laid back servers in my experience. The food was sort of French - I had skate but it was cooked longer than I've had in France and didn't have the bones. I asked for lemon also as the capers didn't 'cut' the butter enough. Nice choices of French wine though

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Felix Bar & Bistro also viewed

Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 
Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to Felix Bar & Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Felix Bar & Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.