We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mermaid for a day” 5 of 5 stars
Review of EcoTreasures

EcoTreasures
Sydney, New South Wales 2103, Australia
+61 415 121 648
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #31 of 416 Activities in Sydney
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Take the time to escape the big smoke (aka the City) and join EcoTreasures on one of our unique nature based tours. We are proudly Australian owned and operated. EcoTreasures was founded by passionate environmental educator Damien McClellan. We aim to highlight Sydney natural area's wildlife & heritage while having a fun time. Our local guides have as much fun as you do. We have something for everyone from Snorkeling tours in Aquatic Reserves, Stand Up paddle boarding in protected waterways within a National Park, Coastal walks, Adventure Day Tours, Indigenous guided tours or slow paced sightseeing from comfortable transport. Private and custom tours also available by request.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“Mermaid for a day”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

The eco treasures private snorkel tour at Shelly beach, Manly was a beautiful birthday present from my husband. Damien our guide was absolutely fantastic, and being a local gave us interesting facts and stories. He was gentle and did not rush the tour. Despite having done this tour many times, he seemed to enjoy it as much as I did. He was also very kind and gave a brief snorkel lesson to my 4 year old! Overall, this is a fantastic location to have a first snorkel experience. The best part is that the snorkel gear is provided. Make sure to book your next Sydney adventure with Eco Treasures and it will be well worth it.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EcoTreasures-Sydney, Owner at EcoTreasures, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Thank you for your comments Archana. We did have a very special day exploring the reserve and it was fun to introduce yourself and your daughter to the fish of Manly. I remember your comments straight after the experience that you felt "like a mermaid and it was a lot better than watching a documentary". The feeling of swimming and forgetting all your stresses it a way most coastal people keep their cool and enjoy their environment. The power of nature and the benefits it brings to people lives is un quantifiable which is why we all need to try and conserve as much as possible and minimise individual footprint on the globe so your daughters kids and grand kids can share the same joy your family did at Cabbage tree Aquatic Reserve. See you next time Damien
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    3
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Wisconsin, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great hike and snorkeling”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

This half day adventure is well organized and great fun. Our guide Damien lead us along the coast for an informative hike. We enjoyed great views and an excellent description of the local history, as well as getting to see many birds and lizards. Damien was very kind and great with children (we have an 8yr old). Snorkeling at Shelly Beach was amazing - warm water and great visibility. We saw tons of fish and a lemon shark. Easy trip to make if staying in Sydney - quick ferry ride to Manly Beach and then a 20 min walk to Shelly beach to meet guide. Would highly recommend this trip especially if you have children! Check with guide on best time of year to go for great visibility - we snorkeled in late March with good luck. We organized this trip from the U.S. almost a year in advance and our guide was willing to answer any/all questions.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DamienEcoTreasures, Owner at EcoTreasures, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
G' Day Jerilyn, We did have a very special day in the Aquatic Reserve, loads of fish and epic conditions. The fact you guys booked your private Family Snorkel tour 1 year in advance and then we had a perfect conditions with amazing visibility makes my job very easy. Thank you for your feedback about the tour. The walk and education component allows you to get more engaged and knowledgeable about Sydney's Coastal culture and marine environment so you can then tell the world and help spread the message of conservation and the benefits of protected marine areas so your kids grand kids can hopefully share the same experience your family had in Sydney 2013. Hope to see you down under again. Damien
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“Paddle Boarding in the Basin rain and shine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

This eco-tour has all the facilities to make your day packed full of fun and good times no matter the weather. Damo knows his stuff so don't be shy and ask all those silly questions you've always wanted to know about nature in Australia!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DamienEcoTreasures, Owner at EcoTreasures, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Hi Nadine, Thanks for your kind comments. I loved my job so it is awesome to share all the things I have researched with people who love nature. I'm obsessed with documentaries, local history books and learning from knowledgeable people. I could SUP around the Basin all day and some days I pretty much do so it is always fun to have people asking questions and appreciating the interpretative nature tour. We have some more SUP adventures coming soon which will take you out from the Basin and to some secluded beaches in the National Park. Check out the web and face book to stay updated. See you next time Damien
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
“Really GREAT Time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Our package in Sydney included a day of snorkeling with a tour guide. We didn't know what to expect but as it turns out it was one of the most enjoyable days of the trip. Our whole family hit it off with Damien immediately. He took us snorkeling, paddle boarding, walked around and told us about the landscape and history of the area. He also took us to a great burger place and then up to a scenic lookout to eat. Damien is a really great guy and really knows his stuff! Highly recommend you book a tour with him, you won't be sorry.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DamienEcoTreasures, Owner at EcoTreasures, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
G' Day Rick and the Family,
I hope you guys had fun making a movie with the footage and videos and photos I sent through and the rest footage from your time in Sydney? Can you post it on my face book if the project is completed? I had a awesome experience showing you guys around Manly. Special thanks to Manly Kayak Centre and Manly Sea life Sanctuary for helping me piece together your Make a Wish Day in Manly. We snorkel, SUPed, walked, ate tasty burgers for lunch, check out some looks out and went underwater (without getting wet). It was my pleasure to meet you all and it was a special day for me. Have a good one. Damien
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great Morning Out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

My 8 and 9 year old were given an EcoTreasure Snorkelling Safari voucher as a present, and it was very well received. Damien was incredibly knowledgeable and engaging, and we felt the experience was enjoyed by experienced snorkellers and beginners alike. We will definitely be looking at the other tours available.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DamienEcoTreasures, Owner at EcoTreasures, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Thanks for the review Amanda. I apologise for the delay in my response. We all had a great time on the tour and I was very happy to hear your family found the experience educational and fun. We try to get everyone learning about their environment while having a fun time. It is the best way to get more out of the activities we all enjoy and helps inspire young and old conservationists to keep up the fight to protect our natural environment. Kids are always awesome to take on the tour as they know so much and have so much energy which becomes infectious. It is also very special to help people have fun family moments and experiences. I hope you guys have been doing some more exploring around Sydney? Now its winter the Port Jackson Sharks and Cuttle fish come in to breed so get your wetsuit on and get out there. See you next time. Damien
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed EcoTreasures also viewed

Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to EcoTreasures? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage EcoTreasures, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.