We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So much food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Porteno

Porteno
358 Cleveland Street Surry Hills, Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #87 of 5,159 restaurants in Sydney
Cuisines: Argentinean
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Sydney
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“So much food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

Had a set menu as there were 13 of us which cost about $88 and all I can say is - so much food. Normally there's not enough or just enough, well this time there was plenty. The food was wonderful. Started with bread and pâté, followed by seared tuna and calamari, then the meats - lamb, suckling pig, beef and it continued. It was a wonderful night, food was very tasty, staff were great and wine was perfect.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

82% Recommend
    92
    44
    14
    6
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Excellent - what more can you say!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

On arrival you are escorted up to the bar to enjoy a drink while the rest of your party arrives, service is prompt and you are very quickly sipping away on an amazing selection of drinks. Once everyone is settled and your table is ready you are escorted down to dinner. The food was fantastic and the service could not be faulted. Efficient and friendly. Whilst I feel the food was excellent value for money the wine list was not. Starting at $14 for a glass and $60 for a bottle our wine bill was very quickly surpassing our meal total.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Excessive noise spoilt the evening”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

I went here on Saturday night as a party of 6. We were seated at a round table and the noise from the other customers and the (totally unnecesary) music was so loud that conversation with anyone except the person sitting next to you was impossible.

The waiter reccomended that we share 3 entrees and 3 mains between us, which is what we did. You have to be a meat lover to enjoy this place by the way. The entrees were good - and different. The main courses were simply pieces of barbequed meat. We chose lamb (which was undercooked) pork and chicken, with some side orders of veggies - including the delicious sprouts.

Service was good, wine was a bit on the expensive side.

Overall I can't see what the fuss is about, and if you enjoy conversation with your meal you might want to give this place a miss, at least on a Saturday night.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Rustic tasty food with some atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

If you like your meets and want to try somewhere different, this the place. Great pork from the spit served on a platter, and great steak cooked perfectly. The Estrela on tap washes down well. And you must have the Brussels sprouts - excellent !

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Brilliant - food, staff and venue”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

At last - a restaurant that lived up to its reputation! I found it on the net while looking through reviews of restaurants in Surry Hills and I am so pleased that it matched the reviews. Four of us rocked up on a Tuesday night and the Argentinian restaurant was fairly full but we were offered spots on a group table and this turned out to be perfect. Lots of room for us and our meals which are shared and you need a big table.

And oh the food and wine. We had mid price range Argentinian Malbecs to drink and shared one starter, four entrees and two main courses with accompaniments. They were all great, but in particular the 8 hour lamb and the baby chicken were superb!! We finished with coffee and were advised that there were only three coffee options - expresso, machiato and a picolo latte. Between us we tried them all and they were delicious way to finish the night.

The staff were attentive and offered lots of suggestions about meal choices and we wandered out the door vowing to visit again.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Porteno also viewed

Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to Porteno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Porteno, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.