We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Revealing Sydney's hidden secrets” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bike Buffs - Sydney Bicycle Tours

Bike Buffs - Sydney Bicycle Tours
Daily Meeting Point: The Village Green Opposite The Garrison Church, CNR Argyle and Lower Fort STS , The Rocks | The Rocks, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
0414 960332
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #20 of 416 Activities in Sydney
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: We would love to show you this sparkling harbour city from the engaging perspective of a small group guided bicycle tour. This is a fun, invigorating and memorable way to explore Sydney, away from vehicles with heaps of photo opportunities. "This was by far the best and most personal tour we did in Sydney, we loved having the freedom of a bicycle and a fun and educated tour guide. It was easy pedalling on excellent bikes, and we received cold spring water, a snack pack and best of all, a wonderful photo essay of our tour in our our inbox free of charge.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“Revealing Sydney's hidden secrets”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2011

I have lived in Sydney all my life and cycled around much of it. But Graeme took me to places I never knew you could get to by bike! Wendy Whitley's hidden garden was a wonderful surprise. I had read about it but didn't really know how to get there. Riding throught the old Patricks container wharf gave us a great view of the harbour and the city I have not seen before. And I also went inside the Sydney Observatory for the first time. Just goes to show that your never really know all of your own city and it takes the prespective of a professional tour guide to reveal it's surprises for you.

The tour was very well run. Graeme guided us (including 2 children in the group) expertly and safely along the roads and footpaths. All the bikes worked well and there were plenty of stops to enjoy food, ice cream and take photos. We were out for about 4 hours, but nver really felt tired and most of the trip was on falrly flat ground.

Visited April 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

562 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    513
    38
    3
    7
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Mildura
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best Way to See the Great Sights of Sydney”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2011

It was a very cold morning luckily Graeme the owner of Bike Buffs had a spare pair of gloves for me to use, by the end of the tour I was very grateful for this. Graeme is a person who is very likable and has a great knowledge of Sydney's heritage and the best vantage points to soak in Sydney's spectacular scenes. The bikes are of excellent condition and maintained perfectly. The lunch at Sydney Fish Market was yum. Greatly recommended for people like us who knew very little about Sydney or even if your a local it's a great way to spend a day. No great fitness is needed only be able to ride a bike. Thanks Graeme for a lovely day out in your city. Cheers Pauline and Gary.

Visited July 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Sydney Attractions By Bike”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2011

We are locals but had a desire on a Sunday morning to do more than our usual walk, coffee & pastry, walk home routine.
We found Bike Buffs online and read rave reviews. We made a booking and met Graeme at Argyle Place. On meeting Graeme and feeling the excellent quality of the bikes, I knew we were in for a good time.
We'd ridden across the Golden Gate Bridge and the Brooklyn Bridge but had never ridden across our own Sydney Harbour Bridge - exhilerating ... and much faster than by car! We had morning tea in Wendy Whitely's garden at Lavender Bay then cycled to Kirribilli and back over the bridge for lunch at the Fish Markets.
After lunch, back on our bikes through Martin Pl to Art Gallery Rd and the down to Mrs MacQuarie's Chair.
It was such a beautiful day so many sight-seers at the Opera House a little difficult to dodge, but we haughtily rode on by and made our way along Hickson Rd back to Argyle Pl.
It took about 4 and a bit hours of steady (not strenuous) riding. Even Mr-who-didn't-have-a-bike-as-a-kid found it all do-able.
Certainly something to do with your overseas guests but also a great ,different thing to do in your own city. Graeme is very amenable and you can tailor your ride to suit.

Visited July 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GraemeBIKEBUFFS, Owner at Bike Buffs - Sydney Bicycle Tours, responded to this review, July 7, 2011
Locals don't tour with us as much as tourists, but when they do, are amazed :
How easy and safe it is to cycle Sydney especially with a guide.
What they really didn't know and haven't discovered about Sydney.
What great fun it is with the freedom of cycling and stopping for Lunch, coffee, photographing.
Thanks for touring with Bikebuffs.
best graeme
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key Biscayne, Florida
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“We couldn't made a better choice!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2011

Today we had an amazing day,..We went to the best places all over Sydney downtown, we had lunch in the fish market( great food and inexpensive).We were able to take amazing pictures...The bicycles were new and light ( Bianchi) the owner went out of his way to make this day special and unforgettable..We totally recommend it .

Visited July 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GraemeBIKEBUFFS, Owner at Bike Buffs - Sydney Bicycle Tours, responded to this review, July 7, 2011
It was fantastic to meet you, your husband and your daughter, and cycle around Sydney and the next day to Manly. You were so energetic and enthusiastic and appreciative, it was sad to say goodbye...

best wishes graeme
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
“the best way to know and feel Sydney”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2011

That was the best day of our traveling in Sydney. We went through the whole city with our delightful guide Graeme. He showed us a lot of special attractions and secret places that even some locals don't know about. For the people who want to immerse themselves in Sydney, bicycle tour is the best way to really feel and experience this unique city, and bike buffs is, without doubt, the best in Sydney !!

Visited June 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GraemeBIKEBUFFS, Owner at Bike Buffs - Sydney Bicycle Tours, responded to this review, July 1, 2011
Thanks heaps for the heads up guys. Seeing Sydney by bike engaged you two with this city and it was great to see how actively you embraced the experience. ESPECIALLY at the fish market with your platter of many different seafoods. GLAD i got a photo of that!
Thoroughly enjoyed your company for the day.
Best wishes Graeme
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bike Buffs - Sydney Bicycle Tours also viewed

Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to Bike Buffs - Sydney Bicycle Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bike Buffs - Sydney Bicycle Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.