We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Park8 is great!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Park8 Hotel Sydney - by 8Hotels

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Park8 Hotel Sydney - by 8Hotels to your Saves list
Park8 Hotel Sydney - by 8Hotels
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   185 Castlereagh Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #43 of 185 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Canberra, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Park8 is great!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

We really enjoyed our stay. Our request was last minute. The rate was reasonable and included free coffee from the coffee shop located at Reception. Close to everything. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park8Hotel, Manager at Park8 Hotel Sydney - by 8Hotels, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Dear MelissaLawrence,

Your brilliant rhyming review title did not go unnoticed - "Park8 is Great". We love it - super catchy; we wouldn't mind if that motto spreads!

It was a pleasure to host you and we look forward to having you back.

Take care until then!

With warmest regards,

The Park8 Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

348 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    138
    44
    17
    7
See reviews for
42
141
23
73
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

My husband and I had a 3 day stay in Sydney and stayed here. The service was great and they went out of their way to assist us with a booking for a family member. The room was clean and comfortable and all the staff always had time to talk and joke. Also a very central location which was great. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park8Hotel, Manager at Park8 Hotel Sydney - by 8Hotels, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Dear PennyLinden,

We love spending time with our guests (that's the biggest perk of being such an intimate little hotel), and we are so glad that you enjoyed spending time with us, too.

Thank you very much for sharing your experience with fellow travellers.

Also, we see that you are from Perth and wanted to say that we do have some sister hotels over in Perth too. Feel free to contact us if you want to spend a weekend in the city or have friends/family needing accommodation when they visit you! We are here 24/7 and will happy make enquiries at sister hotels on your behalf.

We look forward to welcoming you back, hopefully sooner rather than later!

With warmest regards,

The Park8 Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

This hotel has a great location in the heart of Sydney, close to public transport but easy walking distance to most places we wanted to go. The staff were great, very helpful, friendly and recognised us from one day to the next! I was travelling with my adult son and so we took a loft suite, a great option as we then had our own rooms. Breakfast was great and reasonably priced. Lots of dining options nearby. Overall a great place to stay and we will be back.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park8Hotel, Manager at Park8 Hotel Sydney - by 8Hotels, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Dear Garfield 29,

Thank you for your absolutely lovely review – we cannot tell you how ecstatic we were to hear your thoughts on the hotel!

It was a pleasure to have you and your son with us, and we hope to see you again soon.

With warmest regards,

The Park8 Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Springs, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

Arrived from a 14 hr flight to a warm welcome & even earlier check in than we had arranged. King room was comfortable & clean, hotel with walking distance to everything we wanted to see. Every staff person we encountered was unfailingly helpful, lots of good suggestions for places to eat etc. Yummy breakfast at their breakfast bar.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park8Hotel, Manager at Park8 Hotel Sydney - by 8Hotels, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Dear doctennis,

We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us!

A holiday is a necessary part of life (the MOST necessary part in our opinion!) and we are honoured to have been your first stop and happy to have contributed to a great start.

Our guaranteed check in time is 3pm, however we do try and get our rooms ready as soon as possible and are more than happy to let weary travellers in early when we can.

We hope that the rest of your vacation was wonderful and we hope to see you again.

With warmest regards,

The Park8 Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bali
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

I almost didn't want to write this review because I wanted to keep this fabulous Sydney boutique hotel a secret!

The hotel is only 36 rooms and in an excellent location withing walking distance to just about everything! My husband and I stayed between Christmas and New Years' for 3 nights and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We loved the fact that this is a boutique hotel because the service felt more personalised. The staff are friendly, professional and very accommodating to their guests.

The rooms are small but very clean, modern and well appointed. The WiFi worked well. The beds are very comfortable and were much appreciated after a day at the crazy after Christmas sales! The rooms facing the street are a little noisy as it is a city hotel, but that's kind of the norm when staying in an inner city hotel and people stay out (and party) 'til late!

I loved the small cafe located next to reception. They not only had great coffee, they also served raisin toast, muffins and warm rolls filled with eggs, bacon and the likes. We ate here every morning and even got to read the paper!

As I mentioned earlier, the location is superb! The hotel is within walking distance to just about everything. It's a short walk to David Jones Department store, Westfields, Pitt Street Mall and Darling Harbour and is an easy walk (20 minutes) to Circular Quay, The Rocks and the Opera House. Town Hall station is also just 2 short blocks away or St James is just 1 block. Hyde Park is also just 1 block away.

I'd recommend this hotel to anyone seeking a great boutique hotel where location is key.

Room Tip: Rooms facing away from the street will be quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park8Hotel, Manager at Park8 Hotel Sydney - by 8Hotels, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Dear Lisa B,

We are so thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us over the holiday period.

Our location is definitely one of our leading qualities, along with our pride in customer service. As you mentioned we are centrally located with all modes of public transport within a two-block radius of our hotel, and with the CBD shopping precinct so close, we're a shopaholics dream!

We loved having you join us each morning for your breakfast; the company of our guests is always welcomed by our team.

We look forward to having you stay with us again. And if you would like to stay for Christmas or New Years again let us know as soon as you can so we can extend great return rates.

With warmest regards,

The Park8 Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barneveld, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

I got a great bed, but even with closed windows I waked up around 03:00 when bars closed the door and people shouted (agree I just arrived from Europe, but still hate noise!!)

The bed was good (too small if your 1.95 but I am used to that, and the same counted for the Shower, great big shower but too low.

The bathroom was okay, just not very slick

Breakfast was included, but that is at the best average a coffee and a bite that's it.

Prices are relative high, the hotel is clean the service is good but it is too expensive for what you get in my humble opinion.

Oh the Airco and fresh air (bathroom) was also generating too much noise

We need one more night in a Sydney hotel, but we will try another hotel instead of returning to this one

Room Tip: Not on the front I had 204, too noisy and the same counts for the airco!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park8Hotel, Manager at Park8 Hotel Sydney - by 8Hotels, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Dear Guido S,

Thank you very much for providing your honest feedback!

We are just so upset that we disappointed you, to the point that you chose to move hotels when you had to extend your stay in Sydney! We are terribly sorry that you had a bad night with us.

It is great that you found the king bed to be high quality and comfortable (well, as comfortable as possible with the difficulties you mentioned!).

We do have quieter room options in our hotel. The Deluxe Room you stayed in is a street-facing room, and because the windows can be opened for fresh air, they are not as sound-proofed as other rooms we have which don't have opening windows.

Our Loft Apartments are on the highest floor of our building, with floor-to-ceiling fixed windows, and we never get any guest comments regarding external noise in these rooms. It would be a great option for you if you were to reconsider giving us a second chance, and we would happily extend a generous rate if you contact us directly!

Our air-conditioning technician has already been instructed to investigate the noise in your room - thank you for providing your room number so that we can follow up in full detail!

We do hope to welcome you back for a better stay in the future, and wish you all the best.

With warmest regards,

The Park8 Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong, Victoria, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

Don't stay here!!
1. Booked a room with 2 beds arrived and only had one! Nothing they could do about it.
2. Car parking a block away and $60 for 24 hrs but if you take your car out you then have to pay another $60 each time you re-enter.
3. The worst of all No AIRCONDITIONING!! Great we were given a fan. Don't tell me it only stopped working today! They knew and were still prepared to rent the room for full price.

Room Tip: Don't stay here!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park8Hotel, Manager at Park8 Hotel Sydney - by 8Hotels, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Dear Mary S,

We really appreciate your feedback, though of course we are disappointed that we couldn't make your stay an enjoyable one.

We accept full responsibility for the error regarding the twin bedding. That was entirely our oversight, and we can only apologise sincerely for the mistake.
The problem was further compounded by the fact that we were at capacity that night with no rooms to move you to or extra beds to provide.
It was an unfortunate incident and we are really sorry that you were the one to be inconvenienced.

We would never want to guests to be subjected to the discomfort of no air-conditioning, and we agree that it was a disaster that the unit in your room failed, particularly on such a horribly humid weekend. Again, we apologise and did our best to provide compensation for these issues.

The above two points are ones that we can certainly learn from, and we appreciate your time taken in providing constructive feedback.

However, unfortunately, the car parking arrangement is the most convenient, and best priced option we have been able to find.
We wish more than anyone that we had onsite parking for our guests - really we do! - but that is just not the case, so we have to do our best with what we have and provide the best alternatives possible.
We are always reviewing options in the area, and when we find a better one we will change procedures immediately.

We do have sister hotels in Sydney with on-site parking (lucky things!), and we know that we or a sister hotel could provide a great experience for you, given a second chance.
We hope you will consider us in the future and if we can do anything further to repair the damage done, please feel welcome to contact us at any time.

With warmest regards,

The Park8 Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Park8 Hotel Sydney - by 8Hotels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park8 Hotel Sydney - by 8Hotels

Address: 185 Castlereagh Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Business Hotel in Sydney
#36 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#40 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Park8 Hotel Sydney - by 8Hotels 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of Sydney’s CBD, this intimate 36 room boutique hotel is located on the doorstep of Sydney’s iconic Hyde Park and central to the best shopping, dining and entertainment districts. Park8 offers an oasis of comfort, space and tranquility. Interiors are inspired by Sydney’s natural surrounds which resonate throughout the spacious guest rooms & lofts and feature modern luxury amenities fused with old world charm. Experience the highest level of discreet and personalised service and the genuine warmth and care of our professional team. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotel.de, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Park8 Hotel Sydney - by 8Hotels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park8 Hotel Sydney - By 8 Sydney

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Park8 Hotel Sydney - by 8Hotels, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.