We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location and Great Value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Park8 Hotel Sydney - by 8Hotels

Save Saved
You added Park8 Hotel Sydney - by 8Hotels to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Park8 Hotel Sydney - by 8Hotels
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   185 Castlereagh Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 182 hotels in Sydney
Auckland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Location and Great Value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Stayed two nights early December, 2012 and loved it. We had wondered what this hotel would be like especially as we usually stay at a 5 star with all the bells and whistles. We needn't have worried at all. It was a truly refreshing stay. We chose the standard room and the bed was comfortable, the room was clean. We even received a sleep pack consisting of earplugs and a wonderful floral pot pouri fragrance sack. All staff were friendly and helpful and we felt welcomed to ask for anything we needed. Breakfast and coffee from cafe8 was way better than we expected and one morning it was even delivered to out room after we returned hot and sticky from a rather long early morning gardens walk. No having to wait for it, they happily delivered. The room we had was quiet but of course that meant no natural light so next time we will arrange a different room. The aircon was temperamental and has to be turned down to just 9 degrees to have it cool at all and this was early summer. I think it will have been fixed by now. I did manage to flood the bathroom as the water splashed up under the shower door no matter how I tried to avoid that.. Little annoyances only. Will I stay again? Definitely! It's only that my next trip was already booked or I'd be there this month. Very recommended for cleanliness and quietly friendly ambience.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room away from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park8Hotel, Manager at Park8 Hotel Sydney - by 8Hotels, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
Dear HolidayVibes,

It was such a pleasure to host you at Park8 Hotel and we are so happy you enjoyed your stay!

We rely on honest guest feedback such as yours for the development of our team and property and your notes ensure that we are always improving the overall experience for future guests.

The air-conditioning temperature control panel has been fixed and we have also re-sealed around the shower screen to stop the bathroom flooding!

We are so proud of our little Cafe8 and it is lovely to see that you enjoyed our barista made coffee and breakfast items.

It will be wonderful to welcome you back to try out a different room type. Our Deluxe rooms all have unfrosted windows which you can open for fresh air, and our Loft Apartments include huge floor-to-ceiling windows with loads of natural light.

Take care until we next see you and remember to contact us directly for future bookings so that we can extend the best possible rate!

Warmest regards,

The Park8 Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

286 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    120
    111
    37
    14
    4
See reviews for
36
120
17
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

From the very first phone call to the Hotel, to our final departure, we found our experience at Park8 wonderful. Exceptional customer service from the whole team, and the excellent 2 bedroom loft apartment set us up for a memorable and thoroughly enjoyable family visit to Sydney.
I would highly recommend Park8 to anyone wanting a cosy retreat in Sydney, with a feeling of being genuinely cared for. We'll be back!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park8Hotel, Manager at Park8 Hotel Sydney - by 8Hotels, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Dear Mark N,

What a pleasure it was to read your review! Nothing makes us happier than happy guests.

Thank you so much for your kind words. We just love to have families with us and we're all so delighted that you felt well cared for and comfortable with us.

We can't wait to welcome you all back, hopefully sooner rather than later! Take care until then.

Warmest regards,

The Park8 Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Travelled to Sydney for NYE and booked directly over the phone a little over a month in advance. Staff were very helpful over the phone when booking.

The location is perfect, right in the CBD just across from Hyde Park. At check-in the reception area was extremely well presented with their cafe interconnecting (very boutique) and the staff were friendly and welcoming. Even recommended where to go for the best vantage points to see the fireworks.

The room itself was great, very funky and everything we needed for the few days we stayed there. The king size bed was very comfortable and the bathroom was modern and clean.

All in all i would definetaly recommend staying at Park8, i know i will be when next travelling to Sydney.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park8Hotel, Manager at Park8 Hotel Sydney - by 8Hotels, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Dear Tyson P,

It is so wonderful to read that you enjoyed your visit at Park8 Hotel! Thank you very much for taking the time to provide your valuable feedback.

It was a pleasure to have you with us over the fun New Year period, and we hope that you ended up with a great view for the fireworks!

We are looking forward to having you with us at the same time next year (if not before)! We are here 24/7 so just shoot us an email or a quick call when you're next coming to Sydney so that we can look after you.

Warmest regards,

The Park8 Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

Park8 in Sydney was the perfect hotel for a weekend in Sydney. In the heart of the city it is walking distance to all the shops plus darling harbour, Paddington and Surry Hills. Good amenities in the room and super comfy beds. Even the fold out couch was comfortable to sleep in. If forced to give a criticism I would say the bathroom was a little tired but still more than adequate. I noted other reviews complained about noise from the street but we were on the Park St side and could not hear a thing. Great service from the concierge too.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park8Hotel, Manager at Park8 Hotel Sydney - by 8Hotels, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Dear Mcnaccas,

It is wonderful to see you making great use of our convenient central location! Being right in the heart of town and serviced by all public transport options it is super easy to get to all of the major attractions and shopping and dining districts around town!

Our beds are some of the best in the business and certainly one of our main sources of praise! It is great to read that you enjoyed a comfortable, quiet sleep.

Thank you for all of your kind words! We hope to welcome you back sooner rather than later.

Warmest regards,

The Park8 Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

Located in the centre of the cbd it was handy for darling harbour, china town and circular quay. It is also very close to the Sydney tower Westfield mall. There were three of us and we had a one bedroom apartment with a sofa bed in the lounge. However we discovered on the first night that the sofa bed was badly broken and housekeeping had tried to hide the broken springs with cushions! After speaking to reception ( who were always very helpful) we had to put the mattress on the floor as there weren't any other rooms available. The next day we had to pack our suitcases and we were moved next door in the early afternoon. I was told that we would receive a refund but on check out discovered that only the manager could do this and that it would be a miserly $30! I still have not received anything or even an email from her to say what was happening. She also never even bothered to apologise in person when we were staying there for three days. The bathroom in both apartments were shabby with stained grout and missing tiles.There was a heat wave while we were staying in Sydney but the air conditioners were very noisy and one of them dripped water all the time so we had to turn them off at night! I do not think it is worth the money and based on our experience would not recommend staying here.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park8Hotel, Manager at Park8 Hotel Sydney - by 8Hotels, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Dear middymad,

I really appreciate your honest feedback, although of course I am disappointed at not meeting your expectations.

I would like to extend my apologies again for the broken sofa-bed, and thank you sincerely for bringing to our attention. We absolutely hate to inconvenience guests and appreciated your cooperation in moving rooms for the last two nights.

I have sent you a personal message here to ensure that I have your correct contact details, as I had contacted you on the morning of 1 December 2012 after arranging the refund with the third party website on which you booked. You are absolutely correct - I should have seen you in person to apologise. I had tried contacting you in the room when you were out and should absolutely have left a note with my personal details. That is completely my mistake, I am very upset about it and I can only apologise again for this. I had been under the impression that my wonderful team had handled things and all was well after the first night, but clearly this was wrong and miscommunication on our part.

Thank you also for these subsequent notes about the air conditioning units. We had our service technician in to check all rooms on Monday of this week in fact. It is unfortunate that during the heatwave there seems to have been some condensation that formed in the unit in your room and I will call him back out immediately to arrange repair.

Similarly, thank you for your note regarding the crack in the tile in your bathroom. I had it inspected by our maintenance person yesterday as I'd noted it myself, and he is currently arranging repair.

I look forward to hearing back from you.

Warmest regards,

Mercedes Lazarou
Hotel Manager, Park8 Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Very helpful staff. Great location room was very quiet. Only downside - one of the king beds was on landing upstairs. People in bedroom had to walk past this bed to get to bathroom. Definitely needed second toilet.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Quickbeds

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park8Hotel, Manager at Park8 Hotel Sydney - by 8Hotels, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for the kind words about our team and location! It was a pleasure to have you and your group with us and we are very happy that you enjoyed your time at Park8 Hotel.

The point you make about the 2 Bedroom Loft Apartment and the shared bathroom is a valid one indeed. The two bedrooms interconnect and the bathroom is en-suite to one bedroom (meaning that you pass through the bedroom to access the bathroom). We do try to make the configuration as clear as possible on our website and when guests book with us directly, but your review has prompted refresher training to ensure this is being communicated by the team when relevant.

We generally suggest that our 2 Bedroom Loft is suited to small families, or groups of close friends travelling together. We do have close work colleagues who like the configuration as well, but completely understand that in many cases colleagues prefer more privacy.

For groups that would prefer two bathrooms, we do have some interconnecting Standard rooms so we encourage you to call us and enquire about that option!

It would be lovely to welcome you all back to Park8 Hotel in the future. We wish you a happy and safe festive season and all the best until your next visit.

Warmest regards,

The Park8 Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nottingham
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Beds are very comfortable which for us was most important. Rooms a bit dark -- ours was on the 5th floor and was noisy, not with traffic noise but from an air conditioning unit outside. Also the windows were frosted which meant little natural light. Staff were friendly and helpful. We were there for 3 nights. There was a small kitchenette - it would have been better if there was some cutlery / dishes to make use of this.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park8Hotel, Manager at Park8 Hotel Sydney - by 8Hotels, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Dear fam_gordon,

It was a real pleasure to have you with us at Park8 Hotel! Thank you for providing your helpful feedback for fellow travellers.

Our Standard rooms are our only room type with frosted windows. On your next visit, you might like to try our Deluxe rooms with unfrosted windows which can be opened for fresh air, or our split-level Loft Apartments with floor to ceiling windows allowing a lot of natural light. We will definitely provide a great return rate for you when you enquire directly!

Our Loft Apartments do all have cutlery and crockery in the rooms, but we can certainly provide such items in our Standard and Deluxe rooms on request. Please never hesitate to contact our 24/7 reception desk if any questions or issues come to mind throughout your stay as we almost always have a solution on hand and if we don't, we'll do our best to find one!

We would love to have you back with us and hope that you will stop by when you are next staying in Sydney.

Take care until then!

Warmest regards,

The Park8 Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Park8 Hotel Sydney - by 8Hotels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park8 Hotel Sydney - by 8Hotels

Address: 185 Castlereagh Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Business Hotel in Sydney
#27 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
#36 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Park8 Hotel Sydney - by 8Hotels 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of Sydney’s CBD, this intimate 36 room boutique hotel is located on the doorstep of Sydney’s iconic Hyde Park and central to the best shopping, dining and entertainment districts. Park8 offers an oasis of comfort, space and tranquility. Interiors are inspired by Sydney’s natural surrounds which resonate throughout the spacious guest rooms & lofts and feature modern luxury amenities fused with old world charm. Experience the highest level of discreet and personalised service and the genuine warmth and care of our professional team. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Tingo, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your Park8 Hotel Sydney - by 8Hotels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park8 Hotel Sydney - By 8 Sydney

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Park8 Hotel Sydney - by 8Hotels, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.