We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pleasant stay in an ideally located hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Park8 Hotel Sydney - by 8Hotels

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Park8 Hotel Sydney - by 8Hotels to your Saves list
Park8 Hotel Sydney - by 8Hotels
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   185 Castlereagh Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #43 of 185 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Gold Coast
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“A pleasant stay in an ideally located hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

We returned today from our Easter stay at Park8 Sydney travelling with two other couples. The hotel is in an ideal location for shopping, dining and enjoying Sydney's nightlife. The close proximity to Town Hall train station made it a good base for exploring further a field.The reception is nicely appointed with an oil burner, flowers, current magazines and always a smiling helpful staff member.
A small cafe/bar is next to the reception where we enjoyed a light breakfast and excellent coffee with a view of the street.
The rooms were very clean, modern and comfortable. My only small annoyance was frequent siren noise throughout the night and a lack of lighting in the room with the room containing mostly small lamps but not enough overhead lighting.
Overall though all the couples we travelled with thought the hotel was very good and would be happy to rebook next year (which we probably will).

Room Tip: The higher floors have less street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park8Hotel, Manager at Park8 Hotel Sydney - by 8Hotels, responded to this review, May 9, 2012
Dear TiffyW_11,

Thank you so much for your great review of Park8 Hotel! We are really delighted that you enjoyed your stay.

When you contact us for your return visit next year, make sure to request the quietest room possible so we can allocate you a room on the higher floors. We can also add additional lamps in the room and will be sure to give you the lightest possible room!

We are very much looking forward to welcoming you back and wish you all the best until then.

Warm regards,

The Park8 Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

346 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    137
    44
    17
    6
See reviews for
42
139
23
73
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here in March 2012 and had a wonderful time. The staff were lovely and so helpful from the time we arrived to when we left. The room was cosy and just what we were after and we only paid $155 because I did some research and booked very early.

The air con and the bed were great and made our stay very comfy.

If I ever come to Sydney I will definitely be staying here again

Thank you for such a relaxing stay

Stayed March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park8Hotel, Manager at Park8 Hotel Sydney - by 8Hotels, responded to this review, April 20, 2012
Dear J_RBrisbane,

We were so happy to read your lovely review.

Your tip regarding research and booking early is great advice for fellow travellers. We often have excellent value rates and specials for advance bookings and our 24/7 reception means that people can contact us at any time convenient for them to get more details.

The team is absolutely delighted that you had a relaxing and comfortable stay - that is exactly what we strive for!

When you next come to visit please be sure to call or write in advance and let us know if you have any special requests or preferences that we can assist with (we want this to be your home away from home!). We are really looking forward to welcoming you back.

Take care until then!

Warm regards,

The Park8 Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

We were passing through Sydney and chose this hotel mainly because the website stated that there was carparking available. It would have been helpful to know that the hotel does not have its own facility, but instead directs you to the hotel next door (at $75 per day). Further complicating the problem, there is nowhere to park on Castlereagh St while you check in. The receptionist did not have any other parking suggestions, so we were left to stand in the foyer and google solutions ourselves. We ended up leaving the car in an underground mulit-level across the park ($35 per day), which was a 15 minute walk away. My lift key didn't work and needed to be re-coded.
The room was in need of an update- the carpet was lifting and worn in areas of joins, and there were several light globes which needed replacing (the receptionist tried to replace a couple of them, but didn't have the correct globe). The bed, however, was wonderfully comfortable, with nice linen. It was fairly noisy, but I that's to be expected of the CBD.
We had breakfast included, and it was pretty good! Room service only, from the little takeaway cafe downstairs. Breakfast wraps and toasties, and good DiBella coffee.
The location was excellent for access to buses and for attractions.
While overall we weren't unhappy with our stay, we probably won't stay here again. We usually drive when we come to Sydney, and the parking issue was a real sticking point for us.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park8Hotel, Manager at Park8 Hotel Sydney - by 8Hotels, responded to this review, April 1, 2012
Dear esbs,

We really appreciate you taking the time to provide your review.

It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed our huge king bed. As well as having great 8 Hotels branded Sealy mattresses, we now have amazing Microcloud Mattress Toppers on all beds which make them the most blissfully comfortable beds out there!

We also wish we had our very own on-site parking, but unfortunately that is not possible in our building. We do recommend that our guests leave the car at home wherever possible as we are very well serviced by all public transport options and Sydney parking is notoriously expensive. However, we understand that this is not always possible and so we have negotiated a great-value rate for our guests at the nearby Hilton Secure Parking complex of $60/24 hours. When paid directly at the complex the rate is at least $80/24 hours. Although the $35 rate you paid across the park is very decent, we find that a 15 minute walk is generally too far for most guests. We have done our absolute best to find the best value, most convenient parking option possible.

There are many loading zones along Castlereagh Street and there is also a driveway to the building next door right near our front door. We encourage all guests who are driving to phone us when they are nearby so that we can arrange to meet them on the street to unload the luggage and take it to the hotel while our guests proceed to the parking complex. We really try our best to make the process as smooth and easy as possible for our guests.

We hope that you will reconsider staying with us, perhaps on an occasion when you don't require the car!

Take care and we wish you a very happy Easter this coming weekend.

Warm regards,

The Park8 Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2012

My first impression of a below par establishment was confirmed just after I checked in. The lift key card did not work and had to be recoded. My non smoking room reeked of cigarette smoke, light globes were out and the ironing board was nowhere to be seen. It appeared at midnight when the staff knocked on my door. Not an appropriate time. I will find a different establishment next time.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park8Hotel, Manager at Park8 Hotel Sydney - by 8Hotels, responded to this review, March 24, 2012
Dear Audit007,

We really appreciate you taking the time to provide your feedback, though it is a shame you did not enjoy your stay with us. It appears you experienced an inordinate amount of issues which is not usual at our establishment.

We are a strictly non-smoking hotel, as you mention, and extend our profuse apologies that you found that your room smelt as though it had been smoked in. Unfortunately, there are the odd occasions when some guests do not observe this policy (penalties do apply in such instances). We have special odour removing procedures in place and the room will not be used until the smell has been completely removed and the room sanitised. This complaint has been passed on to the entire team to reiterate the importance of checking and rechecking every single room to ensure no odour lingers.

There seems to have been a miscommunication between you and our Front Desk team with regard to the ironing board and we are so sorry for the intrusion and inconvenience caused. We would absolutely never bother a guest at such an hour unless we were contacted by them directly for a specific request. Regardless, the ironing board should certainly have been available in your room prior to check-in as per our hotel standards. Housekeeping has been briefed on this issue.

We are sorry that we will not have the pleasure of hosting you again and we genuinely wish you all the best in the future.

Warm regards,

The Park8 Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2012

We live close to Sydney and decided to treat ourselves to a room for a night out instead of having to deal with taxis and transport!

We weren't disappointed with our choice. We stayed in a loft room which was lovely. It had a large spa-shaped bath and the size of the whole apartment was impressive. The bed was comfortable however the pillows were not. The pillows were very thin and there was no selection of pillows. The only problem was our air conditioner. It made a lot of noise every time to compressor kicked in (about every 10 minutes!). Between the air conditioner and the pillows we unfortunately didn't get a very good nights sleep.

The staff were incredibly friendly (even smiling when we requested more towels at 3am!).

The location is fantastic. A short walk from everywhere we wanted we to go.

We would stay here again, after checking that the air conditioning is working quietly!

Room Tip: The loft apartments are lovely and spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park8Hotel, Manager at Park8 Hotel Sydney - by 8Hotels, responded to this review, March 24, 2012
Dear Mikaila D,

It was so lovely for us to read your kind words and we are really delighted that you enjoyed your time at Park8 Hotel.

We genuinely appreciate the important feedback regarding the pillows and the air conditioning unit. We have scheduled an air-conditioning maintenance inspection to check all of the loft rooms and follow up on the compressor noise that you mentioned. Our housekeeping team are also checking the quality of our pillows throughout the whole hotel, providing replacements as required.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Park8 Hotel and we will be more than happy to check the above items in your room prior to check-in to ensure the best possible stay!

Take care until we next see you.

Warm regards,

The Park8 Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2012

Well I hope that Mercedes will post this review. I want to address a few issues I faced when I decided to give Park8 a try. My friend and I travel to Sydney regularly and we decided to change from our normal hotel so I found Park 8 on the internet and was happy with what I saw. I rang the hotel four times and was reassured that the rooms were of an excellent standard. When we arrived I was shocked at how dusty and dirty the hotel was and how much the rooms needed renovating. Cracked paint and mould in the bathrooms, a strong smell of old alcohol and smoke from downstairs ... Oh yes this boutique hotel sits above a pub. When I inform the staff (Hugo and Mercedes ) that I wouldn't be staying there ... Hugo disappeared and then Mercedes took over( and from the conversation) I felt she had done this before ... I asked for a refund and finally was reassured that I would get a full refund of my money so as to did accommodation in a more suitable hotel . I have jut discovered they have kept a nights ccommodation from my account and I am saddened as
She reassured me that they were sobbusy they would fill the room
immediately. We asked them to hold the room until 4 pm as it was 3:15pm and she informed us that she would but inwe didn't contact her by then they would give to other customers .We were able to secure the HIlton hotel for $199 which was cheaper than Park8 we were paying $255 for a run down dusty hotel for a 5star luxury room at the Hilton. So Mercedes I would appreciate the return of my money as what you say your hotel is on the Internet is very misleading .

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park8Hotel, Manager at Park8 Hotel Sydney - by 8Hotels, responded to this review, April 1, 2012
Dear honestythebestpolicy,

We really appreciate the time you have taken to post this review and the fact that you even remembered us by name. We share two of the exact same sentiments; 1) that honesty is always the best policy indeed; and 2) that of complete shock.

It is a real shame that, in spite of our best efforts to accommodate your multiple requests and having provided a complimentary early check-in, we were unable to provide a wonderful stay for you. However, we are glad to hear that you found alternative accommodation and ended up enjoying your time in Sydney.

After you advised that you were not satisfied with the view from the room, it was agreed with you that we would keep the room as a confirmed booking for the first night (at a very special rate) because you were concerned about finding another hotel. You also asked that we hold the second night for you which Mercedes agreed to do until 4pm that afternoon. You went out and then called the hotel twice to reconfirm that you held a confirmed booking for the first night at a special rate and that we were holding the room for the second night until 4pm. On both occasions, this was clearly reconfirmed. Accordingly, you were indeed charged for the first night's accommodation. The second night was released at 4pm without penalty as agreed.

We wish you all the best for the future.

Warm regards,

The Park8 Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2012

Let me say it was great to see such a beautiful smiling face on arrival at your hotel. And the smiling still followed through even from the Manager at 4am return. I've been in the indusrty for over 20 yrs and have travelled alot, so it was very reassuring to see that our hospitality workers are doing their bit in keeping Austrailian tourism alive. After all we all want to feel like we are home when travelling, what better way then a friendly smile and a chat.. Also the location and room where spot on.. (but we can get that anywhere) Top marks for such pleasant staff...

Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park8Hotel, Manager at Park8 Hotel Sydney - by 8Hotels, responded to this review, March 15, 2012
Dear Chatterbox2012,

At Park8 Hotel, we genuinely love what we do and thrive on interaction with our valued guests. It is so rewarding to receive such a lovely review.

Thank you very much for taking the time to provide your feedback. We will be ready and waiting with giant smiles and friendly chatter to welcome you back on your next trip to Sydney.

Warm regards,

The Park8 Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Park8 Hotel Sydney - by 8Hotels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park8 Hotel Sydney - by 8Hotels

Address: 185 Castlereagh Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Business Hotel in Sydney
#36 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#40 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Park8 Hotel Sydney - by 8Hotels 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of Sydney’s CBD, this intimate 36 room boutique hotel is located on the doorstep of Sydney’s iconic Hyde Park and central to the best shopping, dining and entertainment districts. Park8 offers an oasis of comfort, space and tranquility. Interiors are inspired by Sydney’s natural surrounds which resonate throughout the spacious guest rooms & lofts and feature modern luxury amenities fused with old world charm. Experience the highest level of discreet and personalised service and the genuine warmth and care of our professional team. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Park8 Hotel Sydney - by 8Hotels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park8 Hotel Sydney - By 8 Sydney

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Park8 Hotel Sydney - by 8Hotels, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.