We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent options and beautiful interior” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Fine Food Store

The Fine Food Store
Kendall Lane, The Rocks | The Rocks Centre, Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
02 9252 1196
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #47 of 5,183 restaurants in Sydney
Price range: $6 - $15
Cuisines: Australian, Contemporary, Café, Organic
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Excellent options and beautiful interior”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

I tried many places for lunch in Sydney but this was the only place that I was truly impressed with. Lovely food, great coffee and a beautiful interior. Would recommend to all.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

89% Recommend
    109
    63
    16
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hobart Tasmania
1 review
“Good start to the sunny day”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013 via mobile

Why eat hotel breakfasts when there are cafes like this around. Loved my blueberry butcher muesli in a jar. And the coffee was good strength and hot.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A little gem”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

Tried The Fine Food Store this morning for brekky. Gotta say I love this place - friendly vibe and the food is tasty and is a notch above your standard cafe fare. Great presentation and smart flavour combinations. The coffee is a lovely smooth caramelly blend - hard to find fault really.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Well worth finding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

After a very disappointing breakie in sydney on our first day here, we decided to go down to the rocks and find the fine food store. We got there quite early, easy to get a seat. Great coffee, lovely breakfasts,I had spicy beans with poached eggs and pesto, the other options chosen by friends were just as yummy. Lovely relaxing ambience - worth finding it on our google map and great location right beside the markets . Great prices too.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Don't understand the hype”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

I really wanted to like this place more but it's the second time I was there and the second time I was disappointed. The place itself is really sweet and interesting, however the food is just below average. First time I had the stuffed eggplant which sounded fantastic on the menu but was blant, not warm enough and had some hard bits in it. Today I chose poached eggs with toast, butter and spinach. I got rocket instead of the spinach which was quite disappointing and just a tiny bit of butter. the bread was nothing special either. My partner ordered a shrimp cocktail sandwich which was basically a roll with shrimp, mayo and some salad and very bland. I have to say the coffee was quite good, but not hot enough. It feels like somebody with a good sense for interiors and creativity has designed the café but they miss a proper chef. It seems like a hobby cook is trying things s/he isn't realy good at. Such a shame.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Fine Food Store also viewed

Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 
Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to The Fine Food Store? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Fine Food Store, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.