We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent options and beautiful interior” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Fine Food Store

The Fine Food Store
Kendall Lane, The Rocks | The Rocks Centre, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
+61 2 9252 1196
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #67 of 4,133 Restaurants in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $12
Cuisines: Organic, Cafe, Seafood, Contemporary, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Dinner
Description: Tucked away on Kendall lane, the oldest laneway in The Rocks, The Fine Food Store has been a much-loved favourite of locals for over 10 years. Recently revealing its Brooklyn-inspired renovation, this cool and contemporary cafe offers a succinct menu of fresh and tasty offerings from braised-pork sliders to salmon gravlax with fennel salad. They pride themselves on the highest standard in coffee, from cold brewed to single origin espresso - to be enjoyed at a picturesque window seat or to-go when you're on the run. Now open nights, Weds to Sat from 4 to 10pm serving tapas style bar plates, select wine & tap beer.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Excellent options and beautiful interior”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

I tried many places for lunch in Sydney but this was the only place that I was truly impressed with. Lovely food, great coffee and a beautiful interior. Would recommend to all.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    153
    79
    20
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hobart Tasmania
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good start to the sunny day”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013 via mobile

Why eat hotel breakfasts when there are cafes like this around. Loved my blueberry butcher muesli in a jar. And the coffee was good strength and hot.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A little gem”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

Tried The Fine Food Store this morning for brekky. Gotta say I love this place - friendly vibe and the food is tasty and is a notch above your standard cafe fare. Great presentation and smart flavour combinations. The coffee is a lovely smooth caramelly blend - hard to find fault really.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
36 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Well worth finding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

After a very disappointing breakie in sydney on our first day here, we decided to go down to the rocks and find the fine food store. We got there quite early, easy to get a seat. Great coffee, lovely breakfasts,I had spicy beans with poached eggs and pesto, the other options chosen by friends were just as yummy. Lovely relaxing ambience - worth finding it on our google map and great location right beside the markets . Great prices too.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
105 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Don't understand the hype”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

I really wanted to like this place more but it's the second time I was there and the second time I was disappointed. The place itself is really sweet and interesting, however the food is just below average. First time I had the stuffed eggplant which sounded fantastic on the menu but was blant, not warm enough and had some hard bits in it. Today I chose poached eggs with toast, butter and spinach. I got rocket instead of the spinach which was quite disappointing and just a tiny bit of butter. the bread was nothing special either. My partner ordered a shrimp cocktail sandwich which was basically a roll with shrimp, mayo and some salad and very bland. I have to say the coffee was quite good, but not hot enough. It feels like somebody with a good sense for interiors and creativity has designed the café but they miss a proper chef. It seems like a hobby cook is trying things s/he isn't realy good at. Such a shame.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Fine Food Store also viewed

Sydney, New South Wales
 
Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to The Fine Food Store? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Fine Food Store, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.