We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hip and happening!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Fine Food Store

The Fine Food Store
Kendall Lane, The Rocks | The Rocks Centre, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
+61 2 9252 1196
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #35 of 4,200 Restaurants in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $12
Cuisines: Organic, Coffee Shop, Seafood, Contemporary, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Brunch
Description: Tucked away on Kendall lane, the oldest laneway in The Rocks, The Fine Food Store has been a much-loved favourite of locals for over 10 years. Recently revealing its Brooklyn-inspired renovation, this cool and contemporary cafe offers a succinct menu of fresh and tasty offerings from braised-pork sliders to salmon gravlax with fennel salad. They pride themselves on the highest standard in coffee, from cold brewed to single origin espresso - to be enjoyed at a picturesque window seat or to-go when you're on the run. Now open nights, Weds to Sat from 4 to 10pm serving tapas style bar plates, select wine & tap beer.
Adelaide SA
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Hip and happening!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

Just ask for gluten free and your wish will be granted. Nice coffee, try the 'dirty chai latte' for something different. In Sydney smoking is still allowed in outdoor eating areas, so this can be a problem. The breakfasts are delicious here, although they don't do fresh juices (but this makes it a bit quieter too).

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    151
    77
    19
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Gem in the rocks”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Had breakfast there on a lazy Sunday morning. Really enjoyed the atmosphere and good food. Good service, the right buzz in the room. And just fun to sit and chat, look a

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Accra, Ghana
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“very pleasant lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

We stumbled on this café having made a booking at the Sydney Visitor Centre, which is in the same building. A very pleasant lunch (veg and chickpea soup if my memory serves me well) outside, as well as a decent cup of coffee. Friendly staff and some interesting people to eavesdrop on.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Excellent Food - Amazing Flavor Combinations”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

In the Rocks area, this small deli style restaurant is worth a visit. We had the Lamb Sausage Sandwich, the Breakfast Sandwich and the Chicken Avocado Sandwich and each of them was yummy, unique and bursting with flavors. The staff seemed to take pride in their offerings which made the experience better. There were a bunch of baked goodies available and they looked really good but we did not have a chance to sample them.

The is a self help area with a bunch of condiments and water & cups.

Located in a quieter ally, but once you enter the street it is easy to spot. Overall a good experience and we would highly recommend a visit.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Hidden Secret”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

I was looking forward to going out for dinner with friends, but they couldn't come. This left me alone in the Rocks at 3pm on a Saturday Afternoon. I went around looking for a nice place to grab a bite to eat and was walking up Kendall Lane and there, hidden amonts the concrete jungle was a small store called the Fine Food Store. I thought why the hell not and went in and it was amazing. The atmosphere of the store is literally like an unknown jewel. The service was amazing, the waitress who served me at the counter was so nice and helpful - making sure I got the answer to every question I asked to ensure I got the best meal possible. I ended up ordering a sandwich to takeaway and ate it up on observatory hill in the sun. Possibly one of the most simplest and best meals I have had. If you haven't already I would recommend grabbing a bite to eat here.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Fine Food Store also viewed

Sydney, New South Wales
 
Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to The Fine Food Store? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Fine Food Store, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.