We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just 1 night and the last” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Brado's Backpackers

Brado's Backpackers
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Brado's Backpackers to your Saves list
Brado's Backpackers
34 - 36A Darlinghurst Road | Kings Cross, Sydney, New South Wales 2011, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #93 of 133 Specialty Lodging in Sydney
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Just 1 night and the last”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

All was booked around thTs the only place I got it just for 1 night and OMG are you kidding me guys ... Animals have better conditions to sleep than this place ... Dirty dirty smelly place ... Hope I won't get any rush on my skin after sleeping in that sheets ... And very unsecured anyone can walk in xxx hello make more secure it's kings cross not lots of junkies and idiots around .... $32 for a night ... I got better in other areas like George street or Pitt street for less ... Shame on you guys

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    9
    9
    10
    18
See reviews for
Families
0
6
19
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

Fortunately we two girls had to stay at Brado's only for one night. . Where should I start. . When we came into the hostel to book our room there were lots of people standing around the reception and no one seemed to work there.
When we came back the other day to check in into our 8-bed-dorm we wanted to cancel! It was so dirty in this room. .groceries on the floor and waste. One of our roommates told us he had seen a cockroach the day before in this dorm and my mate saw another one later on in the bathroom. There was one toilet on our floor and two showers. One of the showers had no door to the changing-room and both couldn't be locked.
The kitchen was hell! Don't let me talk about this. All in all pay 1-2 $ more and avoid this experience.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Malvern, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

I stayed here for 6 months as needed to stay somewhere long term. My freind recommended me.
They didnt really look after me to be honest - keep moving me around. Eventually i wa sina room with other long termers. But then the price went up for Christmas. And to use a suacpan etc you had to give a deposit etc.. again no god for a long termer.
The hostel is in KINGS CRSS the places to be for a night out. But isnt f=great t be in during the day to be honest. th elocation is great and you can ever catch a train to city or walk its sooo close. I would recommend this place if you are just staying for a few days and want some fun a sthey are great at that! Just aroud the corner is Potts point which has a beautiful bay called Elizabeth bay - so pretty!

Room Tip: Donr do it long term
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

Brado's is the cheapest hostel I could find in Sydney. It's not the cleanest hostel but it is by far the best! I had so much fun. I stayed for 2 weeks and loved every minute of it. It really felt like home. The people there are great. I made some life long friendships that I will cherish always. Located right in the heart of King's cross, its a lovely 20 minute walk to downtown (George St.) and Paddy's Market, the cheapest place for fresh produce. Plenty of bars and clubs nearby make for an active night life. It was kind of hard to find but only because If you're traveling on the cheap, definitely check out Brado's.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North west
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

We were allowed to check in at 10am which was a lifesaver, the staff seemed nice enough.
There is no lift, so you have to carry all your bags up lots of stairs.
It isn't the cleanest of places but it really wasn't that bad. The kitchen was clean enough and you get free breakfast. The communal area is just a picnic style table which had cockroaches walking on and to watch tv, you have 2 mats on the floor.. so not too comfy.
A few long term people have made the dorms like their home, the doors to them were wedged open with books 24/7 and people coming in and out that aren't even in the room (just having a social) so it really wasn't safe to leave things around (things were stolen and yet they kept wedging the doors open which was a big pain). They also gave free beds to random people and made other people move rooms because they wanted their bed. I was right next to the door so i was kept up all night by people coming in and out. And with all hostels, we also got the weirdo with a guitar at 4am.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013 via mobile

Possibly the most disgusting place ever. We didn't even stay a night. There was a junkie stoating around the room with a tin of sweetcorn at 6 in the evening and pills all over his bed. Considering it was an 8 bed dorm and there was 6 rooms on the floor there was one toilet and two showers.
The bed was not clean and had two dirty used tissues on it when I arrived and no pillow.


Not worth any money. Kings cross in general is not a great place to stay but this place was despicable. Room was not the same as the pictures on hostel world either.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

The rooms, communal area and kitchen were all pretty dirty and messy! However the staff were all really friendly and the organised nights out were great! There's free wifi, which is a bonus! And the room prices are cheap for Sydney! Great location, right in the centre of Kings Cross! I wouldn't recommend this hostel if you're a clean freak, but if you want to have a good time it's a great place to stay!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Brado's Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brado's Backpackers

Address: 34 - 36A Darlinghurst Road | Kings Cross, Sydney, New South Wales 2011, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #93 of 133 Specialty Lodging in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelBookers, HostelWorld and Booking.com so you can book your Brado's Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brado's Backpackers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.