We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient good value new hotel close to Central station Sydney” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bounce Sydney

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Bounce Sydney to your Saves list
Bounce Sydney
5.0 of 5 Hostel   |   Next to Central Station | 28 Chalmers Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2010, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 133 Specialty Lodging in Sydney
Hertfordshire UK
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Convenient good value new hotel close to Central station Sydney”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2010

If you do not want to pay a lot for a hotel in central Sydney, this is it. We must have been one of the first in our double room, for $135. Clean and modern; a breeze from the airport and so convenient for all of Sydney via the train station. Hiring the towels was a first! Staff were pleasant and helpful. We had no problem with noise, even though we were at least double the average age of other guests. An earlier correspondent must have been unlucky.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

415 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    218
    148
    34
    7
    8
See reviews for
28
50
162
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2010

My boyfriend and I stayed here for 5 nights Oct. 21-26.

The facilities themselves are beautiful. The beds are all spring mattresses, there is 3 lounge/tv areas and a huge outdoor terrace.

The people and the lack of cleanliness was the disappointing part. The hostel is full of young obnoxious brits who just want to party. We were awoken one night at 4 am to hear people in one of the bunks having loud drunk sex. When I told the front desk about it, she seemed to think it was funny.

The bathrooms were filthy, or at least the ones on the second floor. Not sure when the cleaners come in, but in 5 days I never saw it clean. I'm pretty sure gas sation washrooms get cleaned more frequently.

There was either no toilet paper, or the toilet paper was in a wet mess on the floor or covered in puke. The sinks were usually covered with makeup with used tissues everywhere.

If you're not a 21 year old partier, I don't recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BounceHotel, Manager at Bounce Sydney, responded to this review, November 9, 2010
Dear Kokomolady,

Wow - when it comes to missing the target, sounds like we missed it well and truly!

I am truly sorry that your stay with us was not as you (and we) would have expected it to be.
I can assure you that we have cleaners on site every day and the bathrooms are cleaned thoroughly every morning.

As for the loud sex couple this is a difficult one for us to monitor and is possibly one of the challenges of dorm accommodation, however our staff should always take your concerns seriously and I apologise if you feel they did not.

By their nature Backpackers tend to want to enjoy themselves - of course not everybody wants to join them and that is why we have built a number of common areas at Bounce including a cinema, library, TV Room and the large outdoor balcony on level 4 so that guests can have a break in a quiet area if they would like to.

Interestingly the average age of guests who stay at Bounce is between 24 and 35 so it sounds like you may have got a young group that week.

If you are in Sydney again then I hope you will give us a chance to exceed your expectations. Our Bar and restuarant opens this weekend and I would love to shout you a drink and show you just how good we can be!

Please feel free to contact me directly on (02) 9281 2222 or by email liz@bouncehotel.com.au if I can be of further service.

Yours sincerely,
Liz West
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2010

My boyfriend and I stayed at Bounce in a private Queen room for 5 nights...we had been looking for something cheap but with a private ensuite so thought we'd give it a go! We booked via Expedia so only paid $95 per night which we thought was fair, the $135 the hotel charges directly I would say is not worth it however.

Really easy to get to from the airport, a quick train ride straight to Central and the hotel is right across the road. About a 15 minute walk to Pitt St Mall, 30 mins to Circular Quay or a few mins on the train! Staff were really nice and always willing to help - check in was super easy and there was heaps of info for what's on in Sydney in the reception. Our room was modern and clean with a great TV , comfy bed, and plenty of storage space. Bathroom was good too but the hotel doesn't supply towels or any toiletries which we expected from hostel-style accommodation anyway. We didn't make use of the communal TV lounges because we had our own in the room but they looked pretty good. Kitchen was big with heaps of space for cooking and storing stuff in the fridge, and the rooftop terrace was great for catching the arvo sun on the few times we ventured up there.

Downsides to our stay was the price for internet - you get 1 free hour on arrival but after that is $3 per hour. Not too bad for those who use it infrequently but for us who needed it quite a bit, it soon got expensive and we ended up going to cafes to use free wifi. Connection at the hotel is nice and fast though. The other thing was the loud noise, not just from the other guests (it's basically a hostel so were expecting it) but from the construction that was going on next door. Drilling would start about 7am in the morning even on weekends so there was no chance of a sleep in at all. Very annoying!!

But I would say if you're looking for a basic, clean hotel for a stopover, Bounce is pretty good. If you're going to pay full price I would have a bit more of a look around first - there are places closer to the city with more features for a lower price.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BounceHotel, Manager at Bounce Sydney, responded to this review, November 9, 2010
Hi iheartaus,
Thanks for taking the time to leave us some feedback.
I am sorry to hear the drilling from the construction site next door disturbed your sleep, happily the construction has now finished and a sleep in is once again possible.
Yours sincerely,
Liz West
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2010

I stayed at Bounce Hotel, Sydney for one night in a Queen Room with a friend.
First impressions, looked very clean, and very modern and funky.
Check in was a breeze, although the lift was very slow.
Our room was in level 1, room 105
Corridors where well lit, very wide with fun bright funky colours through out. The key for the room wasn't an insert you had to wave it over the lock and the door opened. On entering the room, the bathroom was located on the right hand side, very modern, toilet, shower and basin. The bed was comfy but it wasn't a Queen bed, it was only a Double bed - so the room details on www.wotif.com weren't right.
The Television worked, clear picture, 2 windows, blinds didn't block out much at all, the view wasn't much just looking onto a brown brick building that was next door but we didn't pay for a view of anything. There was plenty of cupboard space, room to sit a laptop on top but no chair to access the laptop. When i arrived there were no towels in the room, when i went down to reception i was told we had to hire the towels $4 each + a $20 bond to make sure we took back the towels. Found this quiet strange, first time i've ever had to purchase towels at a hotel. There was no alarm clock, the lighting in the rooms wasn't that good as the ceilings were quite high, a few more down-lights would of been great.
Walls were quite thin, some noise in the morning sounded like a drill and jackhammer (coming from downstairs)
Had plenty of places within the hotel, tv room, kitchen etc
Bar & Restaurant opening soon
Would stay here again, not badly priced, staff were lovely, quick and efficient.
$125 + $4.95 payment on www.wotif.com would be just $125 when booked via the hotel

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bounce Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bounce Sydney

Address: Next to Central Station | 28 Chalmers Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2010, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 133 Specialty Lodging in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Bounce Sydney 5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Voted the '#1 Hostel in Australia', 'Most Popular Hostel in Sydney', and been listed in 'Top 10 Large Hostels in the World' at the 2014 and 2013 Hostel Awards.Bounce provides upmarket accommodation for backpackers and budget travellers. Fresh, new, modern and we're conveniently located opposite Central Station. We've got air-conditioning in every room, high-speed WiFi internet, a secure key card system, huge lockers, three lounge areas, and an awesome rooftop terrace and BBQ area with stunning views of the Sydney skyline. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Agoda, HostelWorld, HostelBookers, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Bounce Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bounce Sydney Hotel Sydney

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bounce Sydney, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.