We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern, clean and great location!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bounce Sydney

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Bounce Sydney to your Saves list
Bounce Sydney
5.0 of 5 Hostel   |   Next to Central Station | 28 Chalmers Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2010, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 133 Specialty Lodging in Sydney
London, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Modern, clean and great location!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Just got back from a 8 night stay at Bounce.
I stayed in a 7 bed girls dorm with a private bathroom.
The beds were huge and so comfy, the private bathroom was a great extra to have as it was just outside the door and gave you more privacy.
For the few extra dollars it was worth it, however the communal bathrooms were completely fine as well.

The location of Bounce is excellent 2 minute walk to central station which literally takes you everywhere you need.

Great communal areas at Bounce e.g Kitchen, Roof and the sections on each floor.



Would definitely stay again and recommend to all my friends.

Room Tip: I would get a single sex room and a private bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

414 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    217
    148
    34
    7
    8
See reviews for
28
50
161
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

sick hostel, awesome staff and artwork in the stairwell. rooftop drinks session very appealing. Got in late and guys looked after me and the missus real well. Good location, walking distance to most things but train station just across the road

Room Tip: ooops, sorry, no pool or room service. get a private double and woo the missus ;p
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

This place looks fantastic in reviews and it really is, living up to its 5* backpacker name. It was really simple to find, jump on the train from the international airport, end up at Central Station and it's right there. We check in, there was a problem with our room booking so they upgraded us to a private room for 4/5 nights for the same price (which was super cheap in the first place!) - talk about luxury having a double bed all to myself in a backpackers!!! The staff were really friendly, always happy to help us out with directions and answer any questions we had. It was a really simple lovely walk to Darling Harbour, and is accessible by all public transport so you can get home safely at night from virtually anywhere in Sydney. The cooking facilities were perfect, there was room for heaps of people and all the things you might need to cook a decent meal were available, and to eat there was a beautiful view of Sydney. Our room was cleaned every day. I would definitely stay here again, and I will recommend it to all my friends who are going to Sydney.

Stayed with a friend for 5 nights.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHONGQING
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

a good location nearby the central railway station ,but far from downtown of sydney. there are too many people in the hostel. so many so many .esp in the ketchen ,not so clean, and in the rush hour maybe u didn't have enough space to do some cooking.the room is big enough ,and the night view is ok!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BounceHotel, Manager at Bounce Sydney, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Hello,

Thanks for your feedback. I am disappointed to read that your experience with us was only average as we strive to make everyone's experience with us an excellent one.

In regards to our location, we are centrally located opposite central station, and only a one minute walk from the closest free city shuttle stop and tram stop. We are not far from downtown at all, in fact it is only about 1.5km to Pitt Street mall, which is a 15 minute walk. With the city centre only a short walk away and all of Sydney's public transport just outside our door, our location is great. Is there a particular location you had trouble getting to?

Our kitchen is the largest commercial grade kitchen out of any hostel in Sydney, so you'll struggle to find a bigger communal kitchen than ours. As you can imagine, when it is meal time, yes the kitchen is busy, but we have staff on hand helping with the clean-up to keep the kitchen and dining area clean and tidy.

If you would like to discuss your experience with us further, please don't hesitate to contact me directly. We hope that all of our guests have an awesome time with us, so when we fall short of meeting that goal we like to know about it. Thanks again for taking the time to leave us a review - your feedback is important to us and I will pass your comments on to our team.

Kind Regards,

Vin Kebblewhite
Hostel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

Stayed here for 5 nights. Was really easy to navigate my from the aiport, fantastic that the train station is opposite. As the hostel is not that close to Darling Harbour and circular keys. Staff were very helpful, the place was very clean. During busy times in the kitchen, there was always a staff member around cleaning, which is great. Rooftop is an awsome place to have a few drinks and meet people, as there is no bar you can bring your own drinks which is great. Really modern, clean, great beds, great size dorm rooms and overall can highly recommend this place. Have stayed in a few other hostels in Sydney, Bounce is by far the best! Reception staff really helpful and friendly. Overall awsome hostel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BounceHotel, Manager at Bounce Sydney, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Hello,

Thanks for your feedback! We're so pleased you loved Bounce Sydney! Your feedback is important to us and I will pass your comments on to our team.

Kind Regards,

Vin Kebblewhite
Hostel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlands
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for a night before leaving australia to go to thailand. The place really impressed me after we stayed at wake up over new year which wasn't brilliant.

Location is great - we got on the train from the airport to central station and its a 30 second walk from there and george street is 5 minutes away.

Reception/ check in we're really nice - chatty and professional and couldn't have been
More helpful.

The place was immaculately clean, from the carpets on the floors to reception and it had a really laid back atmosphere.

Room was lovely it was spotlessly clean and had air con and a tv with multiple channels opposite the bed.

Bed was comfy and shower was lovely and hot,

Next time I'm in sydney I will definitely be staying here again.

Cheers bounce you are doing a great job. Mitch

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BounceHotel, Manager at Bounce Sydney, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Hi Mitch,

Thanks for your Review! We're so pleased you loved Bounce Sydney and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Your feedback is important to us and I will pass your comments on to our team.

Kind Regards,

Vin Kebblewhite
Hostel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zagreb, Grad Zagreb, Croatia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

I stayed for 3 days in Bounce last July with my friends and everything was great. We had room with 1 king size bed + 1 bunk bed. Everything is very clean and sheets are changed every day. Also, the rooftop area is awesome! Bounce is indeed great place to stay while in Sydney!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BounceHotel, Manager at Bounce Sydney, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Hello,

Thanks for your Review! We're so pleased you loved Bounce Sydney! Your feedback is important to us and I will pass your comments on to our team.

Kind Regards,

Vin Kebblewhite
Hostel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Bounce Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bounce Sydney

Address: Next to Central Station | 28 Chalmers Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2010, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 133 Specialty Lodging in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Bounce Sydney 5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Voted the '#1 Hostel in Australia', 'Most Popular Hostel in Sydney', and been listed in 'Top 10 Large Hostels in the World' at the 2014 and 2013 Hostel Awards.Bounce provides upmarket accommodation for backpackers and budget travellers. Fresh, new, modern and we're conveniently located opposite Central Station. We've got air-conditioning in every room, high-speed WiFi internet, a secure key card system, huge lockers, three lounge areas, and an awesome rooftop terrace and BBQ area with stunning views of the Sydney skyline. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Orbitz, HostelBookers, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Bounce Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bounce Sydney Hotel Sydney

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bounce Sydney, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.