We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable, good location and clean” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bounce Sydney

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Bounce Sydney to your Saves list
Bounce Sydney
5.0 of 5 Hostel   |   Next to Central Station | 28 Chalmers Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2010, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 133 Specialty Lodging in Sydney
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
1 review
“Comfortable, good location and clean”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2012

This is a clean and well-maintained hostel. Good location with the main train station right opposite to it. Stayed in a 2 person ensuite. Bed is comfortable with a tv attached to the wall right in front of the bed. Each bedside has a closet which I reckon is more than enough for 2 person. Great common kitchen with all equipment available.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

401 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    210
    144
    32
    7
    8
See reviews for
26
49
157
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
london
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2012

I stayed here for a week in a 8mixed dorm, bad mistake. Did not get one night decent sleep, boys were coming in and out at all times in the morning, switching the main light on waking everyone up.There was a small community area outside of the room, which was used as a place to get drunk until early hours of the morning, empty beer bottles were left there, table glass was smashed from a wild Friday night. A couple of guys did not have a room over the weekend,and as they knew one of the guys that was staying in the dorm, they decided to leave all their bags in our room, knocking at all times to access their belongings.I would have advised staff, but they were friends of these partially boys, very clicky.

Room Tip: If you are a solo girl traveller, do not pick a mixed dorm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2012

This is a well-maintained hostel in a reasonably good location on the outskirts of the CBD, next to the main train station (Central Station). We stayed in a four-bed dorm consisting of two bunk beds, the beds were ok comfort-wise although the metal frames did make a bit of a racket from just the slightest movement. The room contained four very large lockers which are great from a security perspective as they are large enough to accomodate a large backpack. The toilet and bathroom facilities were very clean, and the roof terrace is a lovely feature. In my view the rates were still a bit high but this may have been as a result of staying in the three days up to and including New Years Eve. Overall it is a very good quality backpackers hostel.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Croydon, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2012

Really clean and fresh hostel. Amazing rooftop. Shame no drinks with the free breakfast thou :(

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

Really can't fault this hostel. I absolutely love it and it made my visit to Sydney! Its relaxed, easy and clean. One thing that they could of done better is explained things a little better like hanging our tags on our bed, where to put our stuff in the kitchen etc...even if it is a little booklet ? Staying in a dorm might put people off but was spacious, clean and safe! Thumbs up from me and I would defiantly recommend it to anyone! :)

Room Tip: A family would be better in a family room but if your travelling solo or with friends dorms are grea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2012

This is a very nice typical city hostel, the rooms are a decent size and both the rooms and bathroom were clean.

When I checked in there was only 1 on reception and a large queue so he practically threw the key at me and told me my room number, later on when wanting some assistance there was no on reception. The rest of the staff werent any better, the British girl on breakfast dutie was so rude and had constant "attitude" making you want to get out the kitchen as quick as I could.

I would still stay here because the rooms were lovely, the location is good and the rooftop terrace is awesome. They just need to sort their staff out!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NT
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2012

I stayed at Bounce for a week with my young sons. We had a very clean family room with ensuite and a TV. There is a video game table in common room where boys could play while I used the common kitchen, so they were occupied.
The whole place is very clean and a great central location for getting around Sydney. The staff were very helpful with directions and info, etc.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bounce Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bounce Sydney

Address: Next to Central Station | 28 Chalmers Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2010, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 133 Specialty Lodging in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Bounce Sydney 5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Voted the '#1 Hostel in Australia', 'Most Popular Hostel in Sydney', and been listed in 'Top 10 Large Hostels in the World' at the 2014 and 2013 Hostel Awards.Bounce provides upmarket accommodation for backpackers and budget travellers. Fresh, new, modern and we're conveniently located opposite Central Station. We've got air-conditioning in every room, high-speed WiFi internet, a secure key card system, huge lockers, three lounge areas, and an awesome rooftop terrace and BBQ area with stunning views of the Sydney skyline. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, HostelBookers, Odigeo, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Bounce Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bounce Sydney Hotel Sydney

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bounce Sydney, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.