We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific meals” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lal Qila Pakistani & Indian Restaurant

Lal Qila Pakistani & Indian Restaurant
351-353 Cleveland Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2010, Australia (Inner South)
+61 2 9319 1988
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2,837 of 5,232 Restaurants in Sydney
Price range: $13 - $26
Cuisines: Barbecue, Indian, Pakistani, Halal
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Delivery, Late Night
Neighborhood: Inner South
Description: LAL QILA RESTAURANT We aim to provide best food menu in Sydney by offering traditional Pakistani and south Asian cuisine based on the highest standards of quality, taste, hygiene, presentation and service. Authentic Pakistani & Indian Cuisine " Lal Qila Restaurant " in the heart of Surry Hills famous eatery area. "Lal Qila" we serve creative, Authentic Pakistani & Indian food by professional cooks who treat the cuisine with reverence and respect. You will love the food, service and environment to make you feel proud patrons of "Lal Qila". LAL QILA is beautifully located at a convenient locationin Surry Hills in Sydney. It has becom a benchmark name in hospitality sector offering range of South Asian food especially Pakistani and Indian cuisine with in short period of time ... and with its fabulous size and outlook you'll be sure not pass without a second look.... Be sure to visit the place whatever the occasion, whether its to fulfill your craving for mouthwatering dishes from the South-Asian continent or to enjoy a birthday or any sort of event to celebrating in comfortable environment. With its amazing waiter service and friendly reception your guaranteed to have an unforgettable experience. So all you inidan food lovers would finally have the opportunity to taste not only the best but the finest authentic PAKISTANI DISHES. WE NOW CATER FOR WEDDINGS AND HAVE A TAKE AWAY SERVICE WITH FREE DELIVERY FOR AN ORDER OVER $30
Cairns
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Terrific meals”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

I went here with a friend before the football last night. We were greeted by a friendly waitress who offered the specials to us. We decided to try the entree chicken with crispy onions on a hot plate to share. Not only was it a generous portion it was lovely. For mains we went the specials again,a wok cooked goat curry and a clay pot beef curry,both were sensational. Top this off with yummy sesame naans and it was the perfect meal. I'll be back for sure the next time I'm in Sydney.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    13
    4
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great, spicy curry!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Having read rave reviews about this restaurant, I decided to go here for some good, authentic Indian/Pakistani cuisine. I was not disappointed.

From the moment we arrived, we were greeted with friendly service. The food was tasty and reasonably priced. Unlike a lot of places that essentially offer a bunch of Western dishes, the dishes offered here are authentic and full of flavour! This is reflected in the clientele who are clearly there for the real deal.

Another perk was being able to drive there and park easily right outside the restaurant (as long as you arrive after 7pm). Only downside is that there is not an alcoholic drinks menu, but BYO is ideal, just make sure to bring your drink of choice.

Enjoy!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong, Australia
Top Contributor
298 reviews 298 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 99 cities Reviews in 99 cities
139 helpful votes 139 helpful votes
“Unbelievable taste”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013 via mobile

In Sydney alone on business and got off a kilometre from my accommodation, picked up a takeaway and walked home. The hostess was very helpful when I asked for something hot, after dispensing with the usual she asked if I liked slow cooked meat. Answering in the affirmative I was offered an off menu dish (half serve) called Handi? Well it was delicious, hot but not in a vindaloo way and nicely flavoured and not a whole lot of sauce.

Definitely be back for a sit down meal when back in the area.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Lal Qila does it again! AWESOMELY FABULOUS FOOD AND STAFF!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

The food ... the food ... the food ... BRILLIANT ... the staff are just so very attentive and warm and friendly (and run off their feet). This place deserves to be busy and packed (although I really don't want too many more people to discover it otherwise I may have to queue outside). The most incredible flavours in everything and everything so different. The freshness and pristine presentation ... just wonderful. I am so glad to have found this restaurant and can't wait to share it with more friends. This has to be the best Indian/Pakistani restaurant in Sydney ... in the Southern Hemisphere for that matter. Took a friend along to try the food tonight and my friend was also totally blown away by just how delicious and fresh the food was ... and how wonderful the staff were ... all night long ... even when we perhaps overstayed our welcome when the restaurant had closed! Thank you Lal Qila for being a jewel in the Sydney restaurant scene.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Possibly the best Indian-Pakistani Restaurant in Sydney!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Sydney is not known for great Indian or Pakistani cuisine. The menus are similar, the sauces are the same, and the choice limited, unadventurous and adapted to western tastes. Not so Lal Qila! If you love authentic Indian and Pakistani food LOOK NO FURTHER! This restaurant is breaking new ground in Sydney with the most extensive and rare menu on offer at a reasonable price. If you are an 'Indiaphile foodie' you will be in heaven! They have a vast array of dishes for vegetarians and meat-loves alike, from regional dahl dishes, to spicy tandori cauliflower, tandori fish/lobster, or exotic goat meat curry. You will not be disappointed. The staff are attentive and helpful and will guide you through the extensive menu, and the atmosphere is warm and inviting. I don't know where Lal Qila got its chef de cuisine, but he/she is possibly one of the best in the country and deserving of accolades!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lal Qila Pakistani & Indian Restaurant also viewed

 
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to Lal Qila Pakistani & Indian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lal Qila Pakistani & Indian Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.