We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely setting” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hugos Manly

Hugos Manly
Manly Wharf, East Esplanade, Manly, Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
8116 8555
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #22 of 5,201 restaurants in Sydney
Price range: $19 - $45
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza, Seafood, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
London
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
“Lovely setting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

Had lunch with friends; lovely view, great service and a buzzing atmosphere. Had a pizza and it was delicious although rather too heavy on the pepperoni topping! Well priced and will return :)

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

90% Recommend
    124
    87
    19
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
“Gorgeous setting!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013 via mobile

First night in Manly we decided to dine at Hugos, what an experience! We arrived slightly early for the dinner menu and decided to have a drink while we waited. The staff were attentive and friendly but didn't hover. Chose to share two entrées and a pizza. Tuna and scallops were to die for and the pizza was just perfect, wine a little pricey but was well worth it overall!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
1 review
“chill out on Sydney harbour”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

Great place on a sunny afternoon overlooking gorgeous Sydney harbour. Food Not is very good. cheap but worth it

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Not a pizza lover but these are the best”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

I prefer lunch here because nothing creates ambience like being so close to the water and drinking in the view. There is no doubt it is pricey for a pizza but it's not just about the food. I'm prepared to pay for a combination of great service, great location, good ambience and the best pizza (Chilli Prawn the favourite) - all other food is also very good. Wine selection is absolutely fine - I'm not a connoisseur but I know if I like something and nothing has disappointed me yet.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“If only Hugos would update the menu and wine list”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Good atmosphere although a little dark. Hate having to use an iphone to light the menu. Can be excessively noisy especially if dining after 8.30pm. Service efficient and friendly. Food always fairly good, but the menu hasn't changed much since they opened years ago, so it feels like the same old same old. I really like Hugos and if only they updated the menu I would be there much more often.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hugos Manly also viewed

 
Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to Hugos Manly? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hugos Manly, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.