We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a pizza lover but these are the best” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hugos Manly

Hugos Manly
Manly Wharf, East Esplanade, Manly, Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
8116 8555
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #29 of 5,233 Restaurants in Sydney
Price range: $18 - $43
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza, Seafood, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Not a pizza lover but these are the best”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

I prefer lunch here because nothing creates ambience like being so close to the water and drinking in the view. There is no doubt it is pricey for a pizza but it's not just about the food. I'm prepared to pay for a combination of great service, great location, good ambience and the best pizza (Chilli Prawn the favourite) - all other food is also very good. Wine selection is absolutely fine - I'm not a connoisseur but I know if I like something and nothing has disappointed me yet.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    127
    92
    20
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“If only Hugos would update the menu and wine list”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Good atmosphere although a little dark. Hate having to use an iphone to light the menu. Can be excessively noisy especially if dining after 8.30pm. Service efficient and friendly. Food always fairly good, but the menu hasn't changed much since they opened years ago, so it feels like the same old same old. I really like Hugos and if only they updated the menu I would be there much more often.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Great Pizza, but pricey.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

Came here for dinner with friends on a rainy (Sydney) winter evening after work. Glad we had made a booking as it seemed completely booked out when we arrived at 7pm. Good location and atmosphere but a bit loud and only a small table for the three of us, also very close to table next to us. Food (I had the ham pizza) was delicious and they offered gluten free pizza bases, which was great. The angel hair pasta looked good but the portion seemed a bit too small. We had a good evening but moved on after eating our meals, as the meals and one bottle of wine were already quite expensive.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Pricey but good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Had lunch here after having been recommended by lonely planet. As every restaurant in Sydney, was quite pricey. had a pizza and a salad, at the end turned out to be 40 dollars. Maybe it was also the price you pay for the harbor view.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Top Contributor
174 reviews 174 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
“Heaven by the water”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

Service was close to perfection, the salmon pizza achieved perfection. The views speak for themselves and the cheesecake dessert was icing on the cake. I would insist on returning here whenever it is a gorgeous day in Manly. Doesn't get better.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hugos Manly also viewed

 
Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to Hugos Manly? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hugos Manly, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.