We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a pizza lover but these are the best” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hugos Manly

Hugos Manly
Manly Wharf, East Esplanade, Manly, Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
8116 8555
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #56 of 5,319 Restaurants in Sydney
Price range: $16 - $39
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza, Seafood, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Not a pizza lover but these are the best”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

I prefer lunch here because nothing creates ambience like being so close to the water and drinking in the view. There is no doubt it is pricey for a pizza but it's not just about the food. I'm prepared to pay for a combination of great service, great location, good ambience and the best pizza (Chilli Prawn the favourite) - all other food is also very good. Wine selection is absolutely fine - I'm not a connoisseur but I know if I like something and nothing has disappointed me yet.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

400 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    199
    154
    37
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“If only Hugos would update the menu and wine list”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Good atmosphere although a little dark. Hate having to use an iphone to light the menu. Can be excessively noisy especially if dining after 8.30pm. Service efficient and friendly. Food always fairly good, but the menu hasn't changed much since they opened years ago, so it feels like the same old same old. I really like Hugos and if only they updated the menu I would be there much more often.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Poshy but a tad cold”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

The view is stunning, it's a good place to catch the vibe of Manly but because it had such good publicity, sometimes the service could be a bit pretended. The snobbishness of some wait staff left little to be desired for... someone need to remind them they aren't Rockpool.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Great Pizza, but pricey.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

Came here for dinner with friends on a rainy (Sydney) winter evening after work. Glad we had made a booking as it seemed completely booked out when we arrived at 7pm. Good location and atmosphere but a bit loud and only a small table for the three of us, also very close to table next to us. Food (I had the ham pizza) was delicious and they offered gluten free pizza bases, which was great. The angel hair pasta looked good but the portion seemed a bit too small. We had a good evening but moved on after eating our meals, as the meals and one bottle of wine were already quite expensive.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mooloolaba, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Like a breathe of fresh air 'A Must Go Here'”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

After a going to a very disappointing Italian Rest in the Corso Manly, going to Hugo's was amazing. On entering, the atmosphere was fabulous, ambient, low lighting, welcoming. Staff were immediately attentive and friendly, taken to our seat the waiter brought chilled water in crystal clean glasses. We ordered Pizza's just because but noticed all other meals very generously portioned and looked fabulous. Our pizza's were outstanding and the pear and rocket salad was crisp, fresh and flavoursome. Staff were attentive and couldn't do enough for us. Meals came quick and place could not be faulted. 10 our of 10. Will definitely come again when next in Manly.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hugos Manly also viewed

 
Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to Hugos Manly? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hugos Manly, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.