We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Pizza, but pricey.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hugos Manly

Hugos Manly
Manly Wharf, East Esplanade, Manly, Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
8116 8555
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #28 of 5,171 restaurants in Sydney
Price range: $19 - $45
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza, Seafood, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Great Pizza, but pricey.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

Came here for dinner with friends on a rainy (Sydney) winter evening after work. Glad we had made a booking as it seemed completely booked out when we arrived at 7pm. Good location and atmosphere but a bit loud and only a small table for the three of us, also very close to table next to us. Food (I had the ham pizza) was delicious and they offered gluten free pizza bases, which was great. The angel hair pasta looked good but the portion seemed a bit too small. We had a good evening but moved on after eating our meals, as the meals and one bottle of wine were already quite expensive.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

89% Recommend
    119
    81
    19
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, SP
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Pricey but good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Had lunch here after having been recommended by lonely planet. As every restaurant in Sydney, was quite pricey. had a pizza and a salad, at the end turned out to be 40 dollars. Maybe it was also the price you pay for the harbor view.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Top Contributor
165 reviews 165 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
“Heaven by the water”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

Service was close to perfection, the salmon pizza achieved perfection. The views speak for themselves and the cheesecake dessert was icing on the cake. I would insist on returning here whenever it is a gorgeous day in Manly. Doesn't get better.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Excellente”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

I came to Hugo's Manly on a wet rainy day it was amazing view and nice and warm inside, the service was great, the staff was so nice and really talkative

I ordered so much food, I had Antipasto which had wonderful types of cured meats, also had Squid and Polenta Chips, (that was only for starters)

And for mans we both had 2 pizza's I had a mushroom pizza it was delicious and so fresh, it had goats cheese and caramelised onions that could make your mouth water, and my friend ordered a margarita, and for drinks we had 2 yummy mock-tails,

Overall the whole lunch and afternoon was a wonderful day, eventually the weather cleared up a bit and have quite a view. :)

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Great location, top food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013 via mobile

Hugo's is on the wharf in Manly, and as a consequence it has great views, and there is always a real buzz about the place. The table service was excellent, efficient but not overbearing. The lunch menu has about 5 specials, however two of us has 2 entrée courses, while our friends shared a pizza and a salad of quail. I had a yellow fin tuna sashimi style dish, and then a Cape Grim beef carpaccio, both to die for....truly excellent. My wife has scallops and pomegranate entree....she raved about it, as she did with the quail salad....the quail perfectly cooked. As we were driving we had a glass of wine each....a very good selection by the glass...a little pricey but the location and food made it all worth while. Definitely not to be missed if you are planning a visit to Manly, and want a quality, light meal. No doubt you can also order something more substantial if you are starving!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hugos Manly also viewed

 
Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to Hugos Manly? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hugos Manly, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.