We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Pizza, but pricey.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hugos Manly

Hugos Manly
Manly Wharf, East Esplanade, Manly, Sydney, New South Wales 2095, Australia
+61 81168555
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #40 of 5,099 Restaurants in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $16 - $38
Cuisines: Italian, Bar, Pizza, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Great Pizza, but pricey.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

Came here for dinner with friends on a rainy (Sydney) winter evening after work. Glad we had made a booking as it seemed completely booked out when we arrived at 7pm. Good location and atmosphere but a bit loud and only a small table for the three of us, also very close to table next to us. Food (I had the ham pizza) was delicious and they offered gluten free pizza bases, which was great. The angel hair pasta looked good but the portion seemed a bit too small. We had a good evening but moved on after eating our meals, as the meals and one bottle of wine were already quite expensive.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

508 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    264
    190
    44
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mooloolaba, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Like a breathe of fresh air 'A Must Go Here'”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

After a going to a very disappointing Italian Rest in the Corso Manly, going to Hugo's was amazing. On entering, the atmosphere was fabulous, ambient, low lighting, welcoming. Staff were immediately attentive and friendly, taken to our seat the waiter brought chilled water in crystal clean glasses. We ordered Pizza's just because but noticed all other meals very generously portioned and looked fabulous. Our pizza's were outstanding and the pear and rocket salad was crisp, fresh and flavoursome. Staff were attentive and couldn't do enough for us. Meals came quick and place could not be faulted. 10 our of 10. Will definitely come again when next in Manly.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Pricey but good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Had lunch here after having been recommended by lonely planet. As every restaurant in Sydney, was quite pricey. had a pizza and a salad, at the end turned out to be 40 dollars. Maybe it was also the price you pay for the harbor view.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“An excellent restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

The restaurant is perfectly situated for those visiting the area via a ferry. It is at the Manly wharf, and you may miss it if you dont look to your left as you walk off the ferry and toward the Corso.

The food is really fabulous, a great selection. There is quite a good wine selection, but it is expensive for what it is. That being said, the view was so good we had several bottles.

The service is first class.

My only criticism of the restaurant is that the chairs are really uncomfortable. They have no chair backs so it is very hard to relax and enjoy some time there. Not good for older people or those with bad backs.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Top Contributor
210 reviews 210 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
“Heaven by the water”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

Service was close to perfection, the salmon pizza achieved perfection. The views speak for themselves and the cheesecake dessert was icing on the cake. I would insist on returning here whenever it is a gorgeous day in Manly. Doesn't get better.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hugos Manly also viewed

 
Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to Hugos Manly? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hugos Manly, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.