We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellente” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hugos Manly

Hugos Manly
Manly Wharf, East Esplanade, Manly, Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
8116 8555
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #48 of 5,379 Restaurants in Sydney
Price range: $16 - $38
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza, Seafood, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Excellente”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

I came to Hugo's Manly on a wet rainy day it was amazing view and nice and warm inside, the service was great, the staff was so nice and really talkative

I ordered so much food, I had Antipasto which had wonderful types of cured meats, also had Squid and Polenta Chips, (that was only for starters)

And for mans we both had 2 pizza's I had a mushroom pizza it was delicious and so fresh, it had goats cheese and caramelised onions that could make your mouth water, and my friend ordered a margarita, and for drinks we had 2 yummy mock-tails,

Overall the whole lunch and afternoon was a wonderful day, eventually the weather cleared up a bit and have quite a view. :)

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

428 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    217
    163
    40
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Perfect location; cosy and romantic, solid food and service.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

We really love this place and my wife and I often go there on 'date night'. It's perfect; you can kick back in the lounge/bar and sup martinis whilst waiting for a table overlooking the harbour.

The menu changes regularly and is always very good, modern Australian/Italian. The waiting staff are always very helpful if a little green.

It's not fine dining and it suffers a little due to its popularity; but I always really enjoy our nights there.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“fun and lively”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

great location on the wharf, a good buzz and lots of in folk to watch and enjoy, service good, snacks, meals good drink selection and a buzz place to go to, a tad noisy for a romantic dinner but with a group a must, a tad pricey but still good value

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Great location, top food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013 via mobile

Hugo's is on the wharf in Manly, and as a consequence it has great views, and there is always a real buzz about the place. The table service was excellent, efficient but not overbearing. The lunch menu has about 5 specials, however two of us has 2 entrée courses, while our friends shared a pizza and a salad of quail. I had a yellow fin tuna sashimi style dish, and then a Cape Grim beef carpaccio, both to die for....truly excellent. My wife has scallops and pomegranate entree....she raved about it, as she did with the quail salad....the quail perfectly cooked. As we were driving we had a glass of wine each....a very good selection by the glass...a little pricey but the location and food made it all worth while. Definitely not to be missed if you are planning a visit to Manly, and want a quality, light meal. No doubt you can also order something more substantial if you are starving!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kildare, Ireland
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“good selection, overlooking bay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013 via mobile

we had a nice carpachio fish starter. pizza and pasta mains. very good service from pretty staff. overlooking small beach and manley bay. lots of cocktails to be had.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hugos Manly also viewed

 
Sydney, New South Wales
Manly, Greater Sydney
 

Been to Hugos Manly? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hugos Manly, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.