We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellente” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hugos Manly

Hugos Manly
Manly Wharf, East Esplanade, Manly, Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
8116 8555
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #28 of 5,171 restaurants in Sydney
Price range: $19 - $45
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza, Seafood, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Excellente”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

I came to Hugo's Manly on a wet rainy day it was amazing view and nice and warm inside, the service was great, the staff was so nice and really talkative

I ordered so much food, I had Antipasto which had wonderful types of cured meats, also had Squid and Polenta Chips, (that was only for starters)

And for mans we both had 2 pizza's I had a mushroom pizza it was delicious and so fresh, it had goats cheese and caramelised onions that could make your mouth water, and my friend ordered a margarita, and for drinks we had 2 yummy mock-tails,

Overall the whole lunch and afternoon was a wonderful day, eventually the weather cleared up a bit and have quite a view. :)

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

89% Recommend
    117
    81
    19
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Great location, top food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013 via mobile

Hugo's is on the wharf in Manly, and as a consequence it has great views, and there is always a real buzz about the place. The table service was excellent, efficient but not overbearing. The lunch menu has about 5 specials, however two of us has 2 entrée courses, while our friends shared a pizza and a salad of quail. I had a yellow fin tuna sashimi style dish, and then a Cape Grim beef carpaccio, both to die for....truly excellent. My wife has scallops and pomegranate entree....she raved about it, as she did with the quail salad....the quail perfectly cooked. As we were driving we had a glass of wine each....a very good selection by the glass...a little pricey but the location and food made it all worth while. Definitely not to be missed if you are planning a visit to Manly, and want a quality, light meal. No doubt you can also order something more substantial if you are starving!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“One delighted mother”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013 via mobile

Last minute decision to have our Mother's Day lunch at Manly. A walk across the Corso and onto Manly Wharf. Brilliant sunny day and expectation that the restaurants would all be booked out. Hugos found us a table and we had the most satisfying lunch. Excellent food and service. We'll definitely go back

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Worth it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

We had a lunch for 4 people on a sunny day over the Anzac weekend. Tables were very busy and booking was essential. We had to wait just the same and enjoyed a pre lunch drink.
The ambience is great with magnificent water views, relaxed atmosphere and genuinely good service. The food and wine menu is extensive and while at the upper end of price range is reasonable for a place that pays the rent that this place does.
Our bill for 4 people having oysters, main, drinks and coffee was $269. Not too bad.
I look forward to coming back.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CAIRNS
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Sydney's Finest”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

A fabulous, relaxed style of restaurant.
Not cheap but right on the pier at Manly wharf after a 30minute cruise across the magnificent Sydney Harbour.
The service was fantastic (the only negative was that our attendant kept calling me mate...!) the food was magnificent.....I a the home made gnocchi and hours-long cooked ragu - magnifico....!
It also helped that the weather was picture-perfect....!!!
A great place that I hope to re-visit soon...!!!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hugos Manly also viewed

 
Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 
Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 
Sydney, New South Wales
 
Sydney, New South Wales

Been to Hugos Manly? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hugos Manly, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.