We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, service and location.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Baroque Bistro

Baroque Bistro
88 George Street | The Rocks, Sydney, New South Wales, Australia (City Centre)
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #494 of 5,257 Restaurants in Sydney
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Neighborhood: City Centre
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great food, service and location.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013 via mobile

Dropped in for a quick dinner after seeing a movie. Great location, quick friendly service and tasty food. Would recommend giving it a go, next time we'll try the lounge bar area inside.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    87
    75
    27
    12
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic view, location and most of all food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

My husband and I haven't been on a date night in a while and I wanted to go somewhere different. This quaint French patisserie has a modern twist; is beautifully located in the Rocks; has great views of the bridge and didn't disappoint in the food department. The service was impeccable and the our waitress was not only friendly but very informative with the food and wine and even knew where it originated from. It was definitely one of the best meals out I have had in a while. There was no room for dessert but apparently they are famous for there Macaroons.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Delicious food, delicious views, baked fresh”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Ah this is the life.. Sun streaming through large glass rustic windows overlooking historical buildings and a gorgeous harbour... Did I mention the food..?. Amazing pastries and breads baked on site.. My husband and I were licking our fingers after breakfast. Small servings , limited menu, but executed really well. We topped it off with chocolate crossaint , lovely coffee and macaroons to take away!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aussie
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

Drew Bolton is an amazing chef. The food is all class.
We went to Baroque for the first time on one of our visits to Sydney, and at Drew's recommendation had the Degustation menu. We didn't know what to expect but it went far above and beyond anything we had tasted before. It was just delightful from the very professional service, presentation and taste sensations of each course to getting to meet and talk with Drew himself. I cannot recommend this restaurant more highly.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

I had truly fantastic time at Baroque....I came with three other friends, one of whom had been telling us to come in for a while because they had heard great things. The location is great and we got a great view of the harbour bridge from our table. The service was friendly and informative and gave us a good overview of the menu and all the components of the dishes.

I ordered the beetroot salad for an entrée which was superb. A great balance of flavours and just so pretty. For main I had the lamb which was beautifully cooked and so full of flavour. Everyone on the table were raving about their food.

We shared desserts, getting a crème brulee and a chocolate mousse with banana, coriander and yuzu (forgot the French name for it!). These were beautifully presented and tasted amazing.

I would recommend Baroque to anyone and I'll definitely be back!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Baroque Bistro also viewed

Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 
Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to Baroque Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Baroque Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.