We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spacious, pleasant and convenient apartment” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Sebel Darling Harbour The Pinnacle

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sydney
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Sebel Darling Harbour The Pinnacle
Save
You added The Sebel Darling Harbour The Pinnacle to your Saves list
104 Pyrmont Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2009, Australia (Formerly Grand Mercure Pinnacle Apartments)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 134 Specialty Lodging in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Lower Hutt, New Zealand
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Spacious, pleasant and convenient apartment”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2011

We had a two bedroom apartment on the first floor and enjoyed our stay there very much. The apartment was modern, all rooms were spacious and pleasantly decorated. There was plenty of wardrobe space and it was great having the two bathrooms. Helen the manager was welcoming and very helpful. The complex was also well set up with parking, places to put garbage and the storage of luggage when we left and had time to fill in before our flights. It was close to Darling Harbour and walking distance to many of the things that we wanted to go to. It is located on a busy street but we found that the road noise didn't keep us awake. We would go back there again if we were to return to Sydney.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AccorVacationClub, Manager at The Sebel Darling Harbour The Pinnacle, responded to this review, July 5, 2011
Thank you for your positive feedback and I am happy to hear you enjoyed your stay at the Grand Mercure Pinnacle Apartments. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    125
    29
    6
    2
    1
See reviews for
62
38
1
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Townsville, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2011

Spent a fabulous week in very nicely located 2 bedroom apartment. 200m to Darling Harbour and all that this magnificent city has to offer. As Dad to a family of 4 with 2 boys under 7, the second bedroom and bathroom made this a very comfortable holiday for all. Well appointed kitchen, meant while we did spend plenty at the Darling Harbour food precinct, we also were able to enjoy meals at 'home', when the days had left us too tired to venture out again. Lounge and private balcony were also a bonus, and while the view from the 4th floor may not have been very exciting, whenever we wanted to see the sites, we just went for a walk.
Some minor renovation work was being done during our stay, but Helen (Manager) did a great job of making sure it was not intrusive on our trip at all.
Overall, its proximity to the Harbour and the well appointed rooms made this a true holiday to remember for our boys, first trip to the really 'big smoke'. Unfortunately, the lost camera at the airport on the way home means no photos, but the memories will remain.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AccorVacationClub, Manager at The Sebel Darling Harbour The Pinnacle, responded to this review, July 5, 2011
Thank you for your positive feedback and I am happy to hear you enjoyed your stay at the Grand Mercure Pinnacle Apartments. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2011

Whilst the service & location were great the rooms are in need of an upgrade. New Manager had just started and she was fabulous & really helpful, given time I think she will ensure the needed improvements happen to make it a great stay.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tweed Heads
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2011

We found the accommodation comfortable and conveniently located. Helen, the manageress, was very helpful. We had a good holiday, and we are planning to go back next year.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mackay, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2011

We booked for 5 nights shareing with another couple of friends coming from the airport we were told to use a taxi. It was far cheaper than any other service available both from and to the airport. Everything you could think of was easy to get too and getting a multi pass saved on taxi,ferry and train tickets.The accommodation was better than we imagined, everything we could need was on hand. The manageress Helen was very helpful with any of our need for information at the apartments or around the city. We enjoyed our stay immensley. Thank you..

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2011

I'm sure these people do not read what the client is looking for in the request's and if they do they should contact clients beforehand to let them know they cannot provide any of their requests, we were to celebrate our 38th wedding anniversary and one request was to be able to sit on the balcony and have a quite drink. The road noise and car fumes are so bad it is impossble to sit out there. The toliet started filling up and running loudly until my husband had to get up and fix it. When we arrived at the apartment to check in we found a man at a small desk with an exercise book and an envelope with our name on and keys in it who marked our name off in an exercise book. The carpet in the lounge area was stained. but the worst thing of all was the constant traffic noise all night (not suitable accommodation for anyone wanting to stay a few days and certainly no good for families with children) or for anyone wanting a restful sleep..The best thing about the apartment block is that it is only a five to 10 min walk to Darling Harbour.. However there is virtually no reception to speak of and when you receive your keys there is a list of things you will be charged for inside. There are no views from the apartments unless you like to see car and truck lights as well as the noise they make.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nambour, Australia
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2011

We stayed here for one week on an Accor Vacation Club exchange, using the maximum number of points for any of their properties. We had not realised that the location of these apartments was no longer in the former Grand Mercure Hotel on Darling Harbour, although the address on my confirmation six months ago correctly indicated 104 Pyrmont Street.

Unfortunately, Google Maps still indicated the Grand Mercure at 50 Murray Street (now One Darling Harbour), and naively, this is where I thought we would be staying. Our first disappointment occurred when the taxi dropped us off at my request at the Google Maps address at One Darling Harbour; a local resident kindly advised us that the Pinnacle Apartments were about two blocks away, and using Google Maps again we found 104 Pyrmont Street on foot.

Our next disappointment was to find this was a unit in a small, unimpressive apartment building with virtually no additional services. There was a fairly terse, heavily smoke-smelling concierge who signed us in, after which we were on our own. We only saw one other concierge during the week who knew nothing about the local ferry service to the city when we inquired.

The two best things about the unit were that it is relatively conveniently located a short walk to Darling Harbour, Star City Casino and a Coles supermarket, and the apartment was spacious enough for four adults. Beyond that, there is not much to say about the apartment that is complimentary. The apartment is sad, dated, noisy, hot and the washing machine is extremely complicated to use. The hot water takes an extraordinarily long time to reach the master bathroom.

Our unit was on the second floor overlooking Pyrmont Bridge Road. The window and balcony doors in the master bedroom were sealed so you couldn't open them for fresh air. The street noise made opening the balcony doors in the living room untenable, and you couldn't even sit at the spacious outdoor setting for a cup of tea or drink.

The standard of this accommodation was well below the standard of other Accor properties we have stayed in, and we are very disappointed to have used a full year's points (7,000) here. Fortunately, we were able to keep ourselves busy away from the apartment, and only had one evening in.

If all you need is a place to wash, get changed and sleep in Sydney, this is OK, but for the relative cost, I'm sure you could do better. Don't waste your points.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AccorVacationClub, General Manager at The Sebel Darling Harbour The Pinnacle, responded to this review, June 30, 2011
I appreciate your comments and understand the confusion in terms of location. There was a Grand Mercure Darling Harbour, however this is no longer in operation. Grand Mercure Pinnacle Apartments is as you mentioned located on Pyrmont Street behind, however in easy walking distance of the Darling Harbour precinct and Star City Casino. We have also provided significant local training to the team at the apartments to ensure they are familiar to the event, activities and transportation in the Sydney CBD area at all times. Thank you once again for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Sebel Darling Harbour The Pinnacle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sebel Darling Harbour The Pinnacle

Address: 104 Pyrmont Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2009, Australia (Formerly Grand Mercure Pinnacle Apartments)
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 134 Specialty Lodging in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This all apartment property was refurbished in November 2012. The rooms accommodate 6 guests with 2 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms and have fully equipped kitchens, dining/ lounge area and balconies. There is a rooftop relaxation area with views across the city and Darling harbour. Car parking is available on site. This is the perfect location to explore Sydney, Darling Harbour and all of the local attractions. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Grand Mercure Pinnacle Apartments Hotel Sydney

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Sebel Darling Harbour The Pinnacle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.