We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy roadside cafe” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fountain Cafe - CLOSED

Fountain Cafe
18 Darlinghurst Rd., Sydney, New South Wales, Australia (City East)
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Coffee Shop
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Neighborhood: City East
Shanghai, China
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Cozy roadside cafe”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Staffs are friendly, foods taste great. The setting is cozy and comfortable, offers both indoor seats and outdoor. Great place for lunch or afternoon teas.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

26 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    7
    6
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Uphill to downhill in a matter of weeks”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

I was a regular customer , I loved coming here and enjoy my food and drinks and have a chat with staff , I could see the place going good but ever since Ramy has been gone the staff are terrible and no sense of humor I am discusted with what it has turned out to be , poor management and poor knowledge on customers . I don't think anybody can handle it the way he did . I have now called the sugar mill my new home
Ta ta fountain

  • Visited October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Nice breakfast and Great Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

We have had many breakfasts in this restaurant as it was 1 minute walkaway from the place we used to stay. Service and food both are great. They have a very good outdoor area where you can see the fountain.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Quick and Hot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Great coffee, outdoor area, and the food was lighting quick. Very good place for breakfast. I recommend the Croissant and Nutella.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Top Contributor
295 reviews 295 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 111 cities Reviews in 111 cities
130 helpful votes 130 helpful votes
“Average food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

We had lunch there. The food was good, but noting to go back for. The location is great, next to the fountain and near Kings Cross station. The food and drinks were reasonably priced. It is a good place for a light snack.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fountain Cafe also viewed

Stanmore, Sydney
Petersham, Sydney
 
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fountain Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.