We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fat Noodle

Fat Noodle
Star City Casino Sydney, Sydney, New South Wales, Australia (City West)
Improve this listing
Ranked #618 of 5,322 Restaurants in Sydney
Cuisines: Vietnamese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: City West
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Decent”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Nothing special about the food with above average prices but it does have its charm. If you're in a people watching mood with a casual but busy ambience, Fat Noodle on the casino floor is well placed. Some of the staff (well, one that I know) go out of their way to make it a pleasant experience. A great place to meet and eat at the Star if noise isn't an issue.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    30
    4
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Fast, fun and fab”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012 via mobile

Enjoyed our lunch here, lovely flavours, great service and we thought exceptional value. Better than I anticipated due to its location on the gaming area...we were luckily totally distracted by our food which was delicious.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Pretty decent in all”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

Tasty morsels of Asian cuisine done quite well, even though the ambience of a casino gaming room full of drunken morons nearby probably detracted from the experience slightly. The soft shell crab was standout I found. The Pho was of decent flavour and quite a large serving. There are a number of reviews that are quite bad for this place but on the 2 occasions I were there, I found it pretty good myself.

The thing that I found really cheapened it was the fact that it was open to the gaming room, and quite noisy. A wall or some sort of partition would see that fixed easily.

The long bench seating gives the place a quick in and out feel also but I believe the food speaks for itself and whilst a little higher priced than the usual late night eats, it stood far beyond in terms of its quality too.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mermaid Waters, Australia
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Yum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

Great food - can watch the chefs at work so you know the kitchens clean. Quick and friendly service from all the staff. I thought the serving size was just right, value for money.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Nice Noodles”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2012

Short, inexpensive menu choice, but I liked the stir fry.

Authentic as you can get, all the chefs were men who worked feverishly to get the food out quick - eat up so the next lot can get in.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fat Noodle also viewed

Sydney, New South Wales
 
Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to Fat Noodle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fat Noodle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.