We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Over Priced” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Bavarian Bier Cafe Entertainment Quarter

Bavarian Bier Cafe Entertainment Quarter
212 Bent Street | Moore Park, Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3,573 of 5,318 Restaurants in Sydney
Cuisines: German, Swiss, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Description: This is the Entertainment Quarter outlet of the Bavarian Bier Cafe chain in Sydney. TA already lists the York Street outlet. Each outlet is different and so the EQ outlet should have it's own entry. There are some reviews of the EQ outlet posted under the York Street outlet because the EQ outlet didn't have its own stand alone entry.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
121 helpful votes 121 helpful votes
“Over Priced”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

Generally speaking, this entire chain is overpriced for what they offer.

I ordered the $38 steak. I was presented with a pub style meal. A poorly cooked piece of meat slapped on top of a garnish of veges (not what the menu stated), forget not, the drowning of oil over the top. The chips were ok, however in a feabile attempt to turn the overpriced pub steak into a 'gourmet' meal (justifying the menu price) you are served with only a handful.

The service seemed to be ok.

As I have previously visited this franchise I can also tell you the drinks are well and truly overpriced. Much better venues within the vicintiy.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    10
    7
    5
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Rude, really really rude”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

The entire dining experience was ruined by the rude obnoxious cow that claimed she was the manager.

The first incident occurred when one of our drinks didn't arrive, and I asked for her assistance (as she was behind the bar), only to be told I should find my waiter because it wasn't her problem (she was nasty about it too).

She was then rude to my friends when they were paying the bill, flat out refusing to charge the bill to two separate cards (it's not that hard, we were spending $400, but she was looking for an argument). Well done to her, not one person in our party of 10 will ever go back there.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lane Cove North, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great pork schintzel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

Loved the huge pork schnitzel, and the beers, oh the beers
A must for Bavarian food and beers, close to Chatswood Station has great outdoor areas and large indoor dining area.
A bit expesnive when you have a few large beers, but very nice

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Great Pre Game Lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

Took the kids here for lunch before a Wallabies match. Extremely busy, but staff handled the kaos very well. Food is on par with other bavarians around, But was really impressed with the speed of the kitchen with a full house. Good Job!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Bavarian's would throw this food in the Chef's face!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

The beers are nice, there thats it for the good review. The Schnitzel was burned and the sausages taste like their from the budget isles at Coles. Getting seated is a drama, getting your bill is a drama, getting decent food is impossible. Look I've eaten here a few times unfortunately and the song remains the same its just not a good place to eat. Have a beer and then leave unless your blind drunk already then the food might taste equal to a kebab cart. This place has never delivered and if it wasn't near Hoyts it would have gone out of business by now. Beer great food BAD there you have been warned. OH i forgot 2 beers and 2 main courses = $100 just terrible value :(

  • Visited June 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bavarian Bier Cafe Entertainment Quarter also viewed

Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to Bavarian Bier Cafe Entertainment Quarter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bavarian Bier Cafe Entertainment Quarter, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.