We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Its not that bad!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Parkview Hotel Sydney

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Sydney
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Parkview Hotel Sydney
Save
You added Parkview Hotel Sydney to your Saves list
253 Broadway | PO Box 530, Sydney, New South Wales 2007, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #174 of 184 Hotels in Sydney
Goulburn, NSW
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Its not that bad!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

We booked a family room last minute at a cheap price, We arrived and reception was clean and friendly, The hotel is locked to key holders only after 10pm, so fairly safe. The room was spotless except for some scuffs on the walls. The bathroom was clean, Although the shower head was horrible. Also the tap in the bathroom was leaking and couldn't be stopped. There was two air-conditioning units that couldn't be adjusted but they were effective. There was also two TV's but the free-view channels were very limited. There was no noise or disturbances through the night at all and the beds were comfortable. I think most of the other reviews are for Single or double rooms , But the Family room is fine. At the end of the day you get what you pay for. (And it was a bit more comfortable than A pile of dog turds!)

Room Tip: Choose the Family room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    4
    9
    9
    53
See reviews for
12
17
13
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Ettalong Beach, Australia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

the room was clean that was the good point ,bathroom sink had a leaking tap and a bobby pin in the toilet.had to ask for more pillows as the ones on the bed were flat.bed was as hard as a board.shower was nice and hot.staff were disinterested in helping you in any way once you handed over your money to them.be a good place for homeless people for a clean bed and hot shower.very disappointed .avoid at all costs

Room Tip: go else where
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

As i sit here, in my windowless room, 3 channels working on the tv and no spoon to stir my tea i find it hard to find anything right about this hotel. The only good thing is the room is clean and there was no mould in the bathroom. This is the cheapest of cheap, most backpackers would fair better.

The room is sparse with a single blanket on the top of the bed that's covered in lint so probably never washed, the paint job is suspect was done by a friend of a friend, with paint smears all over the doors, light fittings and walls next to the skirting. The hotel (if you could qualify it at meeting that) has no lift, so don't consider this if you have a mobility impairment.

The shower grout looks like it has been colored in with a marker pen.

Tea, coffee, soap and shampoo provided, but no spoon to stir your coffee and the reception wile 24/7 didn't have any spare or were willing to help.

There is aircon and a fan in this room but the aircon is centrally supplied so you have no control over air flow or temperature. With no windows in the room its just a bit weird. I'd book earlier and try and find somewhere else.

Room Tip: If you must stay here,stay on the ground floor so you don't have to walk up the stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackheath, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Stayed with my mum, whilst passing through Sydney.
It's cheap, but you can do sooo much better than this dive.
difficult to find, V. dodgy car park (which the counter guy said was secure because it had a camera on it).
bad smell in foyer, despite the half a dozen incence candles staegically placed around the area.
dragged our own luggage up 3 flights of stairs, to the mankiest cell there ever was, no window no air con, no extractor fan.
The pits.
no hand towel, no bathmat.
no phone in the room.
kettle had to be placed on the floor as you cant plug it into the socket from it's position on the shelf.
much much worse after sunset, people walking up and down all night, occasionally stopping outside the door, creaking floorboards, a man groaning down the corridor all night. we had checked in for two nights, but couldn't physically stay another night, genine releifwhen the sun came up and nothing happened, but I wouldn't push it for another night.
DO NOT stay here. I can't belive it is actually allowed to continue operation actually...

Room Tip: Find another hotel,or buy a tent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

I payed $85 to stay here a night and with only a 15 minute walk to central station it was much better then paying 3 times that for somewhere else.
the customer service was fine, The room was spotless, The bathroom was clean. The linen seemed new.
I will definitely stay here again and openly suggest it to people!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2012

The worst customer service experience ever seen. the worst experience staying in the hotels...if you can call this place a hotel.....

Front desk service doesnt exist!

Bed Bugs......im speechless....

Disgusting and disgraceful

Room Tip: do not try to choose any from this "hotel"
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katoomba, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2012

Value for sleep. Not as bad as other people said. We stayed in the hotel for 2 nights last month. It is true that not feeling very well when we stepped in the hotel as it is old facility. But the room is much better than what we thought. The towel and bed sheet are new and the ensuite bathroom is cleaned. Most important is we had the place to park our car overnight at a cheap rate. A good place for sleep only at a budget price.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Parkview Hotel Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parkview Hotel Sydney

Address: 253 Broadway | PO Box 530, Sydney, New South Wales 2007, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #174 of 184 Hotels in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 46

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Parkview Hotel Sydney, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.