We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Get what you pay for” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Econo Lodge Sydney South

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Econo Lodge Sydney South to your Saves list
Econo Lodge Sydney South
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   40-44 Wentworth Avenue, Sydney, New South Wales 2010, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #131 of 184 Hotels in Sydney
Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Get what you pay for”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2011

Two nights in an executive room midweek. Found the room very small, newly renovated and bed comfortable. Tiny but usable bathroom. Surprised at how quiet it was, but then the function room one floor down was not being used either night. Disappointing was slightly musty smell when I arrived, old and dirty curtains in bathroom, and worn towel with a hole in it. Overall as about the cheapest option I could find for my trip in Sydney those two days not much to complain about.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    20
    9
    9
    17
See reviews for
5
17
12
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Frankfurt, Germany
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2011

Our room was clean, very spacious, bed was comfortable and had a huge window overlooking the street. I see other people are complaining about noise, live music, etc, but we did not have any of those problems. I guess we were lucky enough to book when there were no events/bands playing. The floors outside were a little creaky when neighbors would walk by, but nothing out of the ordinary. The bar downstairs and restaurant were both good. They even let you take your food to your room to eat, and you can just leave the plates for housekeeping. I really enjoyed this hotel. We moved from a "business" hotel a few days prior that was not half the hotel this one was. Oh, and the receptionist was very nice. I asked for a restaurant recommendation and she printed out some with reviews and brought it to our room for us. I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2011 via mobile

Paid $160 for a double executive room... Expecting a room much like the picture. Got a dingy, musky smelling room with stains on the curtains, a shower not worthy of using because you'd come out dirtier than before.. A lovely view outside the window of rusty tin, a bunch of air conditioners and a dirty alley way full of bins. Exposed wood on the door near the lock, looks like it's been kicked in. Bubbling paint on the desk and exposed wires everywhere. Expected MUCH better.. Nobody should ever stay here... Needs to be checked out for health and safety!!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2011

This is a wonderful place to stay for the price. It's great value for money where you get a modern clean room in the heart of the city. The staff are very friendly and helpful. For the location there is surprisingly no noise. Everything is clean and fresh and the little extras including the tea, coffee, shampoo soap etc are of quality standard. The italian restaurant is excellent as well but there are plenty of restaurants closeby if you want to venture out. I have stayed here many times and I always recommend it to my friends and work colleauges.

Room Tip: i always choose the smaller room as I travel alone for work but it is more than adequate
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2011

Hard a hard time locating the hotel. very poor signage. the hotel is on the upper floors, the elevator was not working when we left, so had to carry the bags down. bed had no frame so box spring was on floor.
location is great easy access to harbour. part of the Choice Hotels line.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2011

Look its not brilliant but you can get a room for $90.
For this kind of price this is really quite lovely.
Yes it is in the mix with a bar, and the access to rooms isnt fantastic for familys.
But for two people for one night, it beats the Formula 1 hotel!


Look you get what you pay for. And for under $100 its SuperB.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Jordan, Utah
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2011

What they don't tell you at this Econo Lodge is that it is one floor above a bar with a live band that plays until at least midnight every night. The band was right below our hotel room. The sound and vibrations were so loud, we could not sleep even with ear plugs. When we complained to management, they told us that the band was supposed to stop at 8:00 p.m. The band never did stop until at least midnight. There is no hotel management onsite in the evening or overnight, so they could not do anything about the band during sleeping hours. If you like loud music in your room that you cannot control until after midnight each night, you may like this!

Room Tip: Don't stay here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Econo Lodge Sydney South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Sydney South

Address: 40-44 Wentworth Avenue, Sydney, New South Wales 2010, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Spa Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge Sydney South 2*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Econo Lodge Sydney South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Sydney South Hotel Sydney

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Econo Lodge Sydney South, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.