We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's interesting, very engaging and it's free!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of White Rabbit Gallery

White Rabbit Gallery
30 Balfour Street | Chippendale, Sydney, New South Wales NSW 2008, Australia (Inner West)
61 02 8399 2867
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 84 Shopping in Sydney
Type: Art Galleries, Shopping
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Showcasing modern Chinese art from the current century, the White Rabbit Gallery offers four floors of diverse works and free film screenings, as well as a relaxing tea house on the ground floor. The gallery is open Thursdays through Sundays from 10 a.m. to 6 p.m.
Useful Information: Lockers / storage, Stroller parking
Sydney, Aust
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
60 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“It's interesting, very engaging and it's free!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

One of the best galleries in Sydney, tucked away in the back streets of Chippendale, it has work that it more often than not quite wonderful and exciting. The staff are great, usually art students, so you can talk to them about the work.

Make sure you catch the elevator all the way up to the third floor first - it's the only way to reach that floor. The first time we went there, we took the stairs and didn't even know there was an upper floor.

Exhibitions change every six months, so we go twice a year.

They also have a wonderful Chinese Tea House attached to the gallery where you can buy dumplings as well as tea. It's a really wonderful Sunday afternoon thing to do. There's also a new bakery/cafe at the end of the street called Brickfields.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    8
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Love this place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

I've seen each exhibition for the last few years and am always stimulated and impressed. The selected artworks vary widely, are always thought provoking (particularly this present rather dystopian exhibition) and exciting. There is a pleasant little cafe at which to drink lovely teas and eat dumplings. White Rabbit Gallery is an oasis. I suggest subscribing to their email newsletter to keep up with news and events.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Havelock North, New Zealand
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Contemporary Chinese art”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

A great gallery space with contemporary Chinese art, mostly with a critical political twist. Well displayed. We really enjoyed it. Friendly staff. The bonus is a smart restaurant/tea shop with a good selection of Chinese teas. The food selection is very limited though, which would not have mattered much except they had run out of our preference even though it was not busy.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“off beat but a must if you are into Chinese contemporary art, or art at all”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

One of Sydney's best kept secretes,well its not a secrete but it is definitely not on most people's radar when they are visiting Sydney. When I was there we had an organized tour and it was definitely worth it. The volunteer curator definitely knew her stuff, she's met lots of the artists personally and told us even about the installation process and some of the political struggles behind the arts. I almost felt like I was part of the gallery family. The gallery itself is not imposing unlike lots of other contemporary chinese galleries in China. The ambiance gives a feeling that it's quite warm and embracing even though it is mostly white. When you are there you feel like you belong. Don't forget to check out the teahouse there, they make yummy dumplings, though it is not the best, the skin is too thick verses the filling but you can tell it is homemade.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“uplifting space with accessible, relevant contemporary art and approachable, well informed staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

enormously generous owners have given a fantastic gift of chinese contemporary art to the people of sydney, thankyou. Open, aproachable guides willing to have a well informed chat about the show, overall lack of pretension and preciousness was a breath of fresh air. We had a very enjoyable visit, only sorry I haven't been before, will definitely be back.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed White Rabbit Gallery also viewed

 
Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to White Rabbit Gallery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage White Rabbit Gallery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.