We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“LOVED EVERY BIT OF IT” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sake Restaurant & Bar

Sake Restaurant & Bar
12 Argyle Street | The Rocks, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
+61 2 9259 5656
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #97 of 5,110 Restaurants in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $16 - $32
Cuisines: Japanese, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Set within an impressive designer space in the historic Argyle Precinct at The Rocks, Saké Restaurant & Bar serves up contemporary Japanese fare created by sushi master Shaun Presland, who draws on authentic Japanese training to present an outstanding mix of new-style sushi and classic dishes.Shaun’s menu changes with the seasons and is perfectly matched to a premium range of imported sakes, allowing guests to gain greater insight into the age-old Japanese tradition of delicately balancing flavours. Awarded with a coveted Sydney Morning Herald Good Food Guide Chef’s Hat each year since opening, Saké is sure to exceed your expectations. Call in for cocktails, pull up a seat at the sushi bar or settle in with friends for the evening and savour the experience!
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“LOVED EVERY BIT OF IT”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

What a great restaurant and such a cozy atmosphere. Was well looked after by not only one waiter but 2 (Peter and a gentlemen with a cool accent Sha). Was very pleased at how quickly all the food came out and how attentive the waiters were to me. I was sat on the chefs counter which was a fun as you were able to interact with the chefs will deffinetly go back. When tasting the food the things that I thought I would enjoy most I enjoyed the least and vise versa which made me appreciate the textures and flavour balance of each element on the dish. Will be telling friends, family, colleagues and strangers to visit this restaurant and will go again soon!!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

565 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    311
    161
    53
    28
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Overpriced, lackluster menu”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

We went here on the recommendation of our tour guide who took us around the Rocks earlier that day. We LOVE sushi and the place looked pretty promising when we walked in. The atmosphere and decor is pretty cool. But we found the menu to be pretty lackluster and struggled to find much of anything interesting or unique. The couple items we did order that we'd never seen anywhere before were disappointing. Basic sushi was pretty good, but not special by any means. Prices were incredibly steep, even by Australia standards. Don't think we would bother going back.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Dry start but worth the wait”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

Booked Sake for a Sunday night and asked for a booth if possible (only two of us) they said they try and accommodate us. To my surprise we were seated at the booth on a busy night. Fantastic. However our drink orders were taken before being seated, may have been a communication breakdown but we waited a good 15mins before receiving our order. Once our thirsts were quenched Shar (?) our waiter introduced himself and made some superb suggestions and the service was second to none. We went against the grain and ordered the sushi first (amazingly fresh) and went from there. Tempura Lobster very simple yet delicious. The Wagyu beef was like butter...sensational. Food was served quick and hot. The sake cocktails very refreshing. A superb dining experience.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Great food, service and atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Had a great night out at Sake. I have found a new favorite restaurant. The food was amazing, excellent service and great atmosphere. Even to the extent of having an ice sculpture being done during dinner. The only comment being on a Friday night, with the restaurant full, it was quite loud so wouldn't be appropriate for an intimate dinner for 2! Great people watching though.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“Amazing flavours.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012 via mobile

Amazing food and amazing service. Not a place to eat everyday but great for a special occasion loved the popcorn shrimp and wagyu beef. The pork belly was incredible. Shame we live in Melbourne would definitely go back.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sake Restaurant & Bar also viewed

Sydney, New South Wales
 
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to Sake Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sake Restaurant & Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.