We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of AEA Bridgeport

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sydney
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
AEA Bridgeport
Save
You added AEA Bridgeport to your Saves list
38 Bridge Street, Sydney, New South Wales, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #48 of 134 Specialty Lodging in Sydney
Christchurch, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Perfect Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

I have just returned home from a 5 night stay in a two bedroom apartment at the AEA Bridgport. Location was perfect for what we wanted to do. Coffee shop just around the corner - good coffee and lovely breakfast. Our unit had everything we needed. Washing machine and dryer in one - quite small machine so took a while to do a load. Lovely decor and kitchen had plenty of plates, glasses etc. We would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Room tip - we had Room 910
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    30
    13
    7
    9
See reviews for
12
24
4
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

I stayed here for three nights, seeing family and friends after work. Not quite what I expected. I saw thr pro photos and it was not at all what my room looked like. The carpet needs to be changed, it was just very gross. The bed had two smaller matteres pushed togeather. I was on the 13th floor and ppl in the office right accross the road could see right in so had the curtain drawn the whole time. Not much around that is open once all the offices where closed and no food close by. Not sure if I would stay here again, might be for some people you do get what you pay for... But I like to stay where I know its clean. The gym is a few machines pushed into a very small room... Still didn't see a pool and couldn't ask as no one was really around to ask.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

We decided to take two one bedroom units here since the two bedroom units were all full. It was really a great place to stay for a family, with the washing and dryer facility and the small kitchen in the unit. The units were rather small, but sufficient since we were only using it to sleep. The fridge and stove were in good condition, plates, glasses and other dining ware were complete. Only problem was there was no convenience store nearby except for the tiny one next door with limited choice of milk and bread. The lobby clerk/manager was excellent and friendly. Just make sure you come during office hours or else you need to call him and wait for him since he's not living in the complex.

With Clarke Quay just around the corner, the Rock and Sydney Opera House a short stroll away, and some great selection of medium priced restaurants (the Chinese restaurant and Japanese restaurant to the right of the apartment were really great, not too pricey but the taste was excellent), I will definitely use this apartment again for my next visit to Sydney

By the way, this is not a serviced apartment, so don't expect turn down service or daily cleaning etc. Everything is do it yourself, just like home. This is an apartment, not a hotel, so furniture etc were a bit worn.

Room Tip: The beds are queen sized, but the sofa can be used as an additional bed. Minimal number of pillow...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mackay, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

We read reviews before we went and thought Oh No. We were very pleasantly surprised and absolutely delighted by our 2 bedroom apartment.
It was everything we wanted, close to Circular Quay and several good facilities. The coffee shop on corner, Bello Coffee served an amazing breakfast. There was a convenience store right beside the door.
Value for money is what we got and would go back to our 9th floor apartment any time.

Room Tip: Our room was 910.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Stayed a week in the apartments. I suspect they are individually owned so quality could vary room to room. Location is great and staff are very friendly and attentive. The rooms furniture was in terrible condition, the corners of the tables and cabinets had tape over them, chipped etc. The bed was very old and uncomfortable. The room in general was very dirty, carpets were disgusting, bedspread had to be washed along with towels, all benches needed to wiped down. Water pressure was non existent, ended up showering in the gym!
For the cost given the location, I got probably got value for money.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martinborough, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

Our apartment looked nothing like the flash photos on their website, rather tired decor, only 1 side table, old and tired bathroom & kitchen fittings. I specifically requested a quiet room, but our apartment faced Bridge St and the city never sleeps. I was still awake at 3am most nights ! The receptionist seemed to work only part-time, so it was hard to get any assistance. The only real benefit was the location. Stay there if you want but bring earplugs, and don't expect it to match the smart photos !

Room Tip: Bring earplugs and check your room before you move in !
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for three nights and had a wonderful stay! It is only one block from circular quay and so central to everything. The room was modern and very comfortable. We had no issues with noise at all. Had a beautiful view over a park and could see part of the harbour.

The price was quite reasonable and being able to cook meals saved us some money as well. The kitchenette was well appointed with stove, oven, dishwasher, fridge, microwave etc. There is also a washer and dryer in the bathroom, which we didn't expect to use, but after a trip to bondi (333 bus to bondi leaves right around the corner from the apartments) it was handy to wash our bathers.

There are lots of food places nearby (great noodle place below the apartments) and we went grocery shopping at the Coles near Wynyard station.

The only negatives where the reception staff - they were lovely but never at the desk - and we asked for a second key twice which never eventuated.

Also they ask that you clean the room before you leave - nothing to onerous - just that you dispose of all rubbish down the shoot, clean all kitchen utensils and put away and return any furniture you moved to its correct place.

Overall we were really happy and would consider staying here next time we go to Sydney for sure!!!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to AEA Bridgeport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AEA Bridgeport

Address: 38 Bridge Street, Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 134 Specialty Lodging in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 40
Also Known As:
Aea Bridgeport Hotel Sydney

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage AEA Bridgeport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.