We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Americans- DO NOT listen when a travel agent says you can not stay in Sydney affordably:” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Y Hotel Hyde Park

Save Saved
You added Y Hotel Hyde Park to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Y Hotel Hyde Park
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   5-11 Wentworth Ave, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #103 of 182 hotels in Sydney
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Americans- DO NOT listen when a travel agent says you can not stay in Sydney affordably:”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

First of all this hotel has an amazing location. You can take the 555 FREE* inner city bus all over to the quay etcetera just check the hours. Second of all you can have a great room with courtyard or city views anywhere from 100-150$ US based on my experience. This hotel is located near a bottle shop with a fabulous selection of local wine as well as great places to eat and drink. The other reviews based on this hotel being a "hostel" are grossly exaggerated. They offer a range (on purpose) of rooms and stays to accommodate all typed of travelers. This is a given. But as far as location, value, and service?!? This can not be beat in one of the priciest cities to visit. It's a bargain and the help was amazing. Monish and Christophe are both knowledgeable but also affable. Yet will not trick you into any tourist type activities that are just commission. If you ask them anything they will answer. The hotel was wonderful. We came and left Sydney, & returned to the Y during our stay and found it to be perfect. It's in close proximity to the subway which is two blocks away- don't waste time and money on an airport shuttle. The Aussie folks are so helpful just book in, land, ask for the rail, then ask to be dropped at museum station- them will explain when and where (15 minutes or so after a journey) and when you ascend into the beautiful bustling streets of Sydney if you book the Y it's two - yes two short blocks. The commute from the airport should cost 33$ Australian on the subway. The PEOPLE made our visit perfect. I can not speak enough to it. Just open your heart and enjoy this place if you are lucky enough to go here. Also visit the "Canopy" two blocks from the Y Sydney can be spendy but Thursday at "canopy" one Aussie dollar muffins- fresh. Had a couple great breaky and lunch here- try the afongatto - or mocha. Mmmmmm. To all the special staff at the Y and the surrounding area who have probably already just forgotten about these American ladies because this is just the OZ way of being fabulous --- we will never forget you. Thank you. Thank you. Thank you.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

495 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    55
    237
    128
    49
    26
See reviews for
57
134
115
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

This Hotel was the venue of a 4 day course I attended. The facilities for that were very good! A flexible large room and an adjoining smaller room for breakouts.
But the rooms are rather small though very clean and tidy. I am not sure if what they charge is a fair rate or not, seemed a little dear compared to NZ rates for equivalent rooms.
Very close to everything so long as you don't mind a little walk you can see most all of Sydney by walking and you have close access to the train station and maybe 25 minutes walk to the harbour from memory (don't quote me on that). Good safe area from all accounts and the MacQuarie pub is across the road for a quiet drink at night.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

For a great place to just sleep while in Sydney this Hotel could not be surpassed for value and convenience. One hour after arriving at Sydney airport [with carry on only] I was sitting on the Manly Ferry dreaming away
The airport train was very conveniently locate and ten minutes later I left at THE MUSEUM STATION , turn left and walk 500 meters and there is the hotel. AT 9.00AM my room was read , I checked in and was on my way 10 minutes later. What more could you ask for . But the best thing was I was able to pay for a 'SINGLE ROOM'' .
The room was clean and had every item required even an iron and board. Request an inside room and you can have the pleasure of an secure open window for a quiet nights sleep.
Breakfast was adequate and for $6 a large hot meal is available.
Hyde Park is across the road and the bus to Bondi Beachstops out front.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greasby , United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

Location convenient for Sydney attractions, tube station along the road plenty of buses too.
That ends the positive stuff. Small room, no phone, nowhere to store clothes, and you share the bathing faculties with an entire floor. When I asked for a change cos pretty boys who take ages in the shower (there's just one)and floating turds don't do a lot for me I was told that it was my fault because I was late back to the hotel.

Oh and yes there was a false fire alarm at 1am in the morning, So in addition to seeing Sydney's sights I saw those fine chaps from Sydney's fire dept. too

Room Tip: Ask for a bathroom!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandurah, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Pros: Good service, good breakfast, clean rooms. Cons: Shared bathrooms, ensure you wear thongs in the shower, very small room.
If I were to stay in the future I would enjoy the privacy of my own bathroom. Overall cost was pricey but you're paying for the convenient location.
I'll try elsewhere next time.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

my girlfriends and i spent 5 days at your hotel, we were amazed at the locations so easy to everything in Sydney. Room was lovely and clean with our beds, clean towels each day. Coffee and tea facilities, with plenty of storage room. Our breakfast was great, we all enjoyed with plenty to choose from.. Lunch was just beautiful, i will tell all my friends if going to Sydney where you are. Shower was shared, with no waiting and plenty of toilets all clean a great place to meet up with other travellers.
Staff were very friendly and could not do enough for all the travellers.
Great place, will go back. Thanks for a great time, and very helpful in getting to places, and getting tours for us.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

My husband and i stayed here in Oct 2012, the location was good.

the room was very large with a tv and tea and coffee facilities and plenty of storage room. the shared bathroom facilities were clean and usually empty so you never had to queue for a shower.

Breakfast was excellent, wide variety and for a little more money you could upgrade to a full english.

Staff were friendly and accomodating

Room Tip: The central room in which we stayed had a balcony to other rooms, not great for security purposes
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Y Hotel Hyde Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Y Hotel Hyde Park

Address: 5-11 Wentworth Ave, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #103 of 182 hotels in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Y Hotel Hyde Park 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you're looking for hotel accommodation in the centre of Sydney which won't break the bank and leaves your conscience clear as well, then look no further than Y Hotel Hyde Park. Offering affordable 3.5* Rooms, Y Hotel Hyde Park is situated right in the heart of Sydney's action. Joining Oxford Street and Hyde Park, the hotel is walking distance from Sydney's major attractions including The Rocks, Opera House, Chinatown and Darling Harbour. Surrounded by shops, cafes, restaurants, bars, galleries and gardens, you'll never be short of something to do during your stay. Whether travelling alone, with a friend or family, we have a variety of rooms to choose from, all packed with essential comforts including toiletries, tea & coffee, TV, internet, iron and hairdryer. The cafe area with its welcoming atmosphere is open daily for breakfast, to meet up with friends or just to relax. With 24 hour reception and in-room safes, you are assured a stress free stay in one of the most exciting cities in the world. Check in time is after 2pm, Check out is before 11am. Day Luggage storage is available outside of these hours for hotel guests (No Long Term Luggage facilities). Y Hotel Hyde Park supports the YWCANSW and the NSW Community. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, Otel, HostelBookers, getaroom.com, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Y Hotel Hyde Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Y Hotel Hyde Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.