We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Satang Thai Takeway

Satang Thai Takeway
20 Quay St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
+61 2 9280 0956
Improve this listing
Ranked #98 of 5,110 Restaurants in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Thai
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations, Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations, Takeout
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014 via mobile

Got a chicken pad thai and chicken fried rice taken away for $8.50. The servings were wayyy too big. I can see how this is so good value for money. The pad thai was delicious but the fried rice was peppery or something but im sure others will disagree. However, both dishes were oiler than I'm use to for thai food but would still definitely come here whenever I'm in the city.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    18
    5
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Amazing! ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

Best Thai I've had in a long while. Had pad Thai & red curry. I'm a vegetarian & there were plenty of options!
The red curry was so creamy & the pad Thai had so much flavour, delicious!
:)

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful food and atmosphere!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

One of the best Thai dinners I have ever had! Yummy. I would definitely recommend to anyone who is in the area. Great location, just down the road from Central!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra ACT
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
124 helpful votes 124 helpful votes
“Simply great thai food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

I think this food is as good as you will get in Bangkok.

The place was nearly full by 6pm and we ordered stir fried pork slices with galangal ,red onion,lime leaves, chilli slices,lemongrass-it had a heat value of 6.5 -just right for me- beaut flavours.At less than $16 it was a good size dish.My wife ordered deep fried chicken with water chestnuts,sliced capsicum,kafir lime leaves etc.Once again a big serve.

Both dishes worthy of an 8/10

Place is not licensed and no cards.Cash only.Helps with the tax returns I guess

Extensive menu and quick and friendly service -it's great for a casual night out.
summary- Ambience 7/10 cleanliness 8.5/10 value 8.5/10 food 8/10

Highly recommended.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good & affordable Thai food at Sydney'”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

I visited this restaurant with my family last week. The food came in big portions and were tasty! The price is affordable too. The prawn cake, pad Thai and fried rice are nice! The downside is that the food are generally abit salty. But I guess it shld be ok if u inform the waitress that u prefer less salt to be used. The service is good too. Nice ambience at the restaurant too and it's easy to locate. Very near Chinatown.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Satang Thai Takeway also viewed

Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 
Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to Satang Thai Takeway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Satang Thai Takeway, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.