We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sepia

Sepia
201 Sussex Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
02 9283 1990
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #330 of 5,099 Restaurants in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Australian
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Amazing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

Went there for my anniversary dinner and had an amazing experience. The food was delicious and the wait staff friendly and informative.

Have already recommended this restaurant to others.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    134
    63
    41
    13
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
2,805 reviews 2,805 reviews
1,609 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 363 cities Reviews in 363 cities
1,339 helpful votes 1,339 helpful votes
“Excellent food but still just misses”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Definitely 5 stars for food, clearly one of the best in Sydney , or Australia, but there is more than food for a great night out. The food had everything with texture, flavours, subtlety, finesse but it still wasn't a relaxing night. The room itself still looks more like a business venue with its dark overtones and being on the ground floor in a major office precinct, it is difficult to escape the business overtones. Even though we didn't have to do the extended degustation, even the 4 course a-la-carte was more than we needed. Finished with the autumn special dessert predominantly of chocolate and this almost ruined an otherwise good night. This is meant to be the house signature dish but I'm like many others who don't need a long degustation of such courses.
An incredible wine list but if you don't spend a lot of money, the basis wines at reasonable prices can be ordinary quality.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Not ideal for savoury palate”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014 via mobile

Whilst maintaining one of the best wine lists in Sydney, the food is very overrated and not designed for a savoury palate. Noisy and unromantic, best suited for a group of four looking for a night full of loud conversation. The service is very good however lacks intimacy. Great option for a wine prior to evening entertainment.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“A divine experience! ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

Sepia is a class act. We opted for the degustation with matching wine. The menu was terrific, the wine even better! Our favourite dish was a surprise dish called "The Pearl." Highly recommend if you can get your hands on one. The Wagyu beef dish was superb, the sashimi starter delightful, the tuna and squid dishes were good and the bone marrow a surprising highlight. We came to celebrate our businesses 10th birthday. A once in a decade dinner. Extravagant and brilliant!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Friday night degustation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

This was my second meal at Sepia and we opted for the "blind" degustation on a Friday night. The service was excellent (better than our first visit), friendly and not at all stuffy. As a couple of other reviewers have mentioned the staff could have taken a little more time to talk through the dishes rather than rattling them off which was sometimes hard to hear.

The food - exceptional. The two meals I have eaten here have been the best meals I have had in Australia (and I have eaten at Quay, Rockpool, Est, amongst others). The mustard overpowered the beef but otherwise this was a faultless menu of imagination, various flavours and textures. As on my previous visit, the forest dessert was again the standout.

Not cheap, but cheaper than a couple of other restaurants of this calibre. There is no view and the restaurant interior is far less glamorous than the likes of Rockpool Bar & Grill but the food is, in my opinion, unbeatable.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sepia also viewed

Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 
Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to Sepia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sepia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.