We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice afternoon on the water” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sydney Harbour Tall Ships

Sydney Harbour Tall Ships
Kiosk 3, wharf 5, Circular Quay, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
+61 2 8243 7961
Website
Improve this listing
Book Now

Ranked #66 of 300 activities in Sydney
Type: Tours
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: We are passionate people delivering personal and engaging, inspiring and world class experiences. We treat and respect our customers as if they were family. Our aim is to consistently exceed each customer's expectations as we share the joy of these incredible experiences that have the rare ability to inspire and enrich people's lives. The very nature of these ships , inspire people to DO more, BE more than they ever thought possible. DREAMS can COME TRUE !
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A nice afternoon on the water”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

I booked a lunch cruise while we had relatives visit from U.K. Not really knowing what to expect we all enjoyed a realxing afternoon on Sydney Harbour. Everything is very basic.You are pretty much on a wood decking with a few bench seats and mostly standing room. Once you set off after the usual safety guidelines speach it is a lovely trip around the harbour while a solo guitartist plays soft music. We had two kids (9yr & 6yr) with us and everyone is free to walk around the deck and have a sticky beak.The food comes out fairly quickly which is in small chinese style containers which is a very handy way to eat if you come across any rolling waves. Food is nice and minimal but you can have as many containers as you like. We also had unlimited drinks included but I did not like the very sweet tasting white wine or champagne so stuck with bottled beer. Unfortunately the ladies toilet was blocked and the mens toilet on the top deck is standing room only and is not recommended for use by women (although I did try). Both my husband and I were glad we did not pay full price but did enjoy the realxing few hours and great views.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

497 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    325
    97
    30
    20
    25
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“Best value Sydney has to offer”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

We were pleasantly surprised with the quality and service provided on our Southern Swan Cruise this afternoon. Skipper James Parberry was the hostest with the mostest whilst being a wealth of knowledge, friendly and professional throughout the cruise. The atmosphere was beautifully relaxed with the option of climbing the mast (which we had of done prior to having a drink). Overall there is seriously no better way to spend your afternoon in Sydney on the harbour - just exceptional! Definitely value for money - would highly recommend if in Sydney.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Only one thing spoiled it.......... the food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

So, after doing another tour on the water in the morning, we decided that a sunset dinner cruise would be a delight on a beautiful spring day. The views were gorgeous, the boat was nice. Unlike some of the other reviews, our trip wasn't crowded, although there weren't enough seats, but that was ok.

The dinner, for $89 was not worth it. I admit to getting some McDonald's nuggets on the way home because I was starving!! It was not a buffet, buffet suggests a choice. You were handed boxes that you either took or didn't. You were told the main ingredient, and that was it. God help you if you had any dislikes. The 'marinated chicken' consisted of a box of mesculin lettuce (which makes my husband ill), with some onion, a few slivers of chicken (total less than 20 gms I would estimate) and enough sauce to we the top. The seafood was a box of raw lettuce and sprouts with two prawns and a baby octopus. Pasta salad was cold Penne with some olives and oil and an unidentified orange vegetable. Kangaroo - 3 pieces of roo, 2 of potato and the rest eggplant, Crocodile - a box of 'saffron' rice (too dark to tell the colour, certainly couldn't taste it) and a few pieces of croc on top. Dessert was cream puffs, no plates, just grab your own, and they ran out quickly.

Positives -
1. Boat is gorgeous.
2. Crew were incredibly friendly and wanted people to get involved.
3. Views were fantastic, if you are a keen photographer, a great way to photograph boats and the harbour.
4. On board musician was great! Thanks Luke, you kept it entertaining for us.
5. Captain of ship didn't interact with us at all, and seemed to want us off the ship pretty quickly.

Negatives -
1. The food is not for families. Saw several very hungry children, and even snuck one little girl a couple of biscuits from my bag because she was starving.
2. For a trip that suggests the food is the highlight, it was DEFINITELY the lowlight. I would prefer to pay less and have party pies than have a 'gourmet' meal that was ultimately unsatisfying.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Twilight Sail”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

As my husband's parents were visiting from Melbourne, we thought we'd treat them to a beautiful twilight cruise on the harbour. We could not have hoped for better weather. Sydney at sunset is the most spectacular time to sail. Beautiful setting, sunset and great vessel to sail on our glorious harbour. Both the crew and entertainment were faultless. Also enjoyed wonderful meals presented in very practical cardboard boxes. Thank you to all on the Tall Ship, my in-laws had a memorable visit on our glorious harbour !

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
1 review
“Birthday Present”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

In February 2012 my daughter sent us two tickets for a Tall Ship Sydney Harbour Cruise with BBQ Lunch as my birthday present. Due to other commitments, we had to wait until late September before we could make our booking. Our cruise aboard the "Southern Swan" was a most enjoyable two hour event under Captain James Parbery with his efficient and courteous crew. The crew made us welcome on board at Cambells Cove and conducted a thorough safety briefing before departing up the harbour under motor to the mouth of the Lane Cove River. At this point we then commenced to sail down the harbour, beneath the Harbour Bridge, around Fort Denison and returning to Campbells Cove. During the cruise the crew distributed our lunch in a succesion of individual servings of delicious meats and fish with salads. There was music playing on the fore deck although we preferred to stay aft on the poop deck and listen to the interesting, historical tales of Sydney related by our skipper. There is a lot of history about the early days of Sydney and being able to see these places fom the maritime veiwpoint adds to the learning experience. We were also delighted to see two other tall ships on the harbour that afternoon when the "James Craig" motored from Darling Harbour to Circular Quay for an "open afternoon" and the "New Endeavour", also from Darling Harbour, conducted a cruise similar to ours. This is an experience that all should take to gain a brief insight to the foundations and hardships that must have been endured by European settlers in this country.

I will supply some photographs separately when I have reduced their size to your specifications.

Best regards

Jim Hanigan

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sydney Harbour Tall Ships also viewed

 

Been to Sydney Harbour Tall Ships? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sydney Harbour Tall Ships, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Sydney Harbour Tall Ships to your Saves list