We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ibis King St Wharf” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ibis Sydney King Street Wharf

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Ibis Sydney King Street Wharf to your Saves list
Ibis Sydney King Street Wharf
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   22 Shelley Street | King Street Wharf, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #86 of 184 Hotels in Sydney
Write a Review

742 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    136
    335
    182
    60
    29
See reviews for
91
321
117
163
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
York
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

We stayed two nights , in two rooms . Both very small as per previous comments, but great position ( near darling harbour) , clean and cheap . Just needed somewhere to sleep so fine for what we needed. Desk staff really helpful and approachable , and even arranged a transfer for us from the airport prior to our arrival. With thanks for all your help ......

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven S, General Manager at Ibis Sydney King Street Wharf, responded to this review, April 27, 2014
Dear Stantonys,

Thanks for your post on Trip Advisor. I will certainly pass on your thanks to all of the team, I know they all appreciate kind feedback that makes their hard work worthwhile.
Thanks again.

Regards Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

The Ibis is more of a business hotel than a luxury hotel so don't expect luxury amenities. Rooms are clean and basic, but quite small. We booked this because we just wanted to stay one night in the city. The bathroom and shower area were exceptionally small and quite cramped. My husband's a big man and he barely had space to move about in the shower area to shampoo his hair. There's an ipod dock so you can play your own music, cable tv, hot and cold water, coffee and tea amenities, and the bed is quite comfy. It is conveniently located in King Street Wharf, where you have a lot of choices when it comes to dining, and you can take a nice, short walk to Darling Harbour. The best way to explore Sydney is by walking, so walking up Shelley Street behind Ibis takes you to the heart of the city. Breakfast was not included in the room rate so we had to pay extra for that. Breakfast was served buffet style with the usual bacon, eggs, bread, coffee, tea, etc. Staff at the front desk are friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven S, General Manager at Ibis Sydney King Street Wharf, responded to this review, April 27, 2014
Dear marliesrbosch,

Thankyou for your post on Trip Advisor. Whilst I agree that our rooms are not the largest in the city I do think they are one of the best located which you highlighted in your post. I was also pleased to read about the bed being comfy and the staff being helpful and friendly. They certainly are an awesome team and love providing great customer service.
Thanks again.
Regards Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

I travelled with family, 2 adults, 1 young child. I compared multiple hotels in the city centre on wotif, and the ibis won on cost, location and parking. parking is $45 per day, easy to navigate and use, as many entries and exits as you like and uses the KPMG building which is connected to the hotel. location is close to everything in the city cbd.

Many of the other hotels in the city the costs rose when including the young child and parking was complicated. check in here was quick and easy. the rooms were clean, the bathrooms nice and the beds comfortable. I rented the cheapest room we could get and all up for 3 people plus parking it was $184 per night which was excellent comparative to other hotels.

the central location is in the best position and a 2 min walk to the wharf has lots of restaurants to choose from. the train station is a short 10-15 min walk away.

the hotel has a new feel about it and the room is modern as is the bathroom. everything was clean and tidy.

the rooms are a little smaller than most hotels but didn't bother us.

I liked the front desk staff as they were helpful and friendly. I have stayed at a lot of hotels in Sydney cbd such as vibe and quest (which were good as well) however I will use this hotel from now on due to a good experience.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven S, General Manager at Ibis Sydney King Street Wharf, responded to this review, April 27, 2014
Dear adaptation30,

Thankyou for your post on Trip Advisor. I was so pleased to read that your stay with us ticked all of the boxes. Im also very glad to read that ou met our fantastic team end enjoyed their great service. I certainly hope to see you back again soon.

Regards Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sycokid
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

Stayed recently for 3 nights great location,staff excellent ,great value for money through Accor. However got to say i was greatly disappointed regarding noise level because even though we were on floor 7 (room 702) there was a major flyover outside which in effect meant we were only at level 2 and the constant traffic noise 24/7 was on the brink of unbearable ! Also wifi (free or not was non existant in this room also ! Please avoid room 702 for your own comfort.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven S, General Manager at Ibis Sydney King Street Wharf, responded to this review, April 27, 2014
Dear sycokid,

Thankyou for your post on Trip Advisor, we appreciate your time and feedback. In terms of noise in rooms I was dissapointed as the double glazing and full block out blinds generally provide our guests even those on floors lower with more than adequate noise protection from the city. In terms of free wi-fi we do offer this in the lobby for 30mins per devise per day and for our loyalty members who are on a silver status or above thay receive complimentary internet in rooms 24/7.
Thankyou again.
Regards Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Ibis Sydney King Street Wharf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Sydney King Street Wharf

Address: 22 Shelley Street | King Street Wharf, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #86 of 184 Hotels in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Sydney King Street Wharf 3*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened Dec 2008, boasting fresh, modern design, complete with an LCD TV, in room safe, free paytv (Foxtel) broadband and WiFi Internet access, a mini fridge and tea and coffee making facilities. Ideal location in the heart of Sydney. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, ACCOR and Tingo so you can book your Ibis Sydney King Street Wharf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Sydney King Street Wharf Hotel Sydney

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ibis Sydney King Street Wharf, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.