We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ibis Sydney King Street Wharf

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Ibis Sydney King Street Wharf to your Saves list
Ibis Sydney King Street Wharf
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   22 Shelley Street | King Street Wharf, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Early Booking Offer
Ranked #81 of 185 Hotels in Sydney
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Perfect Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

If you are looking for a hotel perfectly located near everything look no further. This property offers very friendly service and is close to everything, 3 minute walk to Darling Harbour. Everybody at the Front Desk goes above and beyond to make the guest's stay as pleasant as possible. I stayed here four nights and would highly recommend this hotel.

Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven S, General Manager at Ibis Sydney King Street Wharf, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Dear Tedy 45,

Thankyou so much for your fantastic post on Tripn Advisor. Im so glad you had an amazing stay, more importantly you met our fantastic team. They certainly are a great group who always try and deliver above and beyond on the guest experience.

Thankyou again and we hope to see you again in Sydney soon.

Regards Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

804 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    154
    362
    193
    65
    30
See reviews for
100
352
121
178
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Munich, Germany
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

We stayed there for 3 nights at the end of our Australia tour end of February 2014.
The check in was fast and uncomplicated. Our twin room was TINY even we got a bigger one – how small are the standard rooms?
Sadly no room to place any luggage wardrobe does not exist at all or better extremely small.
Rooms are quiet – sometimes loud neighbors are to hear.
Location is perfect – just 3 minutes walk to ferry station Darling harbor.
Very helpful and friendly staff

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven S, General Manager at Ibis Sydney King Street Wharf, responded to this review, March 2, 2014
Dear Tom P,

Thankyou for writting your post on Trip Advisor. Whilst I appreciate our rooms are not the largest in the city I beleive they are well designed and functional. All rooms have a wardrobe with 5 hangers provided and more available just a phone call to reception away. I was certainly glad you highlighted our fantastic location, brilliant staff and quiet rooms, they are all key elements of our great little hotel.

Thanks again for your post.

Regards Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Witney, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014 via mobile

My daughter and I stayed here for three nights and were perfectly happy with the hotel. The rooms are on the small side, but what you'd expect for a central city hotel on this budget. The room was clean and well serviced. The bed was comfortable and the hotel quiet. The location of the hotel is excellent with all major sights no more than 15 minutes walk away, and the nearest train station a ten minute walk away. The staff were all extremely helpful, even down to printing us off some directions for our next place of stay when we were checking out. I'd recommend this hotel unreservedly.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven S, General Manager at Ibis Sydney King Street Wharf, responded to this review, February 23, 2014
Dear marj10000,

Thankyou so much for your great feedback on Trip Advisor. I was so pleased to read your positive feedback regarding our beds, staff, location and the fact the hotel was so quiet. All of these are the basics you should expect a hotel to be able to deliver. I will be sure to pass your nice words onto the staff.

Thanks again.

Regards Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

The check in girl was helpful and her heavy accent was lovely. Our twin room was TINY and the beds were 2 cm apart! We were there for a two day conference and only for one night so it was fine. Probably the smallest room I've ever stayed in. Having said that it was very clean, and quiet even though the window faced a main road. Adequate for one night, probably not worth the $300 they charged for it.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven S, General Manager at Ibis Sydney King Street Wharf, responded to this review, February 23, 2014
Dear BCTSRacing,

Thankyou so much for taking the time to write your post on Trip Advisor. Whilst I agree our rooms are not the largest in Sydney I was certainly pleased to read you encountered our fantastic staff (Dagmara) and also found our rooms to be quiet and clean. I will be sure to pass your feedback onto the team.

Kind Regards Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NEW JERSEY
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

Absolutely perfect place: great location, clean and cozy room, comf bed, friendly staff. Free internet in the lobby. Convenient cheap shuttle to airport ($11-12). Have a brkfst if you need a lot of food in the morning (prices are very high around even for a light meal).

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014 via mobile

We booked a "Superior Queen" room which was extremely small, but clean and quiet.

There was no carpet on the floor, making the room feel more like a locker room.

The bed was only the length of a double bed, not a queen, which was a major reason for booking this room in the first place.

The hotel is convenient to Darling Harbour and surrounds, but if you are looking for any level of comfort, try somewhere else.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven S, General Manager at Ibis Sydney King Street Wharf, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Dear Bellbirdweb,

Thankyou for taking the time to write your post on Trip Advisor. I was pleased you found our hotel rooms clean and quiet and our hotel well located. Whilst I note your feedback regarding the floorboards I would like to also highlight the positive feedback we receive from many travellers who suffer from asthma and breathing related issues, they love the fact thay can sleep in rooms with little or no dust or musty carpet smells. I can assure you our beds are queen size beds.

Thanks again for your feedback.

Regards Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mooloolaba, Australia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

Stayed overnight for business. Rooms are very simple but all you need. Very good state. Too bad you can not open windows but guess this is the standard in new hotels. Comfortable bed. Garage for car around the corner. Helpful staff. Will use it again

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Ibis Sydney King Street Wharf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Sydney King Street Wharf

Address: 22 Shelley Street | King Street Wharf, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #81 of 185 Hotels in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Sydney King Street Wharf 3*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened Dec 2008, boasting fresh, modern design, complete with an LCD TV, in room safe, free paytv (Foxtel) broadband and WiFi Internet access, a mini fridge and tea and coffee making facilities. Ideal location in the heart of Sydney. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Ibis Sydney King Street Wharf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Sydney King Street Wharf Hotel Sydney

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ibis Sydney King Street Wharf, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.