We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to stay for someone travelling to Sydney alone. ” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ibis Sydney King Street Wharf

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Ibis Sydney King Street Wharf to your Saves list
Ibis Sydney King Street Wharf
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   22 Shelley Street | King Street Wharf, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Early Booking Offer
Ranked #81 of 185 Hotels in Sydney
Lucknow, India
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“A great place to stay for someone travelling to Sydney alone. ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

The greatest advantage of this property is its location. It's only a minute away from the Darling Harbour and quite close to the Rocks as well, thats where the Sydney Harbour Bridge and Opera House are. The staff, I found was really friendly and will fix you a sandwich late into the night with a smile on their face. Contrary to some of the reviews I read before booking this hotel, my room was serviced regularly and well. The room, I thought was functional and was sufficient for a solo traveller like myself. The only thing that might be a negatie for some is that despite the proximity to the harbour, the room didn't accord a view of the harbour from the hotel. Mine was a city facing room and there was plenty of traffic there. But it didnt cause any disturbances to me. I'd definitely go back here!

Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven S, General Manager at Ibis Sydney King Street Wharf, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Dear Swatimathur,

Thankyou so much for your informative and detailed response on Trip Advisor. I will be sure to pass your feedback on to our team as it serves as testiment to their hard work.

Thankyou again and we look forward to seeing you next time you stay in Sydney.

Regards Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

803 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    154
    361
    193
    65
    30
See reviews for
100
351
121
178
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
kildare
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

We moved to the Ibis for the last night of our stay in Sydney 29/12 from the Sydney Boulevard as we were unhappy with the service.(see review for Sydney Boulevard)
Although the Ibis has a lower grade in my opinion it is a better hotel. As soon as we arrived the location was better the staff were friendly and there was a bar,(small bar in reception).
The rooms were spotless, a little on the small side but had everything you would need from tea and coffee to tv. bathroom had a good size showe. Next morning we got great advise from the man on reception on things to see and places to go. We were sorry we did not stay in theIbis for our entire stay in Sydney. Highly recommend this hotel for a good value place to base to see the sights.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven S, General Manager at Ibis Sydney King Street Wharf, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Dear Lilywhitescilldara,

Thankyou so much for your fantastic post on Trip Advisor. I was so pleased to read that we ahere able to make your Sydney stay memorable for the right reasons. Im also glad you got to meet our fantastic staff who are our number 1 asset.

Thanks again and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Regards Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davao City, Philippines
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

if you're the kind of person who needs space, then this hotel is not for you. their rooms are small compared to the regular hotels.

You also have to consider that hotels at the center of sydney are quite expensive and this one is already one of the cheapest (that is also decent enough). Its location is perfect though. You can take in the sights and sounds of sydney by just walking from this hotel. Next to it is already the famous darling harbour.

I'd give a plus for their front desk's staff. The girl with the european accent was very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zürich
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

The Hotel is well located at the King Street wharf. This makes transportation around Sydney easy. Wynyard station or the pier are just minutes to away by walking. There are some bars and restaurants on the waterfront.

The room was not to big but ok sized. It was very clean and quiet.

The staff at the front desk was exceptionally friendly and helpful. We talked to three different people and every singly one of them was nice and super helpful.

We will stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Perth
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

I had a meeting in a building a few doors up so only booked Ibis King St Wharf for convenience, but I must say I was quietly impressed. Small and certainly not 5 star, the hotel however is very comfortable and the staff try harder than most higher rated hotels.
I received an upgrade due to Accor membership and so my room was good size and quite cleverly designed to maximize the space. Really enjoyed the open feel the wooden floor gave it as well.
I would certainly strongly consider staying at the Ibis on my next visit to Sydney whether I have a meeting close by or not.

Room Tip: Nice choice of restaurants in Lime Street (parallel to Shelley).
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven S, General Manager at Ibis Sydney King Street Wharf, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
Dear DeanoNorthPerth,

Thankyou so much for your great feedback on Trip Advisor. What makes it even more special is that it has come from one of our valued Advantage Plus loyalty guests which is outstanding. Thankyou for mentioning our great team, they certainly are always working hard to deliver the guest experience. You also mentioned the Lime St restaurants which are only a walk away, dont forget to ask about our charge back facility on your next stay as we partner with a number of great King St Wharf restaurants to charge back to the hotel for guest convenience.
Thankyou again and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Regards Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

Perfect location close to darling harbour and only a short walk to the city centre. Close to many great restaurants. Rooms are small, but clean and fresh. If you are not spending alot of time in the room (who does when they go away!) then this ideal.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ibis Sydney King Street Wharf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Sydney King Street Wharf

Address: 22 Shelley Street | King Street Wharf, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #81 of 185 Hotels in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Sydney King Street Wharf 3*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened Dec 2008, boasting fresh, modern design, complete with an LCD TV, in room safe, free paytv (Foxtel) broadband and WiFi Internet access, a mini fridge and tea and coffee making facilities. Ideal location in the heart of Sydney. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Ibis Sydney King Street Wharf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Sydney King Street Wharf Hotel Sydney

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ibis Sydney King Street Wharf, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.