We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel, best location, wonderful experience!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ibis Sydney King Street Wharf

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Ibis Sydney King Street Wharf to your Saves list
Ibis Sydney King Street Wharf
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   22 Shelley Street | King Street Wharf, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Early Booking Offer
Ranked #81 of 185 Hotels in Sydney
1 review
“Fantastic hotel, best location, wonderful experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Compact, clean and well equipped.
Great management and all staff members were very helpful.
Extremely close to to bars, restaurants and chic night life. Fantastic location!! Highly recommended it to all travellers. I will definitely revisit Sydney and this will be my first stop!

Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven S, General Manager at Ibis Sydney King Street Wharf, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Dear Traveller,

Thanks for posting your great feedback on Trip Advisor. Feedback like yours makes all of the hard work and effort the team put in extremely rewarding. I also agree our location is fantastic for all of the reasons you mentioned. Thanks again and I hope we can look after you again in the near future.

Regards Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

803 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    154
    361
    193
    65
    30
See reviews for
100
351
121
178
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
173 reviews 173 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

I didn't spend much time there as I was in Sydney on a business trip, but the hotel is well located near Darling Harbour and just a few minute's walk from Wynyard. Room was small, but comfortable. The bed was certainly comfortable and I slept well. Staff were excellent and very helpful. My only complaint is that curtains could be a little thicker, as the I awoke with the sun because the curtains let in so much light. The hotel was spotlessly clean and was ideal for my purpose.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashmore, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

Only had a one night stay but the staff were great, location is perfect for getting around the city and the room exactly what I needed. Would have loved to have had more time to spend. Client service was excellent.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, NZ
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

My first impression on walking through the lobby was it was more a backpackers than hotel, next impression on opening door was "OMG! Thats small" Once over the initial shock though I found the room was actually very well layed out with excellent cabinetry which mean that, yes it was small, but for a solo traveler on business is was more than adequate. Also the price is right, and the location superb. Location wise it is a few steps to the wharfe and all the restaurants, a pleasant stroll to madam toussards and the Imax and 5-7 minutes walk to the train station. Rooms were clean and tidy and desk area great for working. They were happy to accommodate an early check in and were really helpful for recommending morning running routes (which are superb). Also soundproofing was excellent. never heard anyone/thing else when in the room. Didn't try the cafe/restaurant, but the coffee shop on the wharf just down from here did the best Banana bread. All in all I would recommend this place.

Room Tip: I think they are all the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Stayed for two nights in August with my partner for a weekend in Sydney. The rooms are very compact, but who wants to sit in their room all day in Sydney when there is lots to do around town? They are clean, have a bed and a shower - what more do you want? Location is excellent - walking distance to Darling Harbour and Wynyard Train Station. The Darling Harbour Ferry is only one block away, and a nice alternative getting to Circular Quay. The staff member I dealt with for both check-in and check-out was very friendly. Offered to help with directions, and on check-out offered assistance with luggage storage and offered to call a taxi. Very impressed. I will be sure to book in here for my next private trip to Sydney.

Room Tip: All rooms are double-glazed, quiet, and have no view - get outside on a ferry for a better view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven S, General Manager at Ibis Sydney King Street Wharf, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Dear Patrick M,

Thanks so much for your awesome post on Trip Advisor.

I 100% agree with you on all counts particularly the fantastic location and what it has to offer, restaurants, bars, attractions, shopping the list goes on. I am also glad to see you had the chance to meet our great staff, they all work hard at delivering great service to our guests.

Thanks again and we look forwardc to seeing you again soon.

Regards Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tweed Heads, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

I stayed here for two nights, the location was fantastic an easy walk to Darling Harbour and the City. The staff were friendly and helpful. The room was small but clean and comfortable and quiet. Would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Macquarie, Australia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

Very small rooms, well the one we got was very small anyway... a lot smaller then other Ibis rooms we have stayed in. I thought it was over priced for what you received. No air flow in the room, it got stuffy and hot quickly and with no opening window or decent air conditioning... it made for a uncomfortable nights sleep. breakfast range was ok but over priced, nice little cafes only minutes away if you go for a walk. Staff on the front desk were nice and friendly. The room was modern and tidy. I agree with other reviewers... the tv is difficult to use!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Ibis Sydney King Street Wharf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Sydney King Street Wharf

Address: 22 Shelley Street | King Street Wharf, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #81 of 185 Hotels in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Sydney King Street Wharf 3*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened Dec 2008, boasting fresh, modern design, complete with an LCD TV, in room safe, free paytv (Foxtel) broadband and WiFi Internet access, a mini fridge and tea and coffee making facilities. Ideal location in the heart of Sydney. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Ibis Sydney King Street Wharf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Sydney King Street Wharf Hotel Sydney

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ibis Sydney King Street Wharf, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.