We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Studio apartment masquerading as a one bed” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Quest World Square

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Quest World Square to your Saves list
Quest World Square
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2 Cunningham Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #99 of 184 Hotels in Sydney
Dunedin, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Studio apartment masquerading as a one bed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

I stayed here with my wife and 20 month old daughter in Dec 2012.

First impressions of the property were good. It's in a fantastic location, easy access to most of central Sydney on foot and close to a variety of public transport.

The building and the apartment itself were modern and clean. The cot we'd requested for our daughter was waiting in the room. The air-con had been running, a definite plus as the temperature outside was in the high 30's and hit the low 40's over the weekend.

The complex has an excellent swimming pool, which we made good use of during our stay, never encountering another guest.

The kitchen was poorly equipped. Although the appliances were more than sufficient, there was a pitiful selection of utensils and cutlery, and a single solitary saucepan. Making it effectively impossible to cook anything other than the most simple meal.

Having stayed in several Quest properties before, I booked a 1 bed apartment. Reasoning that we'd be able to put my daughter to bed and enjoy the rest of the evening in the living room without waking her. However, the apartment was open plan, a layout that has been referred to as a studio at any other place I've visited. I even went so far as to check at reception that we were in a one bed apartment as opposed to a studio, they assured me that I was.

The bottom line is that, kitchen notwithstanding, this was an excellent studio apartment, but when I'd booked and paid for one bed I inevitably felt ripped off.

Room Tip: Buyer beware, choose a studio as there's no point in paying extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick T, Manager at Quest World Square, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking your time to provide us with such great feedback.

Me and my team are delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us here .

We value your feedback and are committed to ensuring that our guests receive the very best of services at all times and I am pleased to assure you that your comments have been addressed with our team with the seriousness that it deserves and additional levels of supervision have been set up to ensure that moving forward such complaints do not repeat itself again.

Moving forward, could you please kindly provide me your contact details so that I can either call or email you and further investigate whether the room that was allocated to yourself was the one booked by yourself.

I look forward to hear from you and more importantly we at Quest would definitely like to welcome you back again to our Property
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    71
    45
    18
    20
See reviews for
34
52
11
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

My booking for this hotel came via a "package" I purchased for a 2 night stay in Sydney. I requested a king sized bed, and a single, but upon checking in, found that our room was a studio with a king sized bed and a fold out sofa. We were offered a larger apartment, but still had the sofa bed, which meant that we couldn't relax in the living area. Apart from this problem, we found the apartment very comfortable, and well appointed. Internet connection is available, but we were surprised to find that there was no WiFi. The hotel is well located, and within walking distance to Circular Quay and the Rocks.

Room Tip: If booking for more than 2 people, make sure you get proper beds, and not uncomfortable pull out sof...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

This is a great location in Goulbourn St between Elizabeth and George - near lots of buses and trains, and within walking distance to many things - Chinatown, Hyde Park, Central station. Staff friendly. The executive apartment with a balcony was clean and fairly spacious. Great value.

Room Tip: Get a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

We stay here for a long weekend. The location is great for shopping and visiting China Town. Shame that there is no room service on Sundays. This is not good if you are staying for the weekend. Also there is no room service as there are good self catering cooker and micro wave options available in each room.

Room Tip: Prepare for self catering
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Check in staff were excellent, checking me in when I arrived at 6:45pm on a Saturday. The location is good, the amenities are good but a little outdated; this didn't bother me as it was very clean. The room on level 7 did have noise coming up from the street so wouldn't recommend the location for a relaxing stay.

Room Tip: Higher rooms are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Stayed here for a business trip for 11 nights, the hotel entry does not a very nice outlook, is on a lane type road. Close to everything, supermarket, restuarants and shopping. There are no inhouse services to speak of, carpet needs replacing or a good steam clean. Bed not comfortable, couch is a sofa bed so again not a very comfy seat. It has a good kitchen, full size fridge, and a standard oven but not much by way of utensils. Has a washing machine but no clothes airer, the machine is a dryer as well but ends up steam drying your clothes. The room was a bit dark, not very much natural light.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We have just had six nights at Quest World Sq in a one bedroom apartment. It was spacious and quite modern with well equipped kitchen, table for four, comfortable sitting area and a washer and dryer in the reasonable sized bathroom. Internet is additional cost. There are flat screen televisions in the lounge and bedroom. It's functional accommodation at the southern end of town popular with Asian community. It's well located and about two blocks from three train stations- Central, Town Hall and Museum. Plenty of Asian eating places are nearby and three pubs on the adjacent corner. Chinatown is a 5-10 minute walk away and Darling Harbour about 15 minutes stroll. Across the road is World Sq complex with Coles supermarket and plenty of eateries and other shops. There is no real view from these apartments but ours had a reasonable sized balcony overlooking the side street and adjacent office block. Would be happy to stay here again .

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Quest World Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quest World Square

Address: 2 Cunningham Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#74 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Quest World Square 4.5*
Number of rooms: 73
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Quest World Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quest World Square Sydney

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quest World Square, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.