We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cockroaches in the sauna” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Oaks on Castlereagh

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Oaks on Castlereagh to your Saves list
Oaks on Castlereagh
4.0 of 5 Condominium   |   317 Castlereagh Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #44 of 133 Specialty Lodging in Sydney
melbourne
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Cockroaches in the sauna”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2010

Rooms are small, if staying for more than a day - make sure you have your own towels as there is no room service. Sauna - is in a different building, and very dirty, cockroaches everywhere!
Don't think I'll book in there again.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    55
    36
    26
    39
See reviews for
47
43
15
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2009

A big thank you to the staff at the Regis on Castlereagh! The room was spacious and clean and the price cannot be beaten in Sydney. I found the staff to be extremely helpful with everything from giving me directions to recommending local restraunts, I would happily recommend these serviced apartments to my friends and collegues.

Looking forward to my next stay at The Regis

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2009

This is far and away the worst place I have ever stayed at.

The room was filthy - the tiled floor was dirty, lots of mold in the shower, long black hair on the bathmat, drains were discoloured, the inside of the microwave was dirty, the insides of the glassware and mugs were *filthy* and there was a bug in the kettle.

In addition the train line goes underground next to the hotel and they honk loudly every time they go underground for some reason. Very noisy!

The air conditioning in my room is noisy like you wouldn't believe! Turn the A/c off for a bit of quiet you say? There is a loud constant dripping sound coming from inside the vent...

If you like it to be quiet when you're sleeping this is NOT the hotel for you!

Nor is it if you like it to be light - the curtains don't close....

When I went to complain at reception I did not receive an apology and the disinterested man simply said he would send the cleaners up.

I went out and when I came back there was noone at reception (they run a skeleton staff and are not there past 2pm on weekends) and my room had not be cleaned at all.

DO NOT STAY HERE!!!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2009

We stayed there for 1 night while the plan was to stay there for 1 week. We checked in at 13:00. Our room looked ok, but very noisy (trains). The kitchen looked clean but when it got dark cockroaches in all sizes invaded the place! we even found a big one in the bedroom. We went to the service desk to complain but it closes at 15:00. So there is noone to talk to. The security guard gave us a phone number to call and they could come and spray.
In addition to that, you can smell food in the corridor and in the elevator.
Will definitely never go back to this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2009

We stayed for seven day and found the property good value for money. It was clean, well appointed and in a very good location.

The staff were friendly and helpfull. the only thing we could suggest would be longer reception hours but this would undoubtedly increase the proce of the apartment.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2009

An excellent location close to Central Station and Chinatown. A great room with large modern bathroom, kitchenette and very comfortable queen size bed. Foxtel included. Friendly staff. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nerja
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2009

If you like to listen to a passing train honk its horn every 5 minutes ALL day and ALL night long, then stay at the Regis on Castlereagh. If you enjoy having cold showers then stay at the Regis on Castlereagh. If you like to complain about any problems with your hotel room (example no hot water) and get a response from staff saying " it has nothing to do with us" then stay at the Regis on Castelreagh.
No seriously, the service at the hotel was extremely bad, once they had your money that was it...they didnt care about you. I would NOT recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Oaks on Castlereagh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oaks on Castlereagh

Address: 317 Castlereagh Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 133 Specialty Lodging in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Oaks on Castlereagh 4*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Regis on Castlereagh presents executive apartments located amidst the entertainment and business district of Sydney City. Circular Quay, The Rocks and Sydney Harbour are just a relaxed stroll away.The spacious fully self-contained apartments, most boast private balconies leading off the open plan living, dining and kitchen area. Tastefully furnished and finished with quality appliances, these superior apartments are ideal for couples, families or the astute business traveller.Whether you choose a studio, 1 or 2 bedroom apartment you are guaranteed superior service and comfort.Facilities include an indoor heated pool & spa, fitness room, squash court, table tennis area, outdoor barbeque area and secure undercover parking (fee applies). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Despegar.com, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Oaks on Castlereagh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regis On Castlereagh Hotel Sydney

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oaks on Castlereagh, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.