We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, location, location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Oaks on Castlereagh

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Oaks on Castlereagh to your Saves list
Oaks on Castlereagh
4.0 of 5 Condominium   |   317 Castlereagh Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #44 of 133 Specialty Lodging in Sydney
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“Location, location, location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

5min walk from Central or Museum stations or Hyde Park or the Sydney CBD. Room was nice, 2 single beds as ordered. Foxtel was limited in terms of channels. Enjoyed the indoor spa. Difficult to get into or out of the spa due the height of the step. Liked the hidden microwave mini kitchen. There is no restaurant but a great $10 brekkie a few doors up at the Internet cafe.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at Oaks on Castlereagh, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Thank you for taking the time out of your day to leave your comments regarding your stay with us.We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed our apartment facilities and the location.We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    55
    36
    26
    39
See reviews for
47
43
15
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

I note a mixture of reviews of this hotel but you take as you find, I suppose. For us it was ideal, obtained through Wotif at a good rate for the Sydney CBD. Circular Quay is a half hour leisurely walk or there is a free bus about five minutes stroll away that circuits the CBD all morning up until about 3pm. Room was clean and spacious and equipped for self catering, if desired. Check in was quick and efficient but don't get mixed up with any coach groups or that might not be the case! We never noticed the noise that some have referred to but then we were up high and on the opposite side of the building to the railway line. There are food and liquor outlets in close proximity, incl a Coles around the corner.
Why not five stars? The room air con seemingly had a mind of its own and was noisy and there are no communal toilets in the reception area so if you are hanging round for a bus or taxi at the end of your stay, be aware! Would not hestitate to stay here again in future.

Room Tip: Ask to be on a high floor.
See more room tips
Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at Oaks on Castlereagh, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
We thank you for providing us with your feedback on your recent stay at Oaks On Castlereagh.
We are very pleased to know that you enjoyed our apartment facilities and the location.We are happy to know that our apartment catered for all your needs during your stay.It is always rewarding to recieve such positive feedback.We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

We had a 3 bedroom apartment room 638 29 th floor with a great roof top terrace, it was fantastic. Everything was well maintained ,the apartment was very clean and everything was in great operation order. This apartment is in a great location to visit the entertainment centre and the china town and paddy market area. It was great value.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at Oaks on Castlereagh, responded to this review, August 11, 2013
Thank you for taking the time out of your day to leave your comments regarding your stay with us. We really appreciate your positive feedback.We are very pleased and delighted to hear that you enjoyed our apartment facilities and the location..We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Great location, but unclean (mouldy tiles)bathroom. We booked a 1 bedroom apartment with a trundle bed as we had 3 adults, they only provided 2 towels. We will probably pick somewhere else next time. Location is perfect and can easily walk to entertainment centre and shopping precinct.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at Oaks on Castlereagh, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback. I apologise for the experience you had described in your comments. We are doing everything we can to rectify any issues in the apartments so it is helpful to receive guest feedback. I also note that there was a shortage of towels supplied in your room during your stay. We do supply towels per person so I would like to extend my apoligies for the error when setting up your room for you. I would like to welcome you back to our property so that we can have the opportunity to show you a much better experience than the one in which you described.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wingham, New South Wales, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

We stayed in the 3 bed apartment and found the room to be just beautiful. It had features like the rooftop and spa that we didn't even know about, so it was a great surprise. The laundry with full facilities was very convenient. The indoor pool and gym would have been awesome but our schedule didn't allow us to use them.

I would like to suggest that the cookware be reconsidered, as the 3 bed apartment sleeps a lot of people (we had 7 people) but the cookware only allowed us to cook for 2-3 people at a time. Being the cook in this family it wasn't much of a holiday when I had to spend double amount of time cooking because I couldn't fit enough in the pots and pans provided. Larger pots and pans aren't that expensive, or rare, and it would have made my holiday a lot better if they were there. My family ended up eating in shifts LOL. When booking we made sure our apartment had a kitchen so we were able to eat in and save money.
In saying all that, it still wasn't enough to make me disappointed in the room.

The hotel is in a great location for doing stuff with the kids, we walked everywhere with small kids with no hassles. Parking was affordable and awesome, and we have a large car. We had no troubles with parking even after I lost power steering in my car on the first night, so I doubt anyone else would have trouble parking.

I was a little bit annoyed that wifi wasn't part of our room fee, but it was fast and really easy to access. We paid the $6 / hour but there are different options, though as I said it was annoying when I paid for a $500 room.

The staff are more than fantastic. Helpful, efficient and friendly. It was a pleasure to deal with all the staff.

Room Tip: I would definitely choose this room for families, but be wary of the cook ware situation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at Oaks on Castlereagh, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
We really appreciate your positive feedback. Thank you for taking the time out of your day to leave your comments.It is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and I am delighted that we were able to offer you such great service and facilities.Thank you for acknowledging our helpful staff. We do look forward to accomodating you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

Stayed for 4 night in June 2013. Check in efficient (better than other Oak experiences. Parking tricky if you have a large car but our is not. Room is well appointed and newly renovated - again better than others of the same brand. As we had a one bed access was via a share to a motel style room that when combined creates the two bed. All nights guests were very noisy and definitely smoked... annoying as we walked into the 'shared' entry - however inside the room... quiet and relaxing... things like dual doors / double glazing were wonderful. would stay there again. I fond the room very clean however on check in Guest Manager arrived as he had not yet checked the room after last service and was pickier than I... that is a positive !!

Room Tip: one bed worth the little extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at Oaks on Castlereagh, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
We really appreciate your positive feedback. Thank you for taking the time out of your day to leave your comments.We are very pleased and delighted to hear that you enjoyed our apartment facilities and the location.We do strive to provide excellent customer service to all of our guests so it is rewarding to recieve such positive feedback.We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

Internet is horrible–even though you have to pay. I barely was able to do email. When my business mainly runs on the cloud, staying at this property was a disaster for my business. They gave me a toll-free number to call for technical support that just goes to voice mail. The location is a bit far to CBD but close to Chinatown. Staying here makes me appreciate the Meriton Apartments a lot more. They provide free internet and the service is reliable. So, if you are a business traveler that require internet, I do not recommend to stay here.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at Oaks on Castlereagh, responded to this review, July 28, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding your recent stay here at Oaks on Castlereagh. We value your feedback as this is how we are able to isolate areas of concern to rectify them for the future. We are currently in the process of upgrading our internet services in the building to allow for a much greater connection for users. This will improve internet facilities for business travellers and we are hoping to have this completed shortly. Again thank you for your feedback and we do hope that we may be able to welcome you back to the property once we have the upgrade completed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Oaks on Castlereagh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oaks on Castlereagh

Address: 317 Castlereagh Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 133 Specialty Lodging in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Oaks on Castlereagh 4*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Regis on Castlereagh presents executive apartments located amidst the entertainment and business district of Sydney City. Circular Quay, The Rocks and Sydney Harbour are just a relaxed stroll away.The spacious fully self-contained apartments, most boast private balconies leading off the open plan living, dining and kitchen area. Tastefully furnished and finished with quality appliances, these superior apartments are ideal for couples, families or the astute business traveller.Whether you choose a studio, 1 or 2 bedroom apartment you are guaranteed superior service and comfort.Facilities include an indoor heated pool & spa, fitness room, squash court, table tennis area, outdoor barbeque area and secure undercover parking (fee applies). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Despegar.com, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Oaks on Castlereagh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regis On Castlereagh Hotel Sydney

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oaks on Castlereagh, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.