We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Oaks on Castlereagh

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Oaks on Castlereagh to your Saves list
Oaks on Castlereagh
4.0 of 5 Condominium   |   317 Castlereagh Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #35 of 134 Specialty Lodging in Sydney
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“Great Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

This place was amazing! A real central hub to the CBD - close to Central and China Town. Near many Asian restaurants as well.

I thought previous reviews about staff were exaggerating, but it is true what they say, staff will bend over backwards to help you out in anyway they can. Absolutely exceptional service, with a special thanks to Blake who was a delight to talk to and really knowledgeable about the happenings in Sydney and the places to go.

Would have been nice if there was a luggage trolley available, and the WiFi can be a little patchy. They offered to move me around to a different room with more reliable Wi-Fi but I turned them down because the refurbished room I was put in was top notch!

Room Tip: Call up requesting a room facing away from the train station.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at Oaks on Castlereagh, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Thankyou for taking the time to provide us with your positive feedback regarding your recent stay with us. I highly appreciate your response as Oaks have put alot of time and effort into the refurbishment of the apartments. We are very pleased and delighted to hear that you enjoyed our apartment facilities and the location.Thank you for acknowledging our helpful staff that made your stay so enjoyable and we will be sure to pass this on to Blake and the team. We will definatley take your comments on board regarding the noise from the trains and we are looking forward to accommodating you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    77
    41
    30
    42
See reviews for
57
59
18
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Tasmania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

great place stayed during the Mardi grass in suit 200B for aweek and enjoyed the stay was surprised to find no mini bar but was pleased as that prevented some hi cost drinks like some hotels was a small fridge to keep your own drinks in. Plenty of security barthroom needed a little bit of sound proofink but close the door fixed that problem. The only down fall was beleive would have been nice to have some cold water in the fridge on the ariveial as weather was hot also the spar was a bit hard to get into at the end of the swimming pool maybe a longer rail or steps or maybe I just need to stop suffering from T M B ( To Many Birthdays ) lol ful marks for clean rooms and great starf.Neil C

Room Tip: alway choose room away from railway line to prevent niose
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at Oaks on Castlereagh, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
We are very delighted to read the review that you have provided regarding your recent stay at Oaks on Castlereagh.Thank you for your positive comments relating to our staff and the cleanliness of our rooms.We do strive to provide excellent customer service to all of our guests so it is rewarding to recieve such positive feedback.We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

This was the only hotel in Sydney we could find under $200 a night. The city was heavily booked because of some Religious Conference. The hotel is in a fairly remote part of town. It overlooks the railway lines near Central Station and the building is a mix of hotel rooms and private apartments. Negatives- small room, leaking shower that was impossible to adjust the water temperature. A dead cockroach in the fridge. A stained toilet bowl. Bathroom floors dirty on arrival. Noisy air conditioner- could not adjust temperature. No daily room service. Lift lobby dirty and not cleaned in three days. Maintenance commenced on adjoining room at 6.50am. Positives- Reception staff were helpful and room was newly painted. Would we revisit? No.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at Oaks on Castlereagh, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
I would like to thank you for your feedback and sincerely apologise that your stay at Oaks on Castlereagh was not satisfactory. It is very dissapointing to hear that your experience has left you with a negetive perception of our hotel and the service we strive to provide.I have followed up and addressed the issues you mentioned regarding the condition of your room with the head of the housekeeping and the maintenance department in order to illiminate these types of issues occuring again in future. Again I would like to apologise for any inconvenience caused during your stay with us.Thank you for acknowelging our helpful staff and I wish to extend a friendly gesture in welcoming you back to our property with the hope that we can chnage your perception of our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

Huge well appointed suite, lovely balcony - and the best desk staff in Sydney that bent over backwards to recommend, help and advise. The gym is great (tho male focussed - Swiss balls and free weights much better for women!) and the pool clean and awesome. Clean, spacious and safe and in a great CBD location. Except for the train station. Those train horns don't stop till midnight and start again at 5am. Incessant penetrating noise. I asked to be high up in the hope this would help - it didn't. If the hotel soundproofed the bedroom windows I really would never stay anywhere else. Right now, just too hard to get a good nights sleep when I'm traveling on business.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at Oaks on Castlereagh, responded to this review, March 10, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide your positive feedback regarding your stay at Oaks on Castlereagh. It is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and I am delighted that we were able to offer you such great service and facilities. Thank you for acknowledging our helpful staff that made your stay so enjoyable and we will be sure to pass this on to the team. We will definatley take your comments on board regarding the noise from the trains and we are looking forward to accommodating you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

We went to Sydney for Mardi Gras but also love our Thai food. These apartments are around a 10 minute walk to Oxford St one way or Darling Harbour the other. Right around the corner are a bunch of great Thai cafes & restaurants plus many other different cuisines from all over the globe. George St is around a 5 minute walk too. On-site underground parking was easy and quite cheap at only $25 per night with as many entries & exits as you like and a secure lock-up caged car spot. We stayed here once before when it was under Regis management, but Oaks seem to have renovated the apartments as everything was new and modern. The only issue for us was there was no luggage trolley available.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at Oaks on Castlereagh, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Thankyou for taking the time to provide us with your positive feedback regarding your recent stay with us. I highly appreciate your response as Oaks have put alot of time and effort into the refurbishment of the apartments. We are very pleased and delighted to hear that you enjoyed our apartment facilities and the location.We do look forward to accomodating you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottershaw, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

WE HAd a studio unit which was very well fitted out and we could catedr in on the nights we did not go out which was very useful for a seven night stay. A very good 20 metre indoor pool and a good jacuzzi. Close to china town which was good as we were there during the chinese new year. An easy access to the city and circular quay on the free city bus shuttle.;Only criticism is that units at the front can be a bit noise being close to Central station where the drivers sound a horn during the night but the double glazing kept this to a minimun

Room Tip: when bhooking ask for a room at the rear
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at Oaks on Castlereagh, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Thank you for your reveiw. I appreciate the time you have taken to provide your positive feedback. Oaks on Castlereagh is centrally located in the heart of the CBD and we have many travellers that choose to stay with us and benefit from this ideal central location that you mention. I am happy to hear that the studio room was able to cater for your needs and I hope to see you return to us agian soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Stayed here for two nights just over this past weekend. The room is old and out dated. Marks and scrapes on all the walls. The finishings on the kitchen were all peeling. There were stains on the kitchen cupboards. I went to fill the ice-cube tray for the freezer and the kitchen tap came off in my hand. I hardly pulled it. I reported it to the house keeper for maintenance to come and fix but nobody came. Therefore had to fill up cups and ice-cube trays in bathroom sink. The shower didn't work properly. Has two temperatures... Boiling hot and freezing cold. Most of the time I had to have baths and I can imagine in the middle of winter it'd be terrible. Last but not least the noise from the place is horrendous. The hotel overlooks Museum station and every ten minutes the trains come roaring into the station and they toot their horns as they enter the station. It's every 10 mins or so till about 9pm then every half an hour after that. Did I mention the dust that was everywhere!!!! I went to do some ironing and noticed that all my clothes were covered in dust. The ironing board had an inch of dust on it. I suggest people avoid this hotel at all costs. The price may be reasonable for the location but it's an absolute dump. I'm almost envious of the homeless man sleeping on cushions under the bridge nearby.

Room Tip: Go elsewhere!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at Oaks on Castlereagh, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Thankyou for taking the time to provide us with your feedback regarding your stay with us. It is through guest feedback that we are able to isolate areas of concern and improve of them. Oaks have just recently taken over the management in the building and have been working very hard to refurbish the rooms in order to illiminate the types of issues that you have mentioned. We have currently refurbished about 90% of our stock since starting here in August and recently categorised our room types on our direct website to allow the option to book a refurbished room. This way you can ensure that you are guaranteed to be allocated a refurbished unit. I would like to apologise for the miscommunication with the housekeeping I will definatley let the housekeeping manager know of the incident however any issues would have been best at the time to be brought to the attention of the front desk staff. Thank you again we appreciate your feedback and I do hope to be able to accomodate you again so that we can provide one of these rooms for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Oaks on Castlereagh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oaks on Castlereagh

Address: 317 Castlereagh Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 134 Specialty Lodging in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Oaks on Castlereagh 4*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Regis on Castlereagh presents executive apartments located amidst the entertainment and business district of Sydney City. Circular Quay, The Rocks and Sydney Harbour are just a relaxed stroll away.The spacious fully self-contained apartments, most boast private balconies leading off the open plan living, dining and kitchen area. Tastefully furnished and finished with quality appliances, these superior apartments are ideal for couples, families or the astute business traveller.Whether you choose a studio, 1 or 2 bedroom apartment you are guaranteed superior service and comfort.Facilities include an indoor heated pool & spa, fitness room, squash court, table tennis area, outdoor barbeque area and secure undercover parking (fee applies). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Oaks on Castlereagh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regis On Castlereagh Hotel Sydney

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oaks on Castlereagh, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.