We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another great experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Establishment

The Establishment
252 George St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia (City Centre)
92403000
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #162 of 5,297 Restaurants in Sydney
Price range: $0 - $65
Cuisines: Thai, Australian, Bar, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: City Centre
Queenstown, New Zealand
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Another great experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

I think we all have a few favourite restaurants, I've got a few and The Establishment is definitely one of them, I've been going there for about 10 years now and have never been let down.
The food is fantastic and the service is professional. It's one of those places that you walk out of with an absolute smile.
Fine dining- I recommend The Establishment to any and everyone.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    100
    71
    26
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great for lunch with the girls”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

I've been visiting the Gin Garden at the back of The Establishment for around three years. It's centrally located to where my girlfriends work and we're usually seated 'outside' (under cover) without much of a wait. They have a pretty eclectic menu, which has changed over the years. In 2012 they changed it to some weird bistro-style menu, which didn't last long, before reverting back to a scaled down version of the original.

The Thai food they do is pretty good but you could buy cheaper elsewhere. For $17 I can recommend the chicken cashew dish. Wine is a bit pricey by the glass and service at the Gin Garden bar is a bit hit and miss. Take advantage of the complementary chilled water that sits at the end of the bar. It's nicely iced and often infused with fresh lemon or mint or the like.

The manager of the Gin Garden (during lunchtime service) is great and won't stand for queue jumping if you're waiting for tables. So make sure you speak to him first.

The Thai prawn curry has a nice piquancy and the beef pie has a lovely flaky crust and the meat is tender and tasty. I normally stick to the Thai dishes for the flavour and the fresh veggies that come with the dish.

There is a variety of separate tables and some big communal tables, but the distance between seats is enough that it doesn't feel weird sitting next to a stranger.

I like the atmosphere out the back. The building has been nicely restored. The Establishment bar that sits between the Gin Garden and the street is fine but a little soulless. A better place to hit once the sun goes down. What this bar lacks in warmth during the day the building makes up for in grandness.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Ambiance - Good lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Popped in here for lunch. Love the atrium design in the back. It's a combo self-serve / serve place that took a couple of minutes to figure out. I ordered the salmon special for lunch, it was good but I wished I had stuck with my salad first choice. I saw it at the table next to me and it looked fabulous. Great service, very friendly, definitely recommend!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Meet mates”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

The place is very good to meet up with mates and business people. Mandy the curly blonde hair girl is always polite and give good service.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mission beach australia
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Vibrant, Noisey, fun place for a drink and chat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

A great place to meet up with friends after work or perhaps a lunch.
Very interesting city type crowd.
Drinks are expensive but so is the location

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Establishment also viewed

Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 
Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to The Establishment? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Establishment, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.