We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Depends when you go.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Establishment

The Establishment
252 George St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
92403000
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #222 of 5,486 Restaurants in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $0 - $65
Cuisines: Bar, Thai, Australian, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Depends when you go.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Its a beautiful building and a great concept but the afterwork crowd can be a bit shabby at times! Go for lunch, evenings eralier in the week or at the weekend.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    105
    86
    27
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Massive complex”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

Many bars and restaurants to suit all tastes. A very busy place that can become rather expensive. Great place to go and have a look and grab a few drinks. Great eve candy.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Est......fabulous food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

My husband and I dined in the very stylist Est restaurant (first floor) with friends last week. We had the tasting menu of 7 courses with half a glass of matching wine with each course. At $280 per person it's not something you do every week but you certainly get what you pay for here. I have dined in some excellent restaurants all over the world and this will be one of the most memorable. Service was excellent. The waiting staff were professional, very knowledgeable, relaxed and friendly. I loved the way all four of us were served at once by four waiters. The menu was flexible enough to meet all our dietary requirements. The wines were carefully matched and even if I wasn't keen on one or two on their own they really did match the dishes and taste different with the meal. I loved all of it, every course was a gastronomic delight. Presentation was exquisite and timing between courses perfect. Looking forward to my next visit.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Manhattan in Sydney CBD”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

I realy do like this place, from the comfy, sinky leather sofas at the entrance, the vibrant atmosphere to the yummy Thai food served in the restaurant behind the bar area. It is a great place to meet friends for a casual, yet elegant lunch. Sometimes I find the music too loud as it is no fun chewing and shouting at the same time. However, I wouldn't change anything else. It is not as expensive as similar restaurants in the CBD. Love the buzzy vibe.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Meat market”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

If you are a seemingly wealthy man seeking a 'meaningful one night relationship' with a gold digger then this is your place...

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Establishment also viewed

Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 
Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to The Establishment? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Establishment, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.