We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small family run” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Medusa Greek Taverna

Medusa Greek Taverna
2 Market Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
+61 2 9267 0799
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 4,194 Restaurants in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $37
Cuisines: Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Special occasions, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
singapore
Level Contributor
55 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Small family run”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013 via mobile

It's my first time eating Greek food outside Greece! But it's not disappointing. It seems rather popular as the tables indoor in the restaurant were full the night I was there. It is a small place manned by a waiter and I assumed the owner himself. The latter walked around to meet diners and even made recommendations. I had fish roe dip with pitta bread as a starter followed by stew of lamb shoulder. The meat was a big chunk of exquisite tenderness. It came off the bone at a touch. It's very filling for a person. Good to share for two.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

625 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    435
    146
    33
    4
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

I was recommended this restaurant by a friend and she was right. I had fish and my partner had the beef stew, both if us loved our meal and found it to be really fresh. Service was really good, perfect place to go in Sydney winter time as all the pictures make you feel like you are in Greece! We will return.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“OK Greek Food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Service was pretty lax. Food was OK, but nothing amazing. The desert was really yummy though. Worth a visit but nothing too amazing.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
42 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Just superb!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013 via mobile

My partner and I came here after searching online for a real quality Greek Resturant in Sydney for our anniversary and Im so glad we came here! For the entreé, I ordered the mixed plate- which was so tasty, well presented, the sauces/dips were so lovely! For my main I got the Garlic King Prawns and WOW it was absolutely beautiful! It was quite a big portion and the salad that came with it complimented the prawns so well! Beautiful fresh ingredients and a splash of pomegranate dressing-divine! I would definitely go back,such a great fine dining resturant for quality Greek cuisine! Must Try!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A fun night!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

We celebrated a birthday at this lovey restaurant recently and had a great time. The service was friendly, not too intrusive and our waiter was very helpful and joined in the fun. The lamb shoulder was very popular with our table and everyone commented it was the best they had ever eaten. I had the lamb cutlets and these were also beautifully done. For entrees we had meze plates (pretty good), calamari and spanakopita - both yummy and devoured very quickly. To top it off we had a table by the window and were able to watch the fireworks near Darling Harbour. This restaurant is easy to get to, has parking very close by and has a good atmosphere with modern decor.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Medusa Greek Taverna also viewed

Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 
Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to Medusa Greek Taverna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Medusa Greek Taverna, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.