We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Greek” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Medusa Greek Taverna

Medusa Greek Taverna
2 Market Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia (City Centre)
02 9267 0799
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 5,198 restaurants in Sydney
Price range: $20 - $51
Cuisines: Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Neighborhood: City Centre
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“Best Greek”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

Had the best experience there with my family last month.
The food was great and the whole atmosphere is amazing. Don't have to say much, the lamb was my favorite and especially the Dolmades. love it!!!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

378 reviews from our community

92% Recommend
    264
    84
    23
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
The Entrance
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great choice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

Had read the recent reviews on trip advisor and decided to try out Medusa. What a great choice. We had the earliest booking at 5.30pm as we were booked into on to harbour cruise at 7.00pm. The staff were friendly and service was efficient. We made it to the cruise with time to spare. Food was hearty, traditional Greek fare.We shared an entree of tzatzki and calamari-the best I have every eaten. Including in Greece. We then had lamb done 3 different way for mains- the slow roasted shoulder the pick. Would love to have tried the desserts but couldn't fit another mouthful in. Reasonable prices in a really handy spot near a number of attractions. Will definitely be back.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Delicious meals...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

Having read reviews I reserved a table before we left NZ as I thought it may be busy on a Friday evening, and it was.
Delicious food - lamb cutlets were very tender with lovely flavours, whilst my husband enjoyed the slow cooked pork belly. The servings were very generous and we couldn't finish the Greek salad that we had also ordered. But...we did manage to share a piece of Baklava which was a great way to finish. Good service and a lovely eating experience.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milano
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“The best lamb i have ever eat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

Very nice greek restaurant in the centre of Sydney. Low prices, big and very tasty plates.
We tried the mezze plate: a selection of entree that includes two tipical greek sauces, taramosalata e tzatziki; grilled halloumi cheese; olives; sausages; very nice Dolmades (vegetarian vine leaf folls with rice and yogurt) and pita bread.
Then we ate mousaka, normal and vegetarian ones, yemista and paithakia (I suggest you that).
All the plates were very big and tasty. The restaurant is very nice and the waiters were kind.
So try it and enjoy your meal!!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bunbury, Australia
Top Contributor
146 reviews 146 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“great food and experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

Visited here after reading about it on trip advisor and wasn't disappointed.
We had a mixed tapas plate to start which had a mixture of stuffed vine leaves, sausage, dips and bread. It was all very tasty and plentiful for 3 of us.
For mains we had prawns with pasta, goat and chicken. It was all well cooked and the portion sizes were great.
Prices for wines, beer and soft drinks was comparable with other restaurants and there was plenty of choice.
The staff were really friendly, very attentive and helpful.
All up this was a great evening out and if we lived local we would be back.
The restaurant was very busy and we visited on a Monday evening.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Medusa Greek Taverna also viewed

Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 
Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to Medusa Greek Taverna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Medusa Greek Taverna, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.