We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would stay again” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Great Southern Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Great Southern Hotel to your Saves list
The Great Southern Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   717 George St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia (Formerly Pacific International Hotel Sydney)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #93 of 184 Hotels in Sydney
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Would stay again”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

4 minute walk from Central station. Check in staff were friendly. Rooms are not that much smaller than any other hotel. Did not hear any street noise. Had a much better experience than other reviewers. Enjoyed the proximity to the train station. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

533 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    246
    129
    47
    32
See reviews for
54
206
85
72
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Paper thin walls - heard every snore all night.
Corridor creaks with every step.
Dated aircon just blows unheated air.
Monday night music from hotel went past midnight. Loud loud.
Bed pathetic - one of those hard 40yo prison type beds.
4 star? : stayed in better 3 and 3.5 star hotels. Needs re-rating badly.
Staff are fine, room dated but ok layout and size but not what they claim.
Lots of rooms; (most would be internal facing other rooms). Carpet quality poor.
Location is good, but better value around if you look.
Once is certainly enough. No gym, poo,l anything.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

Stayed here on a short trip to Sydney in late June

Staff were very friendly and accommodating to our needs. We arrived off the plane at approx. 6am, were advised that the rooms we had booked wouldn't be ready until normal check in time. The staff went out of their way to get both rooms ready early. One available at 830am

Close location to Central Station as well as just in front of the Paddy's Market.

Only negative was that the bathroom was small, however the room was pre-renovated.

Room Tip: If you are to stay here ask for a room on the 6/7th floor away from the street (its much quieter) an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

Central located but rooms and bathrooom is small. Be preparred to pay for all small emnities like safe usage and storage. Bed was not made properly but staff were friendly and helpful. Would not recommend breakfast @ $20 as larger variety available around the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South West Rocks, Australia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

Reason for staying: Needed something close to Central Station and Chinatown, and it was the cheapest rate for that particular night (Friday Night).
On Arrival: Check in was fast, but the girl at reception didn't seem all that pleasant.
Room: It was tidy, the beds were a little to hard and the bathroom was small. Older style room. Not modern.
Food: Terrible and overpriced We ordered from the pub menu which I guess would still be connected with their restaurant. Lamb Burger tasted foul like the salad had been prepared on the same board as fish. Surf and turf was a steak and prawns which tasted ok but far from good.
Service: The bar staff were friendly. The hotel staff were prompt to fix an issue.
Price: I thought $200 for the night was overpriced. Weekend price but still ridiculous for that hotel.
Overall: It suited out needs at the time. Although the food wasn't great, and we were woken by another rooms alarm, I couldn't say I wouldn't return. Its close to everything and I'd just eat elsewhere. The bar had a great atmosphere.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013 via mobile

Stayed 6 nights in double room.
Bed sheets were not changed everyday.
Sometimes we did not get face towels.
No vacuum cleaning on the carpet throughout our stay. Nails I cut on the first day stayed through out our stay.
Desks, table and the phone were really dusty when we checked in, not cleaned through out our stay.
Walls were too thin. We could hear every conversation in the next room and the corridor. Some movements next room caused shock to our bed frame.
4-star rating is a joke. 2-star is appropriate.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

Location:
Great. Near Darling Harbor, Central Station, Paddy’s Market, Capitol Theater and China Town.

Room:
Meets basic requirements, small, neat & clean. Good value on week days but weekend rate is too much.
Question: If the manager is reading this, we would love to know why there is a long mirror on the wall NEXT to the toilet. The opposite wall (on the other side of the toilet) is only a meter away - try standing in front of that. There are good mirrors placed properly elsewhere but we can’t see a reason for this one.

Restaurant:
Breakfast was just OK – could have been a bit hotter
Dinner: I had a barramundi fillet that would not have covered a slice of bread. It tasted great but I had to go across to China Town for a top-up. The wife’s burger was nothing to write home about either. We will not be dining there again.

Free Wi-Fi. Not free in the rooms. One has to be in the bar for that. The first night it wasn’t working at all and the second night the bar was too busy to find a space for my lap-top. Won’t be going back to the bar again either. Not when there are other places out on the street that provide it for free.

Room Tip: Our room on the west side (level 7) was OK
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Great Southern Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Great Southern Hotel

Address: 717 George St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia (Formerly Pacific International Hotel Sydney)
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Best Value Hotel in Sydney
#72 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Great Southern Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 165
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Great Southern Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Great Southern Hotel
Great Southern Sydney

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Great Southern Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.