We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice, very clean and central location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Great Southern Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Great Southern Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Great Southern Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   717 George St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia (Formerly Pacific International Hotel Sydney)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #92 of 182 hotels in Sydney
Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“nice, very clean and central location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

our 2nd time here, room is small but has every thing u need and is very clean , staff were lovely and helpful at reception and in bar, the bar food was great value and really nice, breakfast was ok , will be staying there again on our return :)

Room Tip: no views from your room, but in great location 5 min walk from central station , food and drink are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

448 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    64
    205
    107
    41
    31
See reviews for
43
178
74
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland NZ
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

This is an older hotel but price wise it was perfect.
The rooms were exceptionally clean, the staff very friendly and helpful when we needed to ask directions, and the location only 2 minutes from Central Station, which is just great if you are flying into Sydney and catching the train from the airport. There is also an airport shuttle service which drops off and picks up directly across the road.
Buses along George St or a short walk take you directly to the main shopping area.
Being on the main St we did hear police sirens one night - but generally the rooms were very quiet (no hallway noise) and the beds very comfortable.
I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

Check in staff were great, one in particular was helpful & friendly. When I inquired if we were getting a nice room we were assured all the rooms were nice and then accommodated in a hot, dark & dingy corner room with a view of all the other corner rooms! There was no air con or fan.

We went down to the restaurant to order a meal about 8.30 - 8.45pm and were stopped by the waitress on the way to the counter to be asked if were ordering food. When I said yes she said that we would need to go through to the bar which would cost extra to take away as would cutlery. The barmaid was awesome and didn't charge extra but the grumpy waitress took the cutlery out of our bag when she did our order & as it was only plastic I didn't see what the big deal was! She apparently had been on all day and night which was the excuse for her being so rude but i didn’t see how that was our fault.

The check-out staff were flustered when we were leaving, one was going a mile a minute with a big queue and the other was handling one client at a time and sniffing and sweating the whole time.

Overall it was an average hotel with average experience and I am still waiting for them to credit my bond back.

I work in the travel industry and would never recommend this property unless desperate!

Room Tip: Upgrade to the highest or go somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

Location was great, staff were very welcoming and helpful. Room was good but a bit small, had most of what I needed. Nice and quiet too considering right in the centre of town.
Downside was no wifi. In this day and age business clients do expect it.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SYDNEY
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Directly next to the central station and you can get there from the airport by the skytrain.
Negative: extremely long corridors so that you clearly get lost in case of a panic, view from the window against a wall. Room is very simple equipped with furniture.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

We were after an overnight stop before catching a train from Sydney and booked the Great Southern on webjet. Great price and great location, within sight of central station. We arrived late so 24 hour check-in was great, and a happy helpful receptionist too. Good modern room, new furnishings, large and very clean bathroom, very comfortable bed - there was even a refridgerator and it was very quiet!

Everything was heading for a perfect score until someone - upstairs, downstairs, room along side - had a shower at 5:00am - the water pipes sounded like a jet engine - not a good way to wake up.

Sorry Great Southern, we're paying for a decent sleep. Fix the plumbing and I'll gladly stay again.

Room Tip: We were in room 420 - this may be the only room with a water pipe problem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramsbottom, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

We stayed in this hotel in April 2012 and were pretty impressed. The room was comfortable and clean, although the bed was a bit squishy, being a zip together king size. Even though our window faced the inside of the hotel (no outward view), plenty of light came through. Tea and coffee making facilities were adequate.

There were some nice touches in the lobby area, with antique phones and furniture and lots of pictures of how Sydney used to look in decades gone by.

The hotel is a stone's throw from Paddy's Markets and China Town, and you can get to Darling Harbour in a ten minute walk, so location was great. We even walked further into the city and to The Rocks on a couple of occasions. This was more like a 30-40 minute walk, but nice if you're up for it.

The staff were generally helpful and kind. The desk was manned 24hrs, which was handy.

We ate in the restaurant too, which was okay. To be honest, there are so many places to eat in Sydney, so unless you want a lazy or a cheap meal, it's a shame not to go out for dinner!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Great Southern Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Great Southern Hotel

Address: 717 George St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia (Formerly Pacific International Hotel Sydney)
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Best Value Hotel in Sydney
#74 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Great Southern Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Venere so you can book your The Great Southern Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Great Southern Hotel
Great Southern Sydney

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Great Southern Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.